1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Watercooling a Sugo SG05...

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor and Single Board Computers' started by godinman, Sep 11, 2009.

  1. godinman

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 26, 2007

    Posts: 7,675

    Sort of.

    I've recently got one of these - Corsair H50. Which i've managed to fit where the 120mm fan goes, and it seems to work ok:O

    The only modding I had to do was drill the 120mm holes about 10mm lower, allowing me to screw the rad in without it interfering with the HDD caddy. (tho it's mounted sideways and I only have a 2.5" HDD, I think if you had a 3.5 HDD in you'd have more trouble).

    The reason i'm posting is to show off slightly (this is my first attempt at watercooling) and to ask a couple of questions. Should the pump be totally silent? As I do have a slight mechanical 'clicking' sound. And is the rad okay on it's side?

    Thanks:D
     
  2. Tute

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 24, 2004

    Posts: 21,917

    Location: Devon, UK

    I doubt anyone will help until you at least post some pics! :p

    The mechanical clicking I believe is air in the system, although i'm not sure how to cure it as i'm no watercooling expert.

    Anyway... PICS.
     
  3. godinman

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 26, 2007

    Posts: 7,675

    Thanks for that, will post some pics tonight:D

    It's a closed system so if it has got air in it, I suppose i'd have to send it back to OCUK/Corsair?
     
  4. Tute

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 24, 2004

    Posts: 21,917

    Location: Devon, UK

    I'm really not sure. I'll try and point someone "in the know" into the thread. :)
     
  5. godinman

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 26, 2007

    Posts: 7,675

    Thanks Tute:D
     
  6. godinman

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 26, 2007

    Posts: 7,675

    Got some pics, taken off a blackberry so not great...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    It's still fairly quiet, but that ticking noise is annoying me, only because it's now louder than it was on air...

    Also had a go at overclocking on the board, managed 3.6ish, went for 4ghz but then the woman wanted to watch a film so shall have to try again tomorrow.

    And yes, the case is a mess, but cable management just doesn't happen in this case, it was better before honest!
     
  7. J400uk

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 12, 2009

    Posts: 20

    Having exactly the same issue here with my H50 that I got setup today. Posted on some other forums to see if its normal but I think may be faulty. Sounds like the noise a hard drive makes when accessing data.
     
  8. godinman

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 26, 2007

    Posts: 7,675

    Yeah that's the noise, it's a real shame because it's such a tidy piece of kit.

    If I find a solution other than replacement I'll post it here.
     
  9. Destination

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 31, 2009

    Posts: 18,804

    Often wondered, can these small cases be sealed and passive coolers added, fans revmoed and then filled with oil....... For megapassive cooling, would that even be possible?
    I know the small hole on HDs has to be kept above liquid level, but that is not an issue with SSD.

    What do people think, would the passive cooling fishtank effect be possible?
     
  10. Jon20

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 12, 2008

    Posts: 953

    Location: Newport, Shropshire

    The H50 that I had made a ticking noise as well. I sent it back to Corsair and I'm currently waiting for them to send me a new one.
     
  11. J400uk

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 12, 2009

    Posts: 20

    Thats interesting, would be very intrested to here if the replacement fixes the problem and how long it takes to turn-arround. ;)
     
  12. Jon20

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 12, 2008

    Posts: 953

    Location: Newport, Shropshire

    I'll keep you informed. They received the H50 on the 8th and apparently there's a upto 5 working day delay at the moment on warranty replacements (not sure if that's just H50's or on other things they sell as well).
     
  13. JonJ678

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 22, 2008

    Posts: 10,338

    Location: England

    Good man, that's a really sensible combination. The first use of the H50 that I wholeheatedly agree with.

    A shame you can't fit several hard drives in the same case or this would be amazing for a nas.
     
  14. godinman

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 26, 2007

    Posts: 7,675

    Thanks for all of the replies:) I've been on to Corsair myself and will be sending the unit back.

    This is what ramguy from the Corsair tech forum says,

    I can hear mine from across the room, hence the RMA.

    And thanks JonJ678, it does seem to work well with that case.
     
  15. Guardsmon

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 4, 2006

    Posts: 1,744

    Location: Bristol

    Yes it can. I've done it. HDD and all. Only thing that was out of the oil (Hydrolic brake oil) was the optical drive. I had a 120mm fan in the case to move the oil around and not cause heat spots. I also kept the CPU fan on. It struggled a little to spin up, but it did work.
    I tried it on a Duron running at 1.8Ghz. On air it was 60 something in the oil I never moved from 28 degrees.

    Hard drive did fail after 6 months though.
     
  16. Jon20

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 12, 2008

    Posts: 953

    Location: Newport, Shropshire

    Just a little update for J400uk and godinman. I received my replacement H50 from Corsair today (was surprised as I had no email telling me it was on its way). Only problem is that it sounds exactly the same as the one I RMA'd. It has that annoying buzzing sound which you can hear from across the room.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2009
  17. J400uk

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 12, 2009

    Posts: 20

    Thanks for the update, sounds like you got a quick turn arround. Shame it still makes the same noise though :(

    I guess they must all be like that.
     
  18. Jon20

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 12, 2008

    Posts: 953

    Location: Newport, Shropshire

    No problem. I think I'll just sell this one on as I'm certainly not setting up another RMA. I'll bump my thread on the Corsair forum and see what they have to say.
     
  19. godinman

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 26, 2007

    Posts: 7,675

    Darn, thats a bugger:(

    I wonder if you could just cut the pipes and add in your own res...would screw the warranty but at least you could make sure it's full..hmmmmm

    Thanks for the info:D
     
  20. rBUG

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 18, 2009

    Posts: 7

    Could it be something simple, like its making a noise because the pump is above, or equal to the rad ?

    If you power it up with the rad loose, and move the rad around, does it get louder, or quieter ?