WD drives and copy protection?

Associate
Joined
17 Jan 2004
Posts
2,296
Location
Liverpool
i know WD drive owners had probs with the WD enclosures blocking transfer of avis, mp3s etc. Do the internal drives have this junk on them also?

I want a new drive and am looking at the 2TB one for media storage (prefer WD drives to others manufs) but wary of this potential copy protection junk
 
Associate
OP
Joined
17 Jan 2004
Posts
2,296
Location
Liverpool
thought so but wanted to make sure :)

would seem like a stupid move tbh since people wouldn't buy em. got to wonder why they did it for their ext drives though
 
Associate
OP
Joined
17 Jan 2004
Posts
2,296
Location
Liverpool
i have all my DVDs stored in a disk case type thing. i keep the boxes stored separately. once this is done, i can rip em, convert to x264 which in some cases will improve quality and store loads on there. my old HD-DVDs i'll rip as is and leave the BDs out of it.

at least, that's the plan. i'm doing a full format and oh my god is it taking eons!
 
Associate
OP
Joined
17 Jan 2004
Posts
2,296
Location
Liverpool
seems to be the case. :)

16% done so far ffs! :mad:

i just freaked out when i noticed i have about 7TB of storage now - not including pron :o
 
Associate
OP
Joined
17 Jan 2004
Posts
2,296
Location
Liverpool
i always do one first time round. just forgot how long it takes. last drive i had was a TB and set it off before going to bed.
 
Soldato
Joined
2 Nov 2007
Posts
4,184
Allways do a Full Format on New Drives. Beware if U don't. Sooner or later if you do a Quick it will revert back to RAW state and u will lose everything on it.

Don't post nonsense. The ONLY difference between a quick and full format is that full scans the partition with chkdsk.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
17 Jan 2004
Posts
2,296
Location
Liverpool
yea RussD, where the hell did you hear that carp? i always check new drives for errors hence doing it all in one go
 
Top Bottom