1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What 32gb RAM should I buy for flight sims?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by 3080guy, 14 Jan 2021.

Tags:
  1. 3080guy

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Sep 2020

    Posts: 191

    I have this mobo
    https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/B450-A-PRO-MAX/Specification

    Im after 32GB ram. The only thing I do which might utilise it, is flight sim.
    Ive got a very decent rig, no bottlenecks.

    What will be plenty fast enough in speed for games of today and tomorrow, without going overkill and breaking the bank?

    Thanks for the advice. Keen to learn a little, as Im not sure how to choose what, other than the memory size. (from what little I have read and think I know, actual memory speed doesnt really affect FPS, my GPU choice will influence that the most, but Id still like to learn what I need or would do best to buy) I was thinking 3200mhz ram as that seems to be the sweet spot. The other numbers that describe the ram speed, those I do not understand...
    Thanks guys.
     
  2. turbot1984

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Jan 2012

    Posts: 2,824

    Some of the FS2020 benchmarks show how RAM speed sensitive the game is, it seems the faster the better, but go for 3600mhz. At 4K i have seen over 22GB used, and my 3080 is topping out at 10GB on highest settings..
     
  3. 3080guy

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Sep 2020

    Posts: 191

    My mobo doesnt support 3600, or does it? Its not listed. Does that mean its not supported?
    https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/B450-A-PRO-MAX/Specification

    This looks very interesting regarding frame rates!
    https://www.techspot.com/amp/article/1171-ddr4-4000-mhz-performance/page3.html
     
    Last edited: 15 Jan 2021
  4. HoneyBadger

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Aug 2016

    Posts: 3,935

    Location: Up above the streets and houses…

    It’s supported
     
  5. 3080guy

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Sep 2020

    Posts: 191

    I dont know why it wasnt mentioned/listed, but I went with 3600mhz. Seems to be the sweet spot price wise. Its rpiughly double the price going from 3600mhz to 4000mhz with many ram sticks right now. Thank you.
     
  6. turbot1984

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Jan 2012

    Posts: 2,824

    Good choice.... mine overclocks to 4000mhz, but I need 1.50v, so backed off to 3866 @ 1.450v in the end.
    I checked my FS2020 RAM usage again... it uses a lot!
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Stu

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,713

    Location: Wirral

    Good choice. I don't think there is any point getting 4000Mhz RAM for a Ryzen system unless you are into extreme memory overclocking (or it's simply a means to get B-die).
     
  8. 3080guy

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Sep 2020

    Posts: 191

    I dont know enough about overclocking, but managed to set the xmp profile to get it showing up at the correct 3600 speed in windows. Happy with that.
    Are you running 4k to use that much memory? My system memory usage doesnt go very far above 16/17GB. I thought it would go higher. Perhaps not, as Im running a 1440p setup (preferring high fps in other games).