1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is the slowest ram speed you would use for Ryzen 3000?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Ice Tea, Jun 5, 2019.

  1. Ice Tea

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2004

    Posts: 3,070

    With the older 2133MHz / 2400MHz ram falling in price would this be considered too slow for the new Ryzen 3000?

    I'm a long time Intel user considering jumping over to AMD and i get the impression that ram speed is more important on AMD so i wondered if the older sower ram would be false economy?

    Thanks
     
  2. HeX

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jun 20, 2004

    Posts: 11,748

    Location: Huddersfield, UK

    You lose a lot of performance going for low speed RAM with Ryzen. For the current Zen and Zen+ CPU's you want to be aiming for 3000MHz minimum, ideally 3200+ for best performance. Extra performance can been eeked out up to 3466 if your CPU is capable.

    I would assume Zen2 is going to be similar and want 3000+ to perform at it's best.

    e.g.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Ice Tea

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2004

    Posts: 3,070

    Funny enough i was just reading on another forum that there is a 20fps difference between the two speeds and that graphs max FPS confirms it , thanks

    Most of what i was reading was in regards to Windows and Gaming (which i don't use or have time for these days) but i'm guessing with Linux usage and Media playback it's still best to avoid the slower ram.
     
  4. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 3, 2006

    Posts: 21,278

    Location: MediaCityUK

    If you need minimum of 3000, why do a lot of motherboards struggle with anything above 3000, for example I am running my DDR 4 3200 at 2933 because it won't do any higher.
     
  5. HeX

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jun 20, 2004

    Posts: 11,748

    Location: Huddersfield, UK

    Early boards, early BIOS, older RAM kit. Have you tried using the newer AGESA 1.0.0.6? Have you tried using Ryzen DRAM Calculator?

    It's not hard now to get a memory kit that'll do 3200 on Ryzen, and 2933 (3000) is pretty much a given.
     
  6. ubiquity

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 22, 2010

    Posts: 114

    I suspect that anything below 3200 will have quite an impact, although need to wait for some benchmarks to see for sure...
     
  7. flea.rider

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 7, 2017

    Posts: 671

    ryzen 3 will prob run a 4k ram speed or higher .. well I hope ..
     
  8. ninezerofive

    Gangster

    Joined: May 20, 2019

    Posts: 372

    Location: London

    There are rumours for 4000 Mhz kits on Ryzen 3, but G Skill specifically Tune them. So far what I read was that it might do 4000 but with high latency, 18-25-25 or something along those lines. I think 3200 C14 will still outperform those.
     
  9. flea.rider

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 7, 2017

    Posts: 671

    Supports DDR4 4666+ (OC)X570 Taichi NOW THATS NICE ... :)
     
  10. nomadd

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 27, 2008

    Posts: 653


    Seems 3600 is the sweet spot: https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/bz5b7x/ryzen_3000_ddr_memory_latency_comparison/
     
  11. Ice Tea

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2004

    Posts: 3,070

    I'll stay away from 2400mhz then. :)
     
  12. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 18,349

    Location: London

    I was reading something yesterday that said that AMD thing Ryzen 3000 should handle 4000MHz ram.
     
  13. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 62,640

    I don't have any real experience with the 2700X but I'd say for most people 3000MHz for the 2600(X) and 3200MHz for the 2700(X) is where you should be aiming especially if you can get some reasonable CL latency stuff - below that performance tapers off quickly and above that gains are pretty minimal for the price difference - though if there isn't much in it price wise no harm going higher.

    As per nomadd's post above 3600 with good latency looks the sweet spot for 3000 CPUs.
     
  14. Ice Tea

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2004

    Posts: 3,070

    Shame as i had a chance of getting 32gb 2400MHz for £60 but i wasn't interested in faffing about finding a stable overclock...

    Thanks all...
     
  15. an0nym0us

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 15, 2019

    Posts: 695

    I won't settle for anything slower than 5000MHz CL17.

    Just kidding. I'll wait for reviews before deciding. But looks like I'll be going for 3600MHz or 3733MHz.
     
  16. DarkHorizon472

    Mobster

    Joined: May 16, 2007

    Posts: 2,770

    The trick is to get Samsung bdie based ram. I did have 3200c16 Hynix ram which ran at a max 2933c16 stable , 2x8gb. Swapped it for 3200c14 bdie based ram and it ran stable at 3333c14 just on docp with the divider changed to 3333 from 3200.
     
  17. Ice Tea

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2004

    Posts: 3,070

    That explains why i've seen people asking if the ram is B , i did wonder. :)
     
  18. Thekwango

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 10,813

    Location: Northern Ireland

    weak imc on the chip i believe was the issue, especially with the 1st gen ryzen. i'm in the same boat as yourself, i did flaff about with ryzen calc as mentioned above and even got myself some b-die ram but trying to get from 2933 to 3200 wasn't worth the hassle for a couple of extra fps or points on in a benchmark.
     
  19. an0nym0us

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 15, 2019

    Posts: 695

    Think I read somewhere that due to the big "gamecache" on most 3rd gen Ryzen CPUs, RAM frequency is supposedly going to be less of an importance vs previous generations of Ryzen. All just speculation at the moment though.
     
  20. HeX

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jun 20, 2004

    Posts: 11,748

    Location: Huddersfield, UK

    RAM manufacturers have really upped their game with Ryzen compatibility since the early launch days, plus the newer AGESA's are much better.

    I picked up 16GB of cheap Crucial Ballistix LT 3200MHz C16 stuff the other day for the wifes PC and it was plug and play. Pretty sure it uses Micron chips. Dropped it in, selected the XMP profile and done, solid as a rock. That's on a B350 + 1500X. So don't think you need to go spending 50% more on B-die to get compatibility anymore. Only really worth it if you want the lowest latency.

    Reviews show this Ballistix stuff doing 3433 C16 on Zen+ with a couple of tweaks, and 3600 C16 on Intel, not bad for a £80 kit!