"What makes the least sense?"

Man of Honour
Being a scientist, I've always had a huge scepticism over peoples beliefs in their gods and religion (Yeah, its one of those threads... kinda). However, I seem to have come to a point in my studies where I'm just not sure what to believe at all, because what I am told are 'scientific theories' seems almost as ridiculous to me as religious explanations.

For example, take a peek at this. You proberly won't have a clue what its about but thats irrelevant:
http://highered.mcgraw-hill.com/olc/dl/120080/bio28.swf

I completely get what that animation shows and understand it. However, I still find it mind boggling that such complex mechanisms are present at such a minute size (The width of DNA being close to two nano metres).

I've studied biology to greater depth than most people, yet I'm sure its those who are a bit lesser aware of such mechanisms that cry out "Pffft, religion! No way, science explains everything!". So I ask, what is more ridiculous, the information contained in the animation or "god created everything"?

Soldato
Nitefly said:
I've studied biology to greater depth than most people, yet I'm sure its those who are a bit lesser aware of such mechanisms that cry out "Pffft, religion! No way, science explains everything!". So I ask, what is more ridiculous, the information contained in the animation or "god created everything"?

Not a biologist so I couldn't tell you, but remember that not all religions believe that 'god created everything'

Man of Honour
OP
cleanbluesky said:
Not a biologist so I couldn't tell you, but remember that not all religions believe that 'god created everything'
Yeah I know, I guess I was being over generalised. I just find that everyone seems quick to beat such religious thoughts down with 'textbook bashing' when I find it just as 'impossible' to accept it (even if I'm supposed to :p ).

Soldato
Nitefly said: