What pro tools, Apple Macintosh setup?

Soldato
Joined
26 Dec 2004
Posts
13,323
Location
Sweatshop.
Any of you producing geniuses out ther etc, whats the best setup to use for studio work and student work.

now im a Creative music Technology Student. :D

Reason im buying is because im having pro tools training, and also logic training.

-Neon
 
Associate
Joined
24 Aug 2006
Posts
99
Are you sure you want Pro Tools? it is hellishly expensive and some of the hardware units are known to have definite issues with reliability..I'd suggest you look around some music forums and read up on it before diving in.. Its a massive outlay to front and there are many alternatives to the path you seem set on..

Pro tools is a fine platform but its *industry standard* titel is not only under threat but beginning to slip bigtime these days.. If you are using a lot of midi Pro tools is defnitiely not the package i'd be looking at.. The midi implementation in Protools is rudimentary, and that is being polite about it...

The place to start is not so much which sofware you intedn to use but which hardware for recording with. The present protools range is ,at best, somewhat dated in its standards, at worst , by todays standards, stupidly expensive..That is part of the reason that producers are forever pushing the mixes and various busses through exotic outbaord gear, cos Protools own hardware really dosent sound as good as it should..

So, having said all that . How much atre you thinking of spending on a soundcard?? and lets take it from there...
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
26 Dec 2004
Posts
13,323
Location
Sweatshop.
FireMoon said:
Are you sure you want Pro Tools? it is hellishly expensive and some of the hardware units are known to have definite issues with reliability..I'd suggest you look around some music forums and read up on it before diving in.. Its a massive outlay to front and there are many alternatives to the path you seem set on..

Pro tools is a fine platform but its *industry standard* titel is not only under threat but beginning to slip bigtime these days.. If you are using a lot of midi Pro tools is defnitiely not the package i'd be looking at.. The midi implementation in Protools is rudimentary, and that is being polite about it...

The place to start is not so much which sofware you intedn to use but which hardware for recording with. The present protools range is ,at best, somewhat dated in its standards, at worst , by todays standards, stupidly expensive..That is part of the reason that producers are forever pushing the mixes and various busses through exotic outbaord gear, cos Protools own hardware really dosent sound as good as it should..

So, having said all that . How much atre you thinking of spending on a soundcard?? and lets take it from there...


erm im doing a degree im taught it as standard, im going through apple training and logic. and my training is paid for also in pro tools.
 
Associate
Joined
24 Aug 2006
Posts
99
And learend the guitar on a really nice acoustic still didnt stop me from buying a Les Paul and a Strat... in the real world if you cant use Cubase you are going to find it difficult... way way more people use that platform than Pro tools...

It doesn't change the fact that if you personally are thinking of stumping up for a protools rig you owe it to yourself to check and check again before you spend large amounts of cash on a system whose hardware had serious reliability questions and, sound quality wise, is not in the same league as say the RME Fireface or the Lynx L series cards.. That is also ignoring that, if you do go the pro tools route you are then prolly going to have to stump up for Logic to cover the midi side of the equation... By all means use Pro tools but dont fall for the , you have to use our interface marketing ploy, if that interface is 1 way too expensive and 2 has serious reliability issues.. I promise you it could all end in big tears if you do...

The bottom line is for the price of a very basic Protools/Logic/Apple system you can buy a PC/Cubase/Sonar RME/Lynx card AND a UAD PCIe efx card that will leave the Protools system trailing in its dust both, asre sound quality and functionality... Ive just finished the opening track of my new album and it uses something like 6 different synths on it...NOT ONE of them cost me a penny they are all free, but they nearly all only work on a windows platform... you could easily shell out over 1000 quid to find the same sort of synths for a Mac...
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
26 Dec 2004
Posts
13,323
Location
Sweatshop.
i already own cubase, used it for years, same as cakewalk, sonar, etc etc.

pro tools is industry standard and i will be working in the industry after i have come out of my honours. ill have a think on it.
 
Permabanned
Joined
9 May 2005
Posts
20,834
Location
NE8
How completely appropriate - I've been listening to the DHR DON'T **** WITH US compilation all night and the last track of the last CD just played before I came on the computer.

Dummy Plug Conspiracy - All The Worst Albums In The World Were Recorded On Protools

*n
 
Associate
Joined
13 Dec 2005
Posts
474
As a student, investing in a Protools HD system is completely unjustified considering its price. The Protools 002/002 rack systems, while much more affordable than HD, just lack compared to other manufacturers like RME. The RME Fireface for example is around the same price as the protools 002 rack system and yet rivals that of an HD system. Theres always the mbox protools solutions but i wouldnt even bother with them. If youre seriously considering an HD system, you'll be looking at about £12k for a basic setup.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
29 Mar 2003
Posts
56,847
Location
Stoke on Trent
Bit of a conundrum really.
Pro Tools is old fashioned but if you want a job in a studio then chances are you will be working with Pro Tools.
Do your homework and find out how many percentage of studios are likely to use Pro tools, if its very high then scour the net for a 2nd hand system.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
26 Dec 2004
Posts
13,323
Location
Sweatshop.
dmpoole said:
Bit of a conundrum really.
Pro Tools is old fashioned but if you want a job in a studio then chances are you will be working with Pro Tools.
Do your homework and find out how many percentage of studios are likely to use Pro tools, if its very high then scour the net for a 2nd hand system.

gonna buy a 003 desk when i get the money, hows pro tools old fashioned, its the industrys top leader.
 
Associate
Joined
4 Aug 2006
Posts
2,481
Thing is, most of the concepts and working procedures / practices are common to many sytems. You'll probably spend your first year learning about freqs, waves, phase, dithering, bit depth and all that malarky. After that, sequencing, creative eq yadder yadder.

Once you've got your teeth into all that, most software / hardware will actually fall into place easier. Like using a different Browser or Word Processing package. You'll know what needs doing, you just might be unfamiliar with where / how it's done precisely.

Do you have to buy in at this stage? If not don't worry too much right now and just enjoy learning all the techno gobbledegook that's going to be fired into your brain :)
 
Back
Top Bottom