1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Ram for Asrock 939Dual

Discussion in 'Memory' started by MadMatty, 5 Jun 2006.

  1. MadMatty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,522

    Location: Lincoln, UK

    Im looking to get a 2gb set of memory modules to acompany my X2 3800 for the asrock 939dual board, but what set is more ideal concidering the 2.6 / 2.7v vdimm voltage restriction ?

    Im tempted to go for for Corsair TwinX2048 3500LL with the aim of getting them upto 240 1:1. vdimm might restrict me though (dont want to volt mod).
    If that aim too optimistic for the dual939 is the cheaper 3200ll a better option although its default latancies are higher then the 3500 already. Im aware that corsair only test there mem at 2.75 which is not an option to me.

    Im currently running 2x512 3200XL modules (mixed v1.1 and a v1.2 modules) with the 166 divider at 2-2-2-5 with vdimm set at "High" (htt at 240 - mem at 200). Havent really tested them for there highest 1:1 rating but system froze durring memtest at 216 - 2-3-3-8(no errors but froze at 2% test 8, no keyboard control although memtest red dot kept blinking).

    Finaly, how much of a performance difference is there with a divider and 1:1 mem/fsb ratio ? If it isnt anything meaningful i guess the 3200 will be ok with the divider as apposed to 3500 / 4400 mem at 1:1. My current setup mentioned above is getting 6155 average in the Everest Mem Read Test with the divider, i cant see if 1:1 would be better currently ;)
     
    Last edited: 5 Jun 2006
  2. luismenendez

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,003

    Location: Brighton

    I have supertalent pc4000 at 270Mhz is ok with this mobo and is cheap ;)

    The only bad thing it has to run at 2T
     
  3. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 Nov 2004

    Posts: 5,752

    Hi mate, cant tell you specific differences ram will make but heres my test.

    My cpu is a top144 @ 2.6ghz, so my FSB is 290.

    When I run my ram at 2/2/2/5 @ 200 fsb I score around 33secs super pi, when I run memory at 2.5/4/3/7 @ 290fsb I get a score of 31secs on superpi.

    On 3dmark 05 my score only increased by a few hundred not a massive difference but my CPU scores on 3dmark 05 tell a different story.

    200fsb @ 2/2/2/5 1t - 5594 points.
    290fsb @ 2.5/4/3/7 1t - 6828 points.

    As you can see thats a fairly hefty increase.

    So thats just a few benchmarks timings vs fsb, its best to have best of both worlds as 2.5/4/3/7 isnt bad at all, and considering thats at 290fsb is preety good, shame my cpu only has a multiplier on 9 :/
     
  4. MadMatty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,522

    Location: Lincoln, UK

    Is that running with a divider at 290 or 1:1 ?. Damned amazing if it is 1:1 as id have expected at least a drop to cas3 and being able to hold 1t no less.
     
  5. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 Nov 2004

    Posts: 5,752

    thats 1:1.
    OCZ Platinum ram is known for its overclocking potential, this ram the last guy had it 2/3/3/3/6 @ 300fsb! Mine doesnt have as many ram options as his so 2.5/4/3/3/3/7 will do.

    Check out the cpu score on that badboy! not bad for a cpu only at 2.6ghz!

    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=2052710
     
  6. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,542

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    quite a waste then really lol. I bet some half decent ram @ 230-240 1t will give that a run for its money.


    Im using some geil value running @ 230mhz or some 2.5/3/3/6 1T., but in a few days time ill have some tasty ultra-x which'll do 275 2.5/4/4/7 1T at least;)
     
  7. luismenendez

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,003

    Location: Brighton

    2T its a limitation of the motherboard. I was able to run before at 230 Mhz 1T with OCZ PC3500EB but memory score is higher now and today I reached 272 2T with a bit or burning in (just got the memory last week).
     
    Last edited: 6 Jun 2006
  8. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,542

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    it's a limitation? i could have sworn they do 1t ok? :confused: anyway i wouldnt judge your pc's performance by memory bandwidth:) its not a very good indication with a64's.
     
    Last edited: 6 Jun 2006
  9. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 Nov 2004

    Posts: 5,752

    Just get some ocz plats, well happy with mine I know botall about overclocking but running mine at 290FSB at 2.5/4/3/2/6 @2.85V, im sure if my motherboard allowed decent volts like 3V and above I could run at the tightest of timings!
     
  10. MadMatty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,522

    Location: Lincoln, UK

    How well do the ocz plats work at 2.7v (max availableto me) ? . due to vcore restricts as well in only looking at maybe 260 fsb 1:1 as the max. Im currently edging towards the corsair 3500 as even if i endup limited to the 166 divider, the 3500 offers lower latencies then even the corsair 3200.
     
  11. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 Nov 2004

    Posts: 5,752

    yeah it will work at 2.7V, the more volts the lower the timings when overclocking ram - same with any ram.