Where do I stand

Soldato
Hi all

I work as a warehouse operative Monday to Friday contract 1:30am-10am...

My manager has put me on a Rota to go in on a Sunday.... I've spoke with him about not doing it and he says he can sack me for not coming in..

My reasons are, I can't get childcare for my 15 month old son... I'm a family man and I see my weekends as free time to spend with my son...

Where do I stand at times like this? He surely can't sack me if I don't turn up...

Soldato
You need to inform them in writing asap that you are the main carer for your child on Sunday and you are not able to work that day.

Check the company policy on this, it should be in the hand book.

They will be entitled to change your working days though. But it has to be reasonable notice and allow you sufficient time to arrange child care. Unfortunately unless you have a disabled child your long term options are limited.

The outcome will depend on your contract terms, company policy and who the employer is.

Chances are you will have to work it after reasonable notice unless the employer is prepared to agree that you don't. It is reasonable for the employer to expect you to provide alternative child care even if it's paid for.

Associate
How long have you been employed by the company? If it's under 2 years I believe you are very limited in terms of employment rights.

Soldato
OP
Duration of service is irrelevant to this issue. It depends on company policy and your terms of contract. Have you done what I said re informing them yet?