1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where is the X399 support from Gigabyte?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by ketma, Mar 11, 2018.

  1. ketma

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2003

    Posts: 264

    Location: Lincs

    Have Gigabyte given up with supporting the X399 TR4 platform? There have only been 2 BIOS updates for their product line and one of them was for inclusion of raid.

    Just seems that there are still issues with RAM compatibility, and quirky post issues haunting this board.

    The Gigabyte US forums have no representation and it all just feels 'deserted'. Asrock for example had a release to update AGESA to 1.0.0.4....but nothing from Gigabyte.

    I would have hoped they would have progressed to include more ram compatibility and address any bugs which there clearly are.....

    @GIGA-Man - where are you?
     
  2. GIGA-Man

    Gigabyte rep

    Joined: Feb 25, 2009

    Posts: 541

    Location: GIGABYTE UK

    Hello ketma,

    Of course we have not dropped support on these boards, I will ask for an answer on the new AGESA code BIOS and request an update on the memory support too.
     
  3. pigeonguyuk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 11, 2012

    Posts: 1,072

    Location: Bangor - Northern Ireland

    don't know if this will help. I know ASUS board have had more bios improvements for support on the AM4+ platform. Before this I had issue running RAM at rated speeds.

    When loading the "standard " OC profile in bios which detects the rated ram speeds it only puts the correct values for the following settings ( tCL, tRCD, tRP, tRAS)

    However to prevent boot failure i then needed to change the following value from the default "auto"

    tRC > Auto > 56
    tRRD_S > Auto > 6
    tRDD_L >Auto > 8
    tRFC >Auto > 560
    tRFC2 >Auto > 416
    tRFC4 >Auto > 256
    tFAW >Auto > 37

    Hopefully this will help someone else achieve rated RAM speeds. The above listed values i was able to pull from the RAM information section within the BIOS

    the above timing will vary depending on ram. these ones are for the following kit 32GB Trident Z RGB 3200MHz (F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR)
     
  4. GIGA-Man

    Gigabyte rep

    Joined: Feb 25, 2009

    Posts: 541

    Location: GIGABYTE UK

    Hello all,

    I have talking with my HQ and there is a new BIOS being worked on for Agesa 1.0.0.5 and it will be published soon.
     
  5. ketma

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2003

    Posts: 264

    Location: Lincs

    Great news, thanks for querying.
     
  6. Ivo_b

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 29, 2016

    Posts: 68

    Location: London

    Ok new bios is it will fix bricking of motherboards and what we gonna do with our motherboards thats are 1to5 months old for example like mine ax370g5 debugging led codes and spining fans just.... and before 2 days have wtite to gigabyte suport at epasport of my board they tellme ti try clearing cmos etc.. already trying all knowing of google so at friday just write to dealer where bought it now am waiting they send me confirm ti send them board for rma or whatever they did there if even rthey send me confirmation lol
    And something that i could just imagine but islike from when in to bios was added CEC2019 (California Energy Commission) motherboards starting randomly failures....


    Got idea i could keep this board to add on for Christmas decoration for next year but will light just in red ...hmm why just red.... oh i forgot there is no bios to could enter and change leds to flash mode :D
     
  7. Kronos-619

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 29, 2018

    Posts: 4

    Location: Milan

    Any update on how much it’ll - approximately - take?

    I understand that maybe because of meltdown and spectre the X399 platform isn’t probably on the high priority list, but we’re almost in April now, with the last bios version released the last October.

    I’ve got problems with IOMMU groups with the “latest” f3somethin’ bios (and the previous one), and I think that with the new agesa it could be much better.

    I’m new to the Gigabyte world, is this kind of delay a standard timeframe, or is it an exception?
     
  8. AWPC

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 8, 2005

    Posts: 8,459

    Go back to the initial F2 bios its rock solid stable until Gigabyte release the newer bios as F3g IME is very unstable.
     
  9. Kronos-619

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 29, 2018

    Posts: 4

    Location: Milan

    Didn’t experience stability issues atm using KVM as an hypervisor and Windows 10 VMs

    My main problem is that the IOMMU groups are not well separated, even with an ACS override patch turned on. :/
    The VGAs are ok, but other periferials (like the HD audio, or any USB controller), can’t be isolated in their own group. It’s kinda messy.

    I know that the updated AGESA helped a lot of other threadripper users sorting this out, and almost any other competitor already issued an update on this.

    I think that giving us an - approximate, no needs to be specific - ETA would be appropriate in this case.

    I’ve also looked at the gigabyte forums, and there are no mentions of a new bios being worked on, any thread about it lacks any kind of response, this is the only one where hope was kinda given.

    I’ve still got 20 days of free return time, so it won’t be the end for me if they really delayed/dropped the support on this platform, but it would be an hassle anyway to replace a newly installed motherboard :/ so, if GIGA-man says that a new bios is being worked on, I’m holding up until the last possible day, hoping that a new bios really gets released.
     
  10. ketma

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2003

    Posts: 264

    Location: Lincs

    Totally agree Kronos, with the Gigabyte forum having no official rep I had to ask the question here. Hopefully @GIGA-Man can be more specific to your question or if there is a beta to test.

    Worth noting that the Asus forum does have representation and a beta BIOS with Agesa is 1.0.0.5 is now floating about for those users.
     
  11. Kronos-619

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 29, 2018

    Posts: 4

    Location: Milan

    @GIGA-Man have you got any update for us?
     
  12. ht_addict

    Associate

    Joined: May 3, 2018

    Posts: 1

    ANy updates coming?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

    Hearing that a F3j (beta) is floating around. Please float it my way
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2018
  13. ketma

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2003

    Posts: 264

    Location: Lincs

    Float on over to the Gigabyte forums......its over there pal.
     
  14. 0h_no_not_again

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 134

    Glad the F3J bios came out: https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/X399-AORUS-Gaming-7-rev-10#support-dl-bios for the lazy

    However, I gather these G/J bioses are beta. When will they be released formally?

    I'm currently running F3G, as I use NVMe raid and a RAID6 array, however it was nearly impossible to get RAID working with bugs in the BIOS and a user guide that didn't match.

    Would be nice to move to a properly tested and released BIOS (i.e. not Beta).
     
  15. 0h_no_not_again

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 134

    Just found something interesting regarding X399 v1.0.0.6 AGESA here: https://www.tomshardware.com/news/amd-agesa-firmware-update-motherboard,34525.html

    The important bit:

    So it sounds like the future AGESA 1.0.0.6 update will be the one to snag when/IF it comes out in June, as it improves memory compatability.
     
  16. Kronos-619

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 29, 2018

    Posts: 4

    Location: Milan

    Gifted the board to a friend shortly afterwards

    Now, with F3J, the fan voltage regulation suddenly disappears from the smart fan menu. Every fan is considered PWM
    In reality, some fans (attached to sysfan1) are DC controlled even if PWM appears on the screen, while other identifal DC fans (attached to pump 5) receive a pwm signal and so always run at 100%.

    Rolled back to F3G for him, problem solved.

    Also, it activates TPM and secure boot by default (using the tmp module inside the threadripper), and even with the secure boot disabled, it seems to not like legacy bootloaders.

    The unraid usb seemed unbootable with F3J, efi and legacy bootloader.

    With F3G, the legacy bootloader works again.

    Maybe it was just a setting that I didn’t notice, I didn’t fiddle around too much because of the PWM bug.