Which value determines overall reading?

Soldato
Joined
26 Feb 2004
Posts
4,548
Location
Hampshire, England.
Hi guys,

I'm trying to set a fan speed/temp curve in my bios but which value is it that actually triggers the adjustment?

Capture.png


Sys is okay but what about the cpu reading/s?

Thanks!
 
Soldato
Joined
26 Aug 2010
Posts
2,519
Been out of the game for a few years, but are these temp sensors you have put into your case/motherboard?
 
Soldato
Joined
26 Aug 2010
Posts
2,519
No worries! Yeah, those temps pictured, are taken straight off my motherboard.

What temps are you worrying about?

You need to look at CPU and GPU temps really. If they are temp sensors then I wouldn't really worry about them
 
Soldato
Joined
15 Oct 2019
Posts
8,659
Location
Uk
I've always set mine to CPU but added a delay to avoid the fans ramping up and down on spikes.
 
Soldato
Joined
11 Oct 2009
Posts
15,357
Location
Greater London
Assuming it's the Tomahawk board in your signature, you should see an option to pick which sensor the curve uses. By default it's on CPU for all headers.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
26 Feb 2004
Posts
4,548
Location
Hampshire, England.
Thanks guys! @Orcvader, yep, I on a Tomahawk.

So, looking at the pic I've posted - those values. Will it be the "CPUTIN" temp that the bios reacts too? - and not the individual core temps.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
22 May 2010
Posts
8,301
I've always set mine to CPU but added a delay to avoid the fans ramping up and down on spikes.
I set mine in a similar fashion but instead of a delay i use Argus monitor and set the maximum % per second so it can't ramp up and down quickly. I've set it to 3% per second so its more of a gradual climb and a slow drop allowing the fans to work for longer before going back to idle.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
26 Feb 2004
Posts
4,548
Location
Hampshire, England.
Hmm, I swear my 3600 is causing me bother because of its erratic individual core temps... but the hardware monitor is only going off of the overall "cpu" temps, right? Weird.
 
Top Bottom