1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why would I suddenly have to increase memory voltage

Discussion in 'Memory' started by azazl187, 27 Apr 2021.

  1. azazl187

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,095

    Is it not conclusive that it's not the ram as the system crashed with just that one stick and after testing it there were no errors?
     
  2. MaXxBoulton

    Suspended

    Joined: 11 Jan 2019

    Posts: 3,214

    Location: bedlam

    memtest as been know to miss errors and in some cases need running for over a day.

    found the program it’s called testmem5. I’ve had a system 18hr clear with memtest then fail in 2mins of testmem5.

    put the system back together and run a few loops of that with both sticks in then one at a time
     
  3. azazl187

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,095

    Installed some different ram and got the crash. Installed Windows from a separate usb drive to a separate SSD and got the crash during the setup.

    Looks like it's the CPU to me
     
  4. Pulseammo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,125

    Location: Glasgow

    I had an X99 cpu that had a symptom where my PC wouldn't boot with the ram at stock settings (it used to be able to, but then it couldn't). Enabling XMP allowed it to boot. Tried different ram and the same happened, tried memtest and it came up clear. Eventually though the system just wouldn't boot at all, xmp on or off it didn't matter. RMA'd the CPU and everything worked fine again with the new one, pretty sure the memory controller had just packed in on it.

    One other thing which I noticed very early on when those symptoms started was that I couldn't boot any other OS than Windows, even with XMP on. For instance any linux live USB would just hang the system. If you are going to RMA your CPU with intel DO NOT tell them that you've had XMP enabled. They count it as out of spec overclocking and there's been stories of them voiding warranties because of it.
     
  5. azazl187

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,095

    Fair comment. Thanks for the extra info. your situation sounds very similar to mine
     
    Last edited: 29 Apr 2021
  6. JasonM

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jun 2009

    Posts: 3,247

    Could be a PSU that's degrading.

    Did you overclock your memory / increase voltage prior? If so you could of degraded memory.

    It could also be a memory controller on the CPU?

    The only true way to know is using a totally different memory and see if computer still crashes.

    EDIT. Just read you installed different RAM and still crashing.

    What I would do, I would put the CPU stock settings, then see what happens. If still crashing I would test with another PSU.
     
  7. azazl187

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,095

    PSU has been swapped out and the issue persisted. I have anothwr CPU coming today so we will see what's up hopefully
     
  8. JasonM

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jun 2009

    Posts: 3,247

    Years ago I had a i7 3770k that would crash at random times, swapped lots of items. That CPU would pass all tests, however there was something doggy with the CPU from new. That CPU was purchased from OCUK as a loose OEM item (not retail), and after that point I only buy sealed retail CPU's.
     
  9. azazl187

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,095

    Ah yes, i forgot about this thread. I ordered another CPU and that has resolved all issues that i had. No more freezes, crashes, BSOD and programs crashing and failing in the background.