1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, we are running a Photoshop competition with a 32" monitor as the first prize - See here for details.

Will OCUK build a different spec for me?

Discussion in 'OcUK Full Systems & Bundles' started by Mr_Sukebe, Apr 15, 2019 at 8:03 AM.

  1. Mr_Sukebe

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 23, 2002

    Posts: 8,756

    Location: London

    I've looked through the various potential system builds that I could order. Can't really seem to see what I'm looking for.

    If I present a spec, and build up the components, are OCUK happy to build it for say the component costs + £ whatever we agree?

    In short, what I'm looking for is:
    9700k
    Air cooled, but capable of overclocking
    390 chipset motherboard, preferably Gigabyte
    32GB ram (2 x16GB)
    Full tower case. The Phanteks look OK. I have zero interest in it looking flashy. If anything RGB lighting would put me off
    750w plat power supply
    Optical drive
    x1 500GB Samsung 970 Evo Plus
    x1 1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus
    Windows 10


    I already have a 1080, which I'll be putting in the new unit.

    From what I can see, I can buy the above separately for around £1400, but that's with me building it. My current PC is from OCUK and assuming the cost is sensible, I'd rather give the business to OCUK than someone else.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2019 at 8:14 AM
  2. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 13,794

  3. Mr_Sukebe

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 23, 2002

    Posts: 8,756

    Location: London

    Yep very much like that. The key differences being that I’d prefer a full tower case, and would take a Samsung 500GB 970 instead of the Corsair.
     
  4. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 13,794

    full tower , guessing you've got a lot of HDD ? or just personal tastes

    damn nice case but cost an arm and a leg


    BB CODE
    My basket at Overclockers UK:
    Total: £403.08 (includes shipping: £23.10) ​
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    If your doing 100% Pure gaming, NVMe are a massive waste - and his is coming from someone that gets Samsung NVMe drives for free !

    roughly same price would rather pick up 2tb and 1tb units
     
  5. Mr_Sukebe

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 23, 2002

    Posts: 8,756

    Location: London

    Thanks for your thoughts and comments, much appreciated.

    I currently have a midi tower case, and have always hated working inside such a small space whenever I've looked at graphics cards and similar. On top of that, yep, have accrued a fair few HDDs.
    I was looking at one of the Phantek full towers, which appear to be substantially more sensibly priced.

    Surprised by your comments on NVME2 drives. I got the impression that they would be a good thing with their faster read speeds. They certainly seemed faster with Windows, though being fair, I've not seen many benchmarks showing improvements with speeds in gaming. Was a bit confused about that.
     
  6. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 13,794

    I will note two games where its quicker, 3D Mark and Battletech . one being a bench and takes a good while on standrad ssd to load and battletech is just heavy at loading assets .
    Windows they are a good platform and yeah, grab a single 500gb for OS and other applications, they stick your games on a 2TB drive . Best of both worlds, a fast Core drive which everything is based around and then a large SSD disk for games which now are eating a lot of disk space . Just did Anno 1800 and surprised is was 22GB - wonder how much MOD content will bring that up to haha

    some midi desktop cases have vastly improved . Pure base 600 in my mind and Phanteks M are boardline full tower .
     
  7. Mr_Sukebe

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 23, 2002

    Posts: 8,756

    Location: London

    For anyone else who's interested in the answer to my question, I contacted OCUK yesterday and have agreed a spec, to include the above mentioned charge for build. I'm a very happy bunny!
     
  8. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 13,794

    nice, what case did you go with in the end ? bit of a mine field as so many now but a lot dropping support for 5.3" bays !
     
  9. Mr_Sukebe

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 23, 2002

    Posts: 8,756

    Location: London

    I went with a few changes:
    - Phantek Enthoo pro (the one with the big fans). As you say, it's nearly as big as a full tower
    - Superflower plat power supply
    - 500GB 970 for Windows and DCS, 1TB 860 for other games, 4TB HDD for general guff
    - 64GB of RAM. I was originally planning 32GB, but frankly, RAM is not THAT expensive, and it will ensure no future compatibility issues. No, I have no need for that much yet, as even DCS doesn't use more than 32GB, but this will definitely give me breathing room, and I'll get to play with RAMdrives
     
  10. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 13,794

    would of personally have gone for Corsair. 10yr warranty VS 5 yrs of Superflower. I know you've got 3 years system collect but part orders will still keep their full warranty, just you'll have to sort it out.
    Corsair rep @CorsairChris has stated they don't fix PSUs but just flat out replace them !

    For price of 64ram over 32gb, would of personally pushed 9900k - but ramdisk would be fun if you've got the space , if your loading 4 dimm slots then would recommend Aorus boards for better tracing designs, even Master - their flagship main stream board .

    Guessing its 3000hz ram ?

    if OCUK arent overclocking and dont want to play around with overclocking. just enable MCE- multi core enhancement and should run all cores at 4.9ghz with that Cooler and board just fine
     
  11. Distracted

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 30, 2018

    Posts: 1,998

    I didn't think I would be hearing people say that again so soon.
    Good to see prices are still dropping.
     
  12. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 13,794

    dropping and DDR5 will come out costing an arm and a leg like DDR4 once did . sure DRR3 prices were bumped up a little too at 4's launch ...
     
  13. aoaaron

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,105


    Awesome. How much did they charge? I might try and do that for my next rig as building it was a pain in the ass.
     
  14. Mr_Sukebe

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 23, 2002

    Posts: 8,756

    Location: London

    The cost was the component cost plus £50-100.
     
  15. aoaaron

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,105

    Bargain. If I knew they did that, I would have bought all my parts from them for my last build.

    Now I know where I'll be going for my next build!!
     
  16. Mr_Sukebe

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 23, 2002

    Posts: 8,756

    Location: London

    Quite. Sure, they get the profit for both the components and build, but I’d rather give it to them than any other similar supplier.
     
  17. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 13,794

    They are a distributor for SuperFlower (hence them spec listing it for you at half the warranty length ) as well as Phanteks and a few other brands :D