1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 11 problem

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by bitfenix, 27 Sep 2021.

  1. VigiFlyer

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Apr 2020

    Posts: 104

    Do you think there will be checks put in to confirm that tpm is always enabled unlike by the sounds of it win 10?
     
  2. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,506

    Location: South Manchester

    Read the OP and you'll have your answer.
     
  3. Mcnumpty2323

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Dec 2019

    Posts: 4,060

    Location: Planet Thanet

    Yeah as he said ∆
    But to further clarify it
    Should you already have windows 11 installed
    And go turn TPM off in the bios
    Your pc isn't going to boot
    You will get a warning message pop up
     
  4. Madeddie

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Mar 2011

    Posts: 439

    Slight problem

    I think Microsoft windows 11 has been developed by Boris Johnson
    it tells me in windows update, that my pc currently doesn't meet all windows 11 requirements and that I should run the windows 11 health checker.

    [​IMG]


    1. I run the pc windows 11 health checker and it congratulates me that my pc meets all requirements to run windows 11

    [​IMG]


    I go back to windows update and get the same message, have tried a reboot but still the same warning

    [​IMG]

    given the conflicting message not entirley sure how to proceed with this....
     
  5. Mcnumpty2323

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Dec 2019

    Posts: 4,060

    Location: Planet Thanet

    If updating pretty sure there's a registry hack to disable the checks
    Clean install you can use mediacreationtool.bat
    To get an ISO that doesn't check
     
  6. Madeddie

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Mar 2011

    Posts: 439

    Thanks

    Mcnumpty2323

    Although want to avoid having to hack the registry, given 75% of all pc's on the planet run windows, MS need to get this update process bullet proof.
    I've got a clean windows 10, the latest hardware and all my drivers and OS is up-todate so it should work out of the box.

    I'll report it to the W11 insider program, was more curious if anyone else had experienced the same issue.
     
  7. Mcnumpty2323

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Dec 2019

    Posts: 4,060

    Location: Planet Thanet

    Yes I saw someone say the same earlier today
    Other option if it actually downloaded it
    Then tells you it's not compatible afterwards
    Is to show hidden files/folders
    Then delete appraiser.sdb and appreiserres.dll files
    From c:bt/sources/panther I think it was
     
  8. VigiFlyer

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Apr 2020

    Posts: 104

    That wasn't quite my question. Once you have upgraded to Windows 11, if you removed TPM, would it boot?
     
  9. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,506

    Location: South Manchester

    Your question wasn't clear.

    Assuming it behaves the same as 7/8/10 if the TPM contains a key for a bitlocker encrypted OS drive then no, Unless you've got the emergency unlock code.

    If your question isn't that and is "Assuming no bitlocker, if I remove the TPM after installation will it fail a hardware check and refuse to boot?" - I dunno. Don't have any Win11 capable hardware on hand. Cause MS refuse to support 7th Gen for no reason.
     
  10. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 88,932

    Location: South Coast

    If you don't use BitLocker then yes it will still boot with TPM off in the BIOS, but you are not gaining or losing anything hardware wise turning it off again so just leave it on? Windows System Info will show TPM is not enabled and you nay well not get any updates if a specific update checks if the requirements are still met as they once were when installing Windows 11.

    As far as 7th gen CPUs go, well since having Win11 installed I see no mention of CPU not being supported in Windows Update or anywhere else so it does appear to be the initial scare tactic to worry people out of installing it via any of the methods mentioned already. I will maintain this thought until MS double down and actually stop updates for installs where the CPU is "not supported" - Shall I hold my breathe? :p
     
  11. Jay85

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 22 May 2010

    Posts: 7,578

  12. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 88,932

    Location: South Coast

  13. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,506

    Location: South Manchester

    I've no interest in hacking around stuff to bypass the protections, it'll just turn into an arms race to keep the dodgy OS updated and pray it works as intended. I'd rather carry on using Windows 10 on "unsupported for Windows 11" hardware.

    My 7th gen PC is a tool to do things, not a science experiment I can use to stick it to Microsoft while making my life difficult. I can swap the CPU to make it compatible and gain some more cores into the bargain, just don't have a spare £500!
     
  14. marms

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Nov 2005

    Posts: 366

    Location: Lincolnshire

    I've installed windows 11 on an old laptop with an AMD A10 Processor, it wouldn't let me upgrade so i did a new install, it hasn't mentioned the Processor not being supported and everything is working well.
     
  15. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: 19 May 2012

    Posts: 13,145

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

  16. Mcnumpty2323

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Dec 2019

    Posts: 4,060

    Location: Planet Thanet

    If you do a clean install
    Not an upgrade then yeah it will
    Far as I remember
    But don't rely on getting future upgrades/security patches
     
  17. venomx

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Feb 2009

    Posts: 851

    Mate ive already posted the solution.
    GO here and download it manually
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows11
     
  18. Bouton Aide

    Caporegime

    Joined: 9 Aug 2008

    Posts: 29,569

  19. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: 19 May 2012

    Posts: 13,145

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    Nope it's purely for upgrades within existing Windows 10 install


    "win 11 boot and upgrade fix kit" is what you need to sort out other methods if required
     
  20. Bouton Aide

    Caporegime

    Joined: 9 Aug 2008

    Posts: 29,569

    I already have it installed, testing some install.wim/install.esd method.

    EDIT: It works! the installer thinks it's windows 10. But in reality it is windows 11. All restrictions bypassed.
     
    Last edited: 7 Oct 2021