1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 7 "The action can't be completed because the folder or a file in it is open in another progr

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Participant, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 13, 2003

    Posts: 27,110

    Location: Warwickshire

    I've been sorting out my MP3s this weekened and this is driving me nuts :D! Getting the following error sporadically in Windows Explorer:

    [​IMG]

    If I wait a few minutes, it frees up the file or folder and allows me to move or or delete it. It doesn't happen all the time, say every five attempts. This makes me think it's a thumbnail caching problem, as eventually whatever is causing the problem is released by itself, so it seems unlikely to be a third party program.

    All the solutions I've seen relate to disabling thumbail caching use the local group policy editor (gpedit.msc), but I have Home Premium and this feature is disabled in it.

    Been Googling all afternoon and found nothing. Anyone else had this and resolved it? I will have your babies if you help me sort it.
     
  2. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 16, 2005

    Posts: 14,442

    Location: Manchester

    In Home Premium you can set the same policies, you just need to edit the registry settings manually via regedit.exe. Just search for the reg fix to turn off thumbnail cache.

    The most obvious thing to ask is if any of your media players are running or indexing your library?
     
  3. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 13, 2003

    Posts: 27,110

    Location: Warwickshire

    I searched but only found zip files. I'd rather do the change manually so I know what it's doing. Will have another look for the actual reg entries though.

    Winamp was initially running but inactive. I closed Winamp, rebooted and loaded nothing except for Windows Explorer, and the problem was exactly the same i.e. sporadic 'in use' errors.

    Reading about it looks like it could be a third party program causing the problem, otherwise this would be a far bigger issue than it appears to be.

    Oh well, time for some trouble-shooting.
     
  4. dbmzk1

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 28, 2002

    Posts: 9,125

    Location: Stockport / Manchester

    Does this to me sometimes too. Think it's just it doing its search cahce thing or whatever it's called, not sure.
     
  5. SamG

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 28, 2004

    Posts: 896

    Are you sharing using WMP? I get this as I stream to my 360.
     
  6. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 16, 2005

    Posts: 14,442

    Location: Manchester

    Try it in Safe-Mode. That way you can be sure if it is third-party software or the OS playing silly buggers.
     
  7. Vimes

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2005

    Posts: 3,666

    Location: Manchester

    I use this on W7x64....

    http://ccollomb.free.fr/unlocker/

    it works great with "unlocking" and / or at least informing me what is preventing a file from deletion etc.
     
  8. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 13, 2003

    Posts: 27,110

    Location: Warwickshire

    Cheers all.

    I have the folders in question shared in Windows Media Centre, so I guess they're also shared in Player by default...so yes. It wasn't open at the time but you think this could be the cause?

    Will do.

    Cheers, I'll give that a go tonight.
     
  9. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 13, 2003

    Posts: 27,110

    Location: Warwickshire

    Unlocker didn't work.

    I installed it and there was nothing in the context menu despite me selecting it, and nothing loaded when I loaded the applications, but for a little icon in my taskbar that did nothing.

    Uninstalled.
     
  10. Vimes

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2005

    Posts: 3,666

    Location: Manchester

    When using Unlocker you are then supposed to right click on the problematic file / folder and then select "unlocker" (once you have installed it of course). This will then bring up a menu which will inform you of the "locking handles" found you then have a choice of the action you wish to take.
     
  11. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 13, 2003

    Posts: 27,110

    Location: Warwickshire

     
  12. Vimes

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2005

    Posts: 3,666

    Location: Manchester

    oops sorry didn't read that bit...

    When I install Unlocker I make sure the Explorer bit is ticked...

    [​IMG]


    and then I get this in the right click context menu...

    [​IMG]

    You can see the last one in the list then gives the Unlocker option :)
     
  13. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 13, 2003

    Posts: 27,110

    Location: Warwickshire

    Yeah that's exactly what I did. The only thing I didn't do was reboot....this could be important :p.

    I'll try again tonight, thanks for the help.

    If unlocker reports nothing open then I'm stuck with waiting for the thing to unlock itself as I still can't find a reliable source for the reg entry to disable thumbnail cacheing in W7 HP x64. I'm not even sure I want to have to disable a feature just to get file deletion to work properly, it's a ridiculous bug really.

    I had zero problems in safe mode, so it looks like it's time to start uninstalling third party apps.
     
  14. Vimes

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2005

    Posts: 3,666

    Location: Manchester

    Last edited: Sep 28, 2010


Share This Page