1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Work laptop that will run autocad

Discussion in 'New to PC gaming & upgrade advice' started by dpue243, Mar 19, 2019.

  1. dpue243

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 19, 2019

    Posts: 5

    I am currently looking for a new laptop for work as my 8 year old MacBook pro is starting to get very slow and very hot.

    I'll mainly be using for autocad in work and would like to switch to Windows.

    Can anyone advise on what would be best? Don't want anything too big as I'll be carrying it around in work, so I want to stay away from gaming laptops and anything over 15 inches.

    I'll probably look to pay it off monthly as work gave me a raise to get one. My budget is around £1500 but I might stretch a little further if it's a laptop that would last a long time.

    Can anyone give me some advise or suggest specific laptops?

    Thank you in advance
     
  2. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 14,425

    what are you doing within Autocad? i.e geomapping or Rendering ? would effect hardware etc
     
  3. dpue243

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 19, 2019

    Posts: 5

    It'll mostly just be 2d plans, would do 3d the odd time but not in that much detail. I'm a setting out engineer so it'll not be overly detailed in 3d.
     
  4. dpue243

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 19, 2019

    Posts: 5

    **Link removed, please only link to products from OcUK**

    What do you think of the above laptop?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 20, 2019
  5. D3K

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 13, 2014

    Posts: 2,871

    I seen people run Inventor on i5 igpus 5 years ago, autocad doesn't even come close it's requirements. Turn off hardware acceleration (if it's even allowed to be on with an igpu) and you'll be fine. It's 2D lines, hardly taxing.
     
  6. dpue243

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 19, 2019

    Posts: 5

    Would I get away with something with a Intel HD graphics card? Or does it need to be a dedicated one? Everything I've seen with dedicated gives up a lot of the battery which isn't the best if I'm on a building site.
     
  7. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 14,425

    If going dedicated your looking for Q - Max for GPU as they use less power , heat and smaller laptops !
     
  8. EsaT

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 5,616

    Location: Finland

    What's the model/size of your current MacBook Pro?
    That would be best starting point for figuring out what kind size is acceptable.

    If battery life is important you really don't want laptop to use some semi-desktop components.
    Like that H-serie CPU.
    U is Intel's designation for real laptop CPU serie.

    Also especially cheaper desktop replacement laptops likely don't use that power efficient components
     
  9. dpue243

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 19, 2019

    Posts: 5

    My current MacBook is:
    13-inch, late 2011
    2.4 GHz Intel Core i5
    16GB 1333 Mix DDR3
    Intel HD Graphics 3000 512mb
     
  10. EsaT

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 5,616

    Location: Finland

    Typical 15,6" laptop is going to be 3-4cm wider and with 2cm more depth.
    https://support.apple.com/kb/sp645?locale=en_US
    So use some pieces of paper etc for visualizing that size increase to see if that sounds acceptable.

    Performance wise it's very easy to find lot more powerfull CPUs at lower power consumption than that 2c/4t max 3GHz Sandy Bridge.

    Keeping good portability is why ThinkPad T-serie has long been focused on 14" size.
    That would keep size increases small. (~1cm max)
    T480 is 336.6 mm x 232.5 mm x 19.95 mm (~1,6kg) and little more expensive "slimmed" T480s 331 mm x 226.8 mm x 18.45 mm. (along with few hundred grams lighter weight)


    ThinkPad T480 with 4 core/8 thread Core i7 8550U, 16GB of RAM, 2560x1440 display and quarter TB SSD would fit to that £1500.
    Those can be had also with integrated WWAN/4G LTE modem if online connectivity would be important.
    And wired connectivity wise they're serious work laptops with excellent connectivity.
     
  11. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,897

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    if you are using Autocad 2016 or later you should get a dedicated GPU.. quadro are clearly expensive but any old GTX will be better than integrated. I have had issues even in 2D with intel gpu , artifacts and very slow panning and zoom

    i5 is fine dont need i7