1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Worth upgrading Ryzen 3600 to 5800X?

Discussion in 'New to PC gaming & upgrade advice' started by bobboberts, 25 Nov 2021.

  1. bobboberts

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Sep 2003

    Posts: 395

    I use my PC for gaming only and currently have a Ryzen 3600 based system. It is paired with a 3070 GPU and I game at 1440p (usually just stick to 60hz but my monitor does support 75hz).

    As a potential Christmas present to myself I've considered upgrading the CPU, but is it actually worth it? Will I see much improvement over what I have? I assume it would raise the frame rate minimums, but would it be by much?

    I don't really plan on a wider upgrade for some time, so I'm not looking at a wholesale change (e.g. Intel), but is there any reasonable bang for my buck I would see?
     
  2. dave28

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jun 2013

    Posts: 1,604

    not really but if they make a 3d cache version of the 5800x in early 2022 then that would be worth it probably
     
  3. mickyflinn

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Mar 2011

    Posts: 13,039

    Location: West Side

    Have you got your monitor refresh rate set to 60 Hz?
     
    Last edited: 25 Nov 2021
  4. bobboberts

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Sep 2003

    Posts: 395

    I usually just use in-game vsync options to limit it to 60. The monitor is gsync compatible though, so I could just leave it at 75 of course.
     
  5. bobboberts

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Sep 2003

    Posts: 395

    Okay, interesting. I don't really know much about the underlying tech of CPUs, so what benefits would 3d cache bring?
     
  6. mickyflinn

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Mar 2011

    Posts: 13,039

    Location: West Side

    Why limit to 60 , get the most out your 3070.
     
  7. dave28

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jun 2013

    Posts: 1,604

    They are on about upto 15% boost in Gaming and something on par with a generational shift in performance over the current ones.

    But will have to wait to see in Q1 2022, of course their claims probably have many caveats and i dont think it is known yet how many of the CPU`s models will be releaed.

    Probably worth the wait though, you know what its like with PC`s. As soon as something new is out then the older CPU`s age over night all of a sudden.
     
  8. Haz123

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2021

    Posts: 428

    Location: Leeds

    Raptorium mining. Always a new crypto currency idiocy that works better on some specific part of a PC.

    In some instances the cpu cache is a bottleneck and increasing it can show large gains in performance whilst in other situations clock speed is the bottleneck so having extra cache will make no difference. 3600 is a decent chip , wait a few months until you see some independent benchmarks and then decide if an upgrade is worthwhile.
     
  9. GezfromSA

    Associate

    Joined: 25 Nov 2021

    Posts: 5

    Location: Scotland

    If you are looking to sell the R3600 I am looking for one from a good home
     
  10. heatonpkmassive

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 May 2015

    Posts: 1,522

    Location: Manchester

    I'd upgrade the monitor first.
     
  11. Nevakonaza

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Jan 2009

    Posts: 5,749

    This, the 60hz Monitor is holding you back especially if its competitive fps games.

    I don't think you'll see "in games" a significant upgrade going from a 3600 to a 5800X.

    Id go new monitor, Then wait a while for prices to drop on CPUs then upgrade.
     
  12. Craig_d1

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Apr 2020

    Posts: 919

  13. flux64

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Aug 2007

    Posts: 100

    if you are not in any rush i would wait for Q1 2022 to see what AMD drops
     
  14. JollyJamma

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Oct 2019

    Posts: 223

    Location: Belfast

    They won’t. Their new 3D cache CPUs will be the new AM5 socket.
     
  15. mickyflinn

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Mar 2011

    Posts: 13,039

    Location: West Side

    Debut on AM4 first but not sure if that means released.

    Shortly after 8 minutes into the video, the conversation turns to 3D V-Cache, as firstunveiled at Computex this year. The technology, which will deliver an average 15 per cent performance boost to games (at the same clock speeds as previous CPUs), will debut on "a Ryzen product in early 2022, that goes into Socket AM4"

    https://m.hexus.net/tech/news/cpu/148502-amd-will-release-zen-3-am4-cpu-3d-v-cache-q1-22/
     
  16. EViLHomer48

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 May 2017

    Posts: 228

    Location: 14miles North of OCUK HQ

    Thread hijack - same question please but my move is from a Ryzen 5 1600 AM4 3.6 Ghz on a Giagbyte AB350 motherboard?
    I cant get to 5000 series chips, I can only get to a 3600X, 3700, 3800

    Think my board has updated Bios to take those CPUs. If not can do so
    Ta
     
    Last edited: 28 Nov 2021
  17. heatonpkmassive

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 May 2015

    Posts: 1,522

    Location: Manchester

    Maybe if you add heatsinks to the VRMs, that board has poor VRMs though. I wouldn't bother, I'd just get a new board and chip when funds permit. It'd work, I just wouldn't do it myself.