• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

X2 4400+ Stock Temperatures

Soldato
Joined
16 Dec 2005
Posts
14,443
Location
Manchester
Hey all.

I have had my X2 4400+ system for about 4 days now and I am impressed.

As I type I have 2 Prime95 Torture Tests running, SISoftware Sandra 2007 running plus the usual programs such as Winamp etc

My CPU at 100% is at a nice cool 29-31 degrees! Is this normal for a 4400+? I have seen a few threads where people's idle temps are higher than this!

I am cooling it with an AC Freezer 64 Pro.

SiriusB
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
16 Dec 2005
Posts
14,443
Location
Manchester
Yeah I have speedfan, and systool and they all agree with SmartGuardian.

My PC is in a CoolerMaster Stacker 810 which has a 120mm intake at the front, 2 120mm rear exhaust and a smaller blowhole at the top. Would this explain the temps?

SiriusB
 
Suspended
Joined
17 Mar 2006
Posts
9,055
See sig, basically identical machine. ATM 30 idle, 40-44 load. Stock speed. 23 ambiant. 30 under load seems low, unless you live in a freezer. oh but I have the stock heatpipe.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
OP
Joined
16 Dec 2005
Posts
14,443
Location
Manchester
Hmm my room is pretty cool - by far the coolest in the house. Never have the radiator on in my room and window is always open.

Would a dodgy temp sensor give off low readings? I'd have thought it would give you stupid temps such as 200 degrees or something lol

SiriusB
 
Suspended
Joined
17 Mar 2006
Posts
9,055
Update your mobo BIOS, perhaps it's out (my CPU went "down" 10 degrees after a BIOS flash on my Asus CSM mobo) course it still be inaccurate, so use a calibrated thermal probe just touching the core (not sandwiched between core and HS)
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
16 Dec 2005
Posts
14,443
Location
Manchester
My god, don't anyone ever suggest doing a BIOS update to me again!

I shall keep this gripping tale brief:

Downloads Windows BIOS Flash utility because he has no floppy drive
Downloads CORRECT BIOS update.
Runs utility.
Reboots computer when prompted.
Computer doesn't boot.
Clears CMOS using mobo jumper
Computer POSTs, lets me access BIOS but nothing else.
Internet goes down.
No internet, no downloads, no help, no information.
Spends most of today chasing BT around half the globe trying to get assistance.
Gives up. Reads a book.
Internet miraculously comes back.
Unearths old USB floppy drive, tries DOS version of flash utility.
BIOS Flash succeeds.
BOOT DISK ERROR
Swears.
Checks cables
PC works
:D

All that faffing about due to me probably knocking a cable loose while rummaging around for the CMOS clear jumper!

But back on topic - temps are the same even with the new updated BIOS

22/23 Idle
30/32 Load

So, is my CPU heat sensor borked or have i got an amazingly efficient cooling setup by a spectacular twist of luck :p

SiriusB
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
15,370
Location
The land of milk & beans
I have the same temps with the same chip, although mine is in a DFI SLi-D and an XP90C.

I assumed my temps were so low at load because i haven't put the pmtimer fix in yet (as i've been without net at home for a week while it gets upgraded :( )

have you tried that on yours?
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
16 Dec 2005
Posts
14,443
Location
Manchester
hmm if it is a borked sensor, is it worth an RMA? Not sure I feel comfortable having to estimate my CPU temps - especially since I plan to overclock in the future.

SiriusB
 
Soldato
Joined
4 Sep 2005
Posts
12,785
Location
London
Hey sirius, long time no talk :p

My friend has a 3500, and his idle temps are lower than yours :confused: Maybe his are borked, but his house is pretty cold
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
16 Dec 2005
Posts
14,443
Location
Manchester
My room is pretty cold, measuring around 20C at the moment on a digital thermometer and it is falling. My window is always open so there is constant circulation of air in here and the airflow in my case is pretty good...

Is there really no way my sensor is correct? I am happy to accept that my sensor is a tad wonky but Id like to cling on to my false hope as long as possible :D

SiriusB
 
Associate
Joined
29 Dec 2005
Posts
1,194
if your room temp is 20c theres no way air cooling will keep the chip at 2c above ambient temps, maybe the top of the line water may do if you were lucky.

id add 10c to whatever you see, that sounds about right
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
16 Dec 2005
Posts
14,443
Location
Manchester
Last night I stumbled across a [large] thread on DFI-Street about people reporting low temps with Lanparty UT boards. http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/sho...e=1&pp=15&highlight=wrong+*correct+temp*+4400

As of present there has been no fix but in the new BIOS there is an option to add up to 10 degrees to the temp. Not a brilliant work-around as some people are reporting up to 20degrees too low.

Just thought I'd let you lot know in case anyone else has really low temps with a Lanparty UT board. DFI are aware of it but hasn't said whether they're to blame or not.

SiriusB
 
Back
Top Bottom