1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

X4 Foundations

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by SkeeterUK, 29 Aug 2017.

  1. SkeeterUK

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Oct 2005

    Posts: 15,711

    Location: North East

    Or if ur like me and dont care about the whole game being a sim but good enough then the older ones are still great. Plus unless u got a high spec modern cpu i.e last few years, then ull suffer from frame rates going up and down. Also amd cards suffer more than nvidias in x4 me and panos figured out.

    You can catch a dev called xenon_slayer play x2 sometimes on his twitch channel.
    https://www.twitch.tv/xenon_slayer
     
  2. BUDFORCE

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 May 2012

    Posts: 4,305

    I put 595 hours into X4.

    Not bad for a single player game, the only other single player game higher for me is Fallout 4 with around 900.
     
  3. Spacedeck

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Sep 2007

    Posts: 3,226

    Location: West Yorkshire, England

    Thanks I'm going to check him out. I still have a GTX 980 and I game at 1080p. How would it perform for me?
     
  4. SkeeterUK

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Oct 2005

    Posts: 15,711

    Location: North East

    for x2 probs great and for x4 probs ok but more important for x4 is cpu and ram.
     
  5. Spacedeck

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Sep 2007

    Posts: 3,226

    Location: West Yorkshire, England

    @SkeeterUK they are i7 4790K at 4GHz, auto boosts to 4.4 and 16GB ram.

    Sadly I think the days of buying new games for me is over until I can upgrade my PC. I tried Battlefield 2042 Beta and it was a bad experience :(. I'm going to play X2 for now and I'll come back to consider X4 whenever I am able to run the game better.
     
  6. Panos

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Nov 2009

    Posts: 13,252

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    For 1080p the GTX980 should be fine. As for the CPU overclock the 4790K to 4.6-4.8, shame on you having it on autoboost. We are not a stockclockers forum :D hahahaha

    My laptop is 6700HQ (your CPU is 30-38% faster) and a GTX1060 6GB (game depending equal or slower than the GTX980) and the game does 100+ fps at 1080p with maxed out settings without Space Reflections. Even have the ability to run vkBasalt (reshade for Linux) which does affect perf. True at stations does around 40fps but even an RTX3080 mobile with 5800H does so at 2560x1600 or a 5700XT + 3900X at 2560x1440.

    FYI Allkeys has the base game for £16.50
     
  7. DEL 707

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,863

    The water production module looks a bit....*funny*

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. BUDFORCE

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 May 2012

    Posts: 4,305

    Ahh,

    So just fired up the game since getting a bit borred with playing as Terrans a couple of months back. The Terrans are cool but.... because of their unique tech and blah blah.

    Anyway, now there are custom starts, this is seriously cool.

    I always wanted to play as a Split guy, but be hated by basically everyone, aside from the split. So going to try it, -30 hostile to basically everyone other than both Split factions and Havitka (why not) and basically go full on pirate - you can also choose how much money you start with, blueprints etc, but I figured this part of the grind is half of the purpose of the game, so I am not going to give myself any blueprints and start money to a minimum. BUT.... I am going to "cheat" with the research, and have the player station fully complete off the bat because that is a massive ballache which will be very difficuly -30 to everyone.

    But you can literally start yourself off with stations and whatever really, very cool.

    Gonna fire it up see how I go, maybe go back and tweak it if it becomes quickly apparent this is too easy/hard.
     
  9. Iron Man

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Apr 2010

    Posts: 249

    Might have to check this out. Was a big x1 and x2 fan. Will have to see if there’s a VR mod for this.
     
  10. BUDFORCE

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 May 2012

    Posts: 4,305

    Thinking about it more, I might try and create a start hostile to everyone, apart from scale plate/havitka.

    Put the player station in one of those sectors and go from there. I dunno how easy it would be I think I will give myself all the blueprints though.

    I'm not sure what minerals are in those sectors I might go have a look on an established save first.

    Would be cool though, basically backed right into a corner.
     
  11. BUDFORCE

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 May 2012

    Posts: 4,305

    Hmm so after doing some research and some thinking, there basically isnt a Neutral/Pirate System with all the resources in. I think it would be basically impossible to play self sufficient and hostile to everyone, off the bat that is. Plus you'd need to get hold of a builder, I guess you could possibly capture one, but then you cant repair it without a friendly ship yard, which there wont be if you are hostile to everyone.....cant buy builder drones etc.

    I think there is just too many unforseen variables to be able to do this.

    The only other possible thing, is to start the game with a whole ton of battleships, nuke a sector of whoever is there so its neutral, then loose the battleships and start up from there. But I dont know how aggresively a faction AI would come for your assets if you did that, and you'd need to spawn in a builder also, I still think you'd run into problems as well.
     
  12. SkeeterUK

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Oct 2005

    Posts: 15,711

    Location: North East

  13. BUDFORCE

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 May 2012

    Posts: 4,305

    I love how they keep doing so much work on this game. The game is expensive I'll grant you that, but considering it's a one off cost, for god knows how many hours play time and all this work they keep doing you can't complain. The game does feel really quite polished now.
     
  14. pete910

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Oct 2013

    Posts: 3,150

    Is 40 quid ish expensive when you've got the new BF/COD ect starting at 60+ and in an alpha state let alone release state ?
     
  15. Smokey Deza

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2011

    Posts: 1,889

    Got some on delivery, should be here tomorrow :)
     
  16. SkeeterUK

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Oct 2005

    Posts: 15,711

    Location: North East

    https://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?f=146&t=443184

     
  17. BUDFORCE

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 May 2012

    Posts: 4,305

    I'm back into this game at the moment playing full pirate. It's fun, but it's a challenge.
     
  18. suenstar

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 May 2011

    Posts: 1,033

    Location: Cornwall, England

    I've recently jumped back into this over the past couple of days as well, playing with one of the newer Terran starts.
    Ended up losing track of time and putting in a good 4-5 hour session yesterday.
     
  19. dirtybeatfreak

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jun 2006

    Posts: 4,176

    Pirate DLC announced later today :)
     
  20. SkeeterUK

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Oct 2005

    Posts: 15,711

    Location: North East

    https://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?f=146&t=443184