Yamaha RX-V359 - 2 x 5.1 Outputs from 1 Optical Input - LARGE PIC ALERT

Soldato
Joined
31 May 2005
Posts
15,630
Location
Nottingham
This might sound confusing, so please bear with me.

I am getting the above amp and plan to use the Optical Audio Out on my PC to connect to the Amp.

Now, the Amp is situated close to both the PC and the TV with the TV in the front room and the PC in the back room.

There will be one set of 5.1 speakers in the front room.

Now, I would like to have 5.1 sound from the PC in the rear room as well with a set of speakers for the PC in the back room.

Would it be possible in any way to have a set of 5.1's connected to the amp for the back room, along with the 5.1's for the front room? Obviously only usiong one at a time.

Or ill I need to buy another AMP for the PC?

Hope that makes sense?

Could I use splitters or something?

Thanks All.

PIC OF INPUTS/OUTPUTS:

rx-v359_review.jpg
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
3 Nov 2003
Posts
5,048
Location
Lancashire
you could use just the one amp although its not ideal, you have 2 optical inputs there so you can use one for each source.

Its sorting the speakers out with is the main issue. you can buy switchboxs that will enable you to have 2 sets of speakers to one amp. this would work but you would sacrifice a little in sound quality, depends how fussy you are and what you have them hooked up to.
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Mar 2005
Posts
16,896
Location
Here and There...
If you can afford two decent sets of speakers I'm sure you can afford two decent amps so do it that way it will be much much easier, You can then always conect the amps together for some multiroom audio goodness when you want.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
31 May 2005
Posts
15,630
Location
Nottingham
How would you connect them together?

Will only be using one device at a time you see, either PC or TV.

What is the benefit of a dedicated computer amp and speakers over a standard Hi-Fi set?

I would have thought the Hi-Fi ones would be better?
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Mar 2005
Posts
16,896
Location
Here and There...
My bad not to easy with that amp to conect the two together as it seems to lack the necessary pre-amp outs.

I would get two proper Hi-FI amps not a computer orientated surround package (allthough some of these are getting pretty decent) my point was that the major expense in your system is going to be speakers so if you buying two complete 5.1 sets the extra cost for an amp isn't going to be huge percentage wise. It will also give you the option of using the sound in both rooms at the same time, you never know when someone will want a quick blast on Doom3 while your in the other room watching finding nemo
 
Associate
Joined
2 Jan 2007
Posts
277
Location
Stoke-on-trent
I have this amp and for the money it's not bad, although the remote is crap. Some high end amps (>£1000) do offer features to those you require if I have read your requirements correct. But looking to buy this amp then you need really think through what you are hoping to achieve. Its sound like you have restrictive budget and compromises you will have to make going this route don’t make sense. This amp is very basic and to get the best out of it you have to set it up properly (calibrate to room shape and position of speakers etc). This is a manual process if it is same as my amp (which is 14 months old now) which means each time you use it in different rooms you will have to change the setup (10 mins at least) or spoil the surround sound effects. Which means you might as well buy cheap £50 setups (including speakers) for each room as you will get similar results/quality.

Don’t let me put you off, it’s just my view. But keep the forum posted on how you eventually achieve your goal please?
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
31 May 2005
Posts
15,630
Location
Nottingham
Am getting the RX-V359 for the main room with the TV with the NSP110 speakers with it.

http://www.yamaha-uk.com/av_packages/?product_id=138&category=av_packages

The computer is in the room next door and I while im at it, would like to get a 5.1 speaker setup for that room also for the computer.

The computer is allready connected to the TV in the front room so I will be using the Optical out on the computer to connect the PC audio to the AMP for watching DVD's, playing Audio Discs etc as I dont want to buy a seperate DVD player when the computer is soo close to the TV and neither are used at the same time.

I would like to play some of my games in 5.1 and also have deecent audio for CD playback in the same room as the computer.

Hope that makes sense.
 
Soldato
Joined
27 Nov 2005
Posts
24,813
Location
Guernsey
All you need is one of these...

5 Way Stereo Speaker Switch

techlink5wayspkrswfront.jpg


techlink5wayspkrswback.jpg



A very good quality speaker selector allowing up to 5 pairs of stereo speakers to be switched in or out.
The unit is fed from a single stereo input and also features a front mounted headphone socket.


But you still have to figure out a way for extra subwoofer..if your going to be adding a subwoofer in each room...
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
2 Jan 2007
Posts
277
Location
Stoke-on-trent
I have the same speakers too! You will not get decent CD audio out, this package is a bit limited in this area. They are OK for DVD movies and games but you do need to calibrate for the room to achieve decent 5.1 results.

PS. I had to take the feet off mine so it would fit on the shelf under the TV and allow adequate cooling, it is quite tall!
 
Back
Top Bottom