ZX6R 2005 running temp & coolant questions for a n00b.

Soldato
I picked up my first bike today a ZX6R 05 plate. It's been service though coolant looks, well low....

When the bike is upright:

20110622-mk1b2c51e22qa3116puikfjct8.jpg

Side stand:
20110622-j772fpjcw84qedcs3isj6fukfu.jpg

Being a newbie I obviously wasn't riding particularly hard except for one point and the temperate on my speedo was showing around 98 degrees which is quite high no? It did drop to nearer to 80 degrees at another point though.

What sort of running temperature should I expect to be seeing when riding sensibly? I think it's just a tad low on coolant hence the high temp so can pop back this weekend and get them to pop more in.

Thanks in advance,

BennyC

Edit: Google skills:

http://www.zxforums.com/forums/zx-6r-forum/12971-normal-operating-temp.html

Seems it's well within normal range though could obviously do with a top up.

Associate
As said top up the coolent, as long as the fan kicks in the temps should be ok.
Lol i could cook an egg on the frame of me trike after 20 mins of riding :D

Soldato
I asked the exact same question when I got my Z750 -(my first bike) it would creep over 100 if I got stuck in traffic. It's nothing to worry about but it does want a little top up to that level :)

Tea Drinker
Don
Bikes run hot and varied I think the sensors are more sensitive than cars, as said top up when the bike is as if on the centre stand if you have one, then just keep an eye on it, you notice the heat so much more as your legs are round the engine and any fans wash the heat straight over you.

Think how disengaged you are from a car engine.

Soldato
OP
Thanks chaps. I'll take it back and get them to top it up, I'll watch as I need to learn how myself but I've just paid for the bike so they can service it properly! :p

It's a bit of an animal in comparison to the ER-5! :eek:

Soldato