Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > General Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th Dec 2007, 22:22   #1
Oj2k4
Hitman
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 548
Keyboard problem on start up - keyboard error or no keyboard present

Quote:
Here I have my problem.
This threads title message appears during boot up. There is also "cmos checksum error - defaults loaded", because I cleared bios. If I don't plug in the keyboard, "keyboard error or no keyboard present" message appers too. I predict this is not keyboard issued problem neither cmos.
I have a similar problem to this guy from my quote, just completed re-building a pc and cleared the CMOS and connected everything up and I get this error of "keyboard error or no keyboard present" and "keyboard is locked out - unlock the key".

After googling around for assistance, there were people saying check the keys aren't stuck and also to try another keyboard etc which I have tried. I tried also clearing the CMOS again but still have the same error. Could it be that the keyboard controller is possibly not working as the motherboard has been lying around for a short while and not been in use. If it is the keyboard controller then is there any way to solve this problem without the purchase of another mobo?

I have a MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum Motherboard if that is of any relevance.

Thanks.
Oj2k4 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2007, 22:28   #2
BENdage
Wise Guy
 
BENdage's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: My Chair, Peterborough
Posts: 2,173
Have you tried both USB and PS2 keyboards

This is my sig. There are many like it but this one is mine.
Without my sig I am useless, without me my sig is useless...
BENdage is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2007, 22:31   #3
Oj2k4
Hitman
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 548
Yep tried both
Oj2k4 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2007, 22:39   #4
Delvis
Caporegime
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 25,993
Don;t suppose there's some kind of keyboard jumper on the motherboard?

Delvis is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2007, 22:56   #5
BENdage
Wise Guy
 
BENdage's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: My Chair, Peterborough
Posts: 2,173
Has it definately worked in the past?

This is my sig. There are many like it but this one is mine.
Without my sig I am useless, without me my sig is useless...
BENdage is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2007, 23:48   #6
Oj2k4
Hitman
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 548
Keyboards have been tested on other comps and do work, mobo was working before removed a while back. After googling a bit there was stuff saying about the case maybe having a keylock thing but it doesnt, a keyboard jumper i'm not 100% sure but it never had one before, any ideas on how I could maybe double check this? If all else fails I'll probs just try and find another mobo
Oj2k4 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Dec 2007, 10:44   #7
Delvis
Caporegime
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 25,993
Just have a look through the manual I guess, If I get a chance I'll download one and have a look myself

I doubt your case would have have a keyboard lock, as they were only on old chassis types normally.

Delvis is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Dec 2007, 15:40   #8
Oj2k4
Hitman
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 548
I had a look through the manual for something to do with this but to no avail Just a shame that this motherboard can't get the keyboard to work when every other part of it is probs fine (N) Oh well, probs time to source a mobo on MM.
Oj2k4 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:14.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)