Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > General Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th Apr 2008, 17:59   #1
swinnie
Mobster
 
swinnie's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Whistable, Kent
Posts: 3,051
Laptop Problem

I assume this is the right place to start as I think it is hardware related. Please move if necessary.

Right, I have just been to a friend's house to sort out an Acer Aspire 5633WLMi, I sorted out a few issues with Spyware etc and on Reboot from some Windows Updates I noticed that the following error came up in a BIOS 'format'.

ERROR
0701: USB Over Current on HC/Port Bus: 00H Dev: 1DH Fun 00H Port 00H.

I have had a google I have not found an answer, they have had a lot off issues with this laptop since buying it from a well known UK Computer Chain.

I seem to think that it is the motherboard, or is it something else?

Thanks in Advance.

i7 2600k - Asus P8P67 B3 - 8GB G.Skill DDR3
ATI 6850 - Windows 7 Pro x64 - 2 Samsung SyncMaster B2230
swinnie is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2008, 19:17   #2
swinnie
Mobster
 
swinnie's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Whistable, Kent
Posts: 3,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by swinnie View Post
I assume this is the right place to start as I think it is hardware related. Please move if necessary.

Right, I have just been to a friend's house to sort out an Acer Aspire 5633WLMi, I sorted out a few issues with Spyware etc and on Reboot from some Windows Updates I noticed that the following error came up in a BIOS 'format'.

ERROR
0701: USB Over Current on HC/Port Bus: 00H Dev: 1DH Fun 00H Port 00H.

I have had a google I have not found an answer, they have had a lot off issues with this laptop since buying it from a well known UK Computer Chain.

I seem to think that it is the motherboard, or is it something else?

Thanks in Advance.
Any ideas guys?

i7 2600k - Asus P8P67 B3 - 8GB G.Skill DDR3
ATI 6850 - Windows 7 Pro x64 - 2 Samsung SyncMaster B2230
swinnie is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2008, 20:25   #3
ns400r
Mobster
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: UK, Near the middle......
Posts: 3,493
A device pluged into one of the USB ports (the one listed in the error) is drawing too much current. Max is 500mA per port.

If this isn't the case then I'd say that the USB port/controller is knackered.
ns400r is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2008, 20:57   #4
thegoonden
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 1,464
Also, some laptops have lower ratings than that and cannot provide the full 500, especially while on battery.

Fac9000:GA-X48TDQ6,Q6600-3.5Ghz,2GB Corsair DDR3-1600,BFGGTX280-oc:XP32/Vista32/64
Hal9000:Asus M2N32wsPro,AMD5600+ 4GB Geil DDR800, 8600GT:Gentoo-64
thegoonden is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:06.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)