Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Storage Drives

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th Nov 2010, 13:35   #1
IanB001
Gangster
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 128
Question RAID1(Mirror) - Initialize Status

Good afternoon

In my recently built system I have 2 Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA II hard disc drives in RAID 1.

Yesterday I received my first ever BSOD and since then my drives are constantly being accessed, i.e. the HDD light is always on, and the status of the RAID array is 'initialize' in yellow text when it used to be 'Normal' in green text.

I'm not really sure how to proceed to fix it without losing any of my data. I've never really delt with RAID Arrays before and the Intel(R) Matrix Storage Manager utility is very basic application that doesn't come with any kind of help.

You assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Ian.
IanB001 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Nov 2010, 20:10   #2
rpstewart
Man of Honour
 
rpstewart's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Greenock, Scotland
Posts: 10,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanB001 View Post
I'm not really sure how to proceed to fix it without losing any of my data.
Leave it be, the RAID controller is recovering the array for you.

rpstewart is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Nov 2010, 02:30   #3
IanB001
Gangster
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 128
Okay, I'll leave it to do it's thing. I just thought it was broken.

It seems to be taking a while, I'm assuming this must be related to the size of the discs, the amount of data that's stored and the fact I'm using the computer.
IanB001 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Nov 2010, 03:58   #4
Paracelsus
Hitman
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 690
My 2x250GB took ages to rebuild, even though the drives are fast. Was an onboard ATI chip.

Had no idea it was even doing it until I went into the RAID BIOS.

ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
i5 2500k
GTX480
Paracelsus is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Nov 2010, 08:38   #5
IanB001
Gangster
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 128
If it took a while with 2 x 250GB HDD, it's obviously going to take a little longer with 2 x 2TB HDD.

When the system rebooted after the crash I notice some odd behaviour:
  • The HDD light on my case stayed illuminated
  • I could hear the drives being accessed constantly
  • My files were taking a long time to open and applications were slow to respond and execute.

It wasn't until after I had started or rebooted the system a few times that I actually noticed the RAID status was 'Initialize' and not 'Normal' on the BIOS screen. After the status remained there for some time, and due my limited knowledge of RAID arrays, my reaction was that the RAID I had created was broken.

Now I've learned something about RAID arrays

Of course I don't know what would actually happen if a HDD would actually fail. I hope I never have to find out, but I'm assuming that it would be as simple as determining which drive had failed, then replace it with a new one.
IanB001 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Nov 2010, 09:10   #6
jaybee
Mobster
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,609
It's just rebuilding itself. Could tale a few hours. Could take a day. Depends. If a drive actually fails, you would normally get an indication in sys tray or a pop up from matrix raid software alerting you that the raid array is in a degraded state and could not be rebuilt.
jaybee is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:39.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)