Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Storage Drives

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th Feb 2011, 22:55   #1
An Exception
Soldato
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 6,235
Fancy Cache - High Performance - Reduced writes (Trim, No redundant writes) - Good by 'Write Amplification'.

Just thought you guys might want to try fancy cache out, it's currently a free beta.

Looks like I'v found a way to utilise my 18gb of ram. It's good for scratch disks, as you don't run out of space like a ram disk. Also good for gaming, as levels load (on the second time) allot faster than 3x x25-m's raid 0, also noticed gaming seems smoother, i.e. ZERO stutters or hitches and is now completely butter smooth in black ops.

http://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/fancy-cache/


Last edited by An Exception; 18th Feb 2011 at 23:44.
An Exception is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 23:34   #2
Subliminal Aura
Soldato
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: London
Posts: 6,737
Is the L2 data cache persistent upon reboot ?

If it is then it would be a nice way to add an SSD to an existing system with mechanical drives without having to reinstall. Easy hybrid for the lazy like me.

I also thought there were solutions like this already ? Anyone care to refresh my memory.

| Bang per buck
| i7 2600+4 | 16gb | Z68 Xtreme4 with 12.6 O-ROM | VT-d
| 840pros RAID0 TRIM | non K Overclock | HTPC Build
Subliminal Aura is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 23:43   #3
An Exception
Soldato
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 6,235
There is superspeed supervolume but it's fairly pricey.
I don't know about the L2 cache as I don't really have a need for it.
An Exception is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 23:49   #4
MikeHunt79
Capodecina
 
MikeHunt79's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: \_(ツ)_/
Posts: 20,838
Nice, so is this software essentially a ramdisk then?


Everything in moderation. Including moderation itself.
MikeHunt79 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 23:49   #5
Subliminal Aura
Soldato
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: London
Posts: 6,737
Seems like I've visited superseed before - can't remember

I'll have to revisit the idea of creating a hybrid system. Anyway L2 is what's very interesting with this product - L1 is nothing new.

Thanks for pushing me into looking at this again

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeHunt79 View Post
Nice, so is this software essentially a ramdisk then?
Not really - but same principle.

Think of it as a ramdisk with a live passthrough to the physical disk

| Bang per buck
| i7 2600+4 | 16gb | Z68 Xtreme4 with 12.6 O-ROM | VT-d
| 840pros RAID0 TRIM | non K Overclock | HTPC Build
Last edited by Subliminal Aura; 18th Feb 2011 at 23:51.
Subliminal Aura is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 23:56   #6
MikeHunt79
Capodecina
 
MikeHunt79's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: \_(ツ)_/
Posts: 20,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Subliminal Aura View Post
Not really - but same principle.

Think of it as a ramdisk with a live passthrough to the physical disk
I see, sounds good.

I'm tempted to try this as I'm using an F4 as my system drive, hopefully I should see some good gains as it's 5400rpm....


Everything in moderation. Including moderation itself.
MikeHunt79 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2011, 00:06   #7
Subliminal Aura
Soldato
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: London
Posts: 6,737
I'm tempted too... but not in beta.

Needs more reading

| Bang per buck
| i7 2600+4 | 16gb | Z68 Xtreme4 with 12.6 O-ROM | VT-d
| 840pros RAID0 TRIM | non K Overclock | HTPC Build
Subliminal Aura is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2011, 00:15   #8
Subliminal Aura
Soldato
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: London
Posts: 6,737
There's a big FO thread on OCZ about it with indications of OCZ involvement ...

http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/fo...l=1#post599073

Someone somewhere is taking hybrid seriously.

| Bang per buck
| i7 2600+4 | 16gb | Z68 Xtreme4 with 12.6 O-ROM | VT-d
| 840pros RAID0 TRIM | non K Overclock | HTPC Build
Subliminal Aura is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2011, 00:44   #9
An Exception
Soldato
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 6,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Subliminal Aura View Post
I'm tempted too... but not in beta.

Needs more reading
Understandable, but from my experience so far, 'Volume' beta 0.5 is rock solid.
An Exception is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2011, 00:58   #10
An Exception
Soldato
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 6,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeHunt79 View Post
I see, sounds good.

I'm tempted to try this as I'm using an F4 as my system drive, hopefully I should see some good gains as it's 5400rpm....
Essentially, unlike a ramdisk, your OS/Apps is actually being cached.
With a ramdisk, your essentially only telling a couple of apps to write/read to it, with the fancy cache method, all OS/App writes are written to ram, then written to disk later. Also allot of files are read from the cache instead of your hard disk sequentially in consistent chunks.

From my experiments so far, it also speeds up 'real world' write speeds of my x25-m raid 0, as they are:
a) writing data equal to the stripe size. So each ssd get's given 128kb to write from fancy cache, also the raid controller likes the bite-size chunks that it doesn't have to split or need to do added calculations.

Note:
If I set fancy cache to write 256k chunks to my ssd's, it actually slows them down.

b) The writes are consistent in size, and fit nicely within the memory blocks on my ssd's.
An Exception is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2011, 01:00   #11
An Exception
Soldato
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 6,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Subliminal Aura View Post
Seems like I've visited superseed before - can't remember

I'll have to revisit the idea of creating a hybrid system. Anyway L2 is what's very interesting with this product - L1 is nothing new.

Thanks for pushing me into looking at this again



Not really - but same principle.

Think of it as a ramdisk with a live passthrough to the physical disk
Another program that kind of did a similar thing was 'mft'. but you couldn't use it on your boot volume, and it slowed down sequential speeds.
Also it was tricky to back up partitions if you were using it.
It was generally used to solve the stuttering problems with J-micron ssd controllers.
An Exception is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2011, 12:39   #12
Zarf
Mobster
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,527
Looks very Interesting, cheers
Zarf is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2011, 21:06   #13
DanF
Mobster
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: London
Posts: 3,228
This thing is really cool, I've been using it for a couple of games I've had to install on a 1tb drive that wouldn't fit on my SSD. It's made a massive difference to STO where it looks like it's getting a 48% cache hit rate after 2 hours gaming making it really bloody fast

I've set it up with 2gb ram with read cache only on a 1tb samsung drive. 5.68gb read, 2.77gb cache hit for 48%.
DanF is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Feb 2011, 08:06   #14
The Asgard
Soldato
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Aboard the Biliskner
Posts: 5,217
Personally I wouldn't trust any program that uses large amounts of ram to buffer writes. What happens if the power goes off while it flushes the write buffer. Throw an overclocked system that's on the edge into the mix ...... Worst case corrupt files and a trashed OS.


ZR30W | Custom Water | 4790K | Ranger VII | Titan | 840Pro
The Asgard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Feb 2011, 11:24   #15
OrphanBoy
Hitman
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Laaaandan
Posts: 641
Doesn't Windows do this already? By default doesn't it suck up all your spare RAM as a write-through cache - eg in the task manager for me under physical memory it says that 3.8 GB is being used as cached for me.
And if you select the "turn off Windows write-cache buffer flushing" check box in the device manager, won't it be exactly the same as this app? I'm confused!

2x Xeon E5530@2.4GHz, GTX 275, 12Gb DDR3, 53" of TFTs
i5 750@ 3.6GHz, Asus P7P55D Pro, 4x2048 DDR3, XFX 6870, BenQ 24", 120GB Vertex 2
13.3" Dell XPS M1330 T8100@2.1GHz, 6Gb, 8400M GS, 120GB Vertex 2
OrphanBoy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Feb 2011, 14:25   #16
boosfuk
Hitman
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 631
Been looking at this for making a hybrid drive for applications/data out of a 1TB 7200 + 60GB SSD. Does improve performance but is of reduced use as it does not yet preserve L2 cache on the SSD over reboots (it is planned though).
An alternative is to use a chip based hybrid solution such as in the latest deluxe sandy bridge boards or the imminent add-on Highpoint RocketHybrid cards.
boosfuk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Feb 2011, 19:58   #17
jakspyder
Mobster
 
jakspyder's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 2,835
How much RAM is recommended for this sort of thing? Iv got 6 gig atm would giving 1 or perhaps 2 gigs over to this leaving 4-5 gigs left be ok or what? What sort of ratios should i be looking at.
jakspyder is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Feb 2011, 01:12   #18
An Exception
Soldato
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 6,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Asgard View Post
Personally I wouldn't trust any program that uses large amounts of ram to buffer writes. What happens if the power goes off while it flushes the write buffer. Throw an overclocked system that's on the edge into the mix ...... Worst case corrupt files and a trashed OS.
This happened on my laptop when it ran out of battery without using fancy cache.

Also, an overclock is pointless if it isn't 100% stable.
An Exception is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2011, 16:44   #19
Zarf
Mobster
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,527
Working well for me, a 5minute flush timer is saving me about 3GB writes a day on my laptop, and I'm getting a 30% cache hit rate. This is with a mere 800MB allocated for L1 cache (laptop only has 3GB RAM :/ ) Would be doing even better with a larger cache, as you can tell from the (Writes deferred, Urgent) stat.


On my Gaming desktop with 2GB (out of 8GB total) cache I'm doing really well.
Zarf is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Mar 2011, 09:24   #20
Subliminal Aura
Soldato
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: London
Posts: 6,737
I thought I'd finally give this a try and am not getting any caching at all !

Tried switch superfetch on and off but still no dice.

Win 7 64bit ultimate.

Any tips guys ?

| Bang per buck
| i7 2600+4 | 16gb | Z68 Xtreme4 with 12.6 O-ROM | VT-d
| 840pros RAID0 TRIM | non K Overclock | HTPC Build
Subliminal Aura is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:23.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)