Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > General Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th Mar 2011, 06:17   #1
Purgatory
Mobster
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,816
BlackGold’s BGT3620 dual-tuner Freeview HD card

All that have been waiting to update their PC tuners to freeview HD.. Enjoy seems the wish finally came true... it also comes with half- and full-height PCI brackets.


http://www.pcpro.co.uk/reviews/tv-tu...ckgold-bgt3620


OCUK any chance of getting any of these in stock ? I wouldn't mind 1 or 2..

|FD Define XL|Intel i7-5930K @4.8Ghz|ASUS TUF X99 Sabertooth|32GB Corsair DDR4-2800 @1.2v|EVGA 980Ti CLASSIFIED|X-Fi Titanium-Fatal1ty Pro|2 x 850 Pro 1TB SSD|WD Black 6TB + 4TB + 2TB + WD Green 6TB|TX 750W|Logitech MX 1100 ,Illuminated KB,G940 Flight System & Z-5500|AOC U3477PQU|NP700G7A-S02UK|
Purgatory is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 14:35   #2
Liquid
Hitman
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 923
I really like that bit of kit, would it be possible to use it without using media center, any software alternative?
Liquid is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 14:51   #3
powelly2010
Mobster
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,503
do want , also the gold goes with my xonar d2

Lian-Li PC-V359WRX, Maximus VIII Gene,
I5 6600K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB Avexir Red @2400MHz,
SuperFlower Gold 1300W, 120GB SSD / 1TB HDD,
H100iGTX, Gigabyte GTX 970 Xtreme Gaming
powelly2010 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 15:12   #4
mufcmark
Hitman
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 590
I wouldn't be able to get any form of freeview until 2012
mufcmark is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 15:21   #5
justintime2001
Hitman
 
justintime2001's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 902
I'd buy one if the price is right

justintime2001 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 15:55   #6
DIABLO
Mobster
 
DIABLO's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: N.Devon
Posts: 4,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquid View Post
I really like that bit of kit, would it be possible to use it without using media center, any software alternative?
Tuners usually come with their own software but it's generally crap. Why not use Media Center if you running windows? as it's by far the slickest tuner software.
DIABLO is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 17:03   #7
Liquid
Hitman
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 923
tbh I dont like it, I use Mediaportal for my htpc but I would be installing the card for my lab/shed and would rather have a program than an entire front end if you know what I mean..

Never utilised a tv tuner for the htpc mainly because I have my own archive and don't need telly on the htpc.

Maybe I should look into media center again.

I mainly want it for f1 hd this season

I note that Hauppaugge or however it's spelt lol have a usb version out as well, I know the BlackGold stuff is very good, how does it compare?
Last edited by Liquid; 26th Mar 2011 at 17:07.
Liquid is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 20:17   #8
Lunatic Dreyfus
Mobster
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Returning video tapes
Posts: 4,094
I'm glad these have finally started appearing, but I must continue to resist the urge to go ape and start my dream HTPC project. More important places for the money to go first.

But it's such a tease.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DIABLO View Post
Tuners usually come with their own software but it's generally crap. Why not use Media Center if you running windows? as it's by far the slickest tuner software.
I have to admit that Media Center is pretty fine. This took me by surprise when I started using it for Freeview recording and the like. It was far superior to my old 'set top box'.
Lunatic Dreyfus is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 20:37   #9
k3v
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: NE Derbyshire
Posts: 1,168
I bought one is these in December before I realised my tv area isn't switching over to t2 until later in the year! it comes in a nice box and is tiny, lovely bit of kit, shame I cant use it fully yet.

k3v is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 21:30   #10
ArchAnGeL
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,512
I can't comment on frview HD but I have a tv card in mediaportal and it workf flawlessley. The added benefit is that you need to set it up as a tv server. That means any other mediaportal client on networked computers can access it. So my htpc with tv card is in the living room but I can watch and control the tv stream from it on my bedroom pc if I also install mediaportal on it.

ArchAnGeL is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 21:34   #11
alex24
Capodecina
 
alex24's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Wickford, UK
Posts: 10,650
I want one of these for F1, if nothing else!

Too dear for me still though.

alex24 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 22:21   #12
Tealc
Soldato
 
Tealc's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Neath and Swansea
Posts: 6,709
The Hauppage/PCTV 290e USB DVB-T2 device is perfectly adequate for HD and costs half of the Blackgold. It's only got one tuner but then F1 is only on one channel at a time.

My Windows Media Center woke up my PC at 5am this morning and my 290e recorded the F1 while I slept and then I timeshifted when I got up at 7am.

Tealc is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 22:27   #13
alex24
Capodecina
 
alex24's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Wickford, UK
Posts: 10,650
@Tealc

Thanks for that, would sit nicely along with my dual-DVB-T card inside the machine. Still a pretty big outlay for a single tuner device though! Can see it for £55, which is more or less the same as my Compro E700. Hopefully as stock finally grows, prices will come down a tad more. Still think I might treat myself!

What programmes are people really using these to watch besides the F1? Also, what HD channels are currently available on DVB-T2, and any more incoming?

alex24 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 22:34   #14
Tealc
Soldato
 
Tealc's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Neath and Swansea
Posts: 6,709
BBC one HD, BBC HD, ITV1 HD and channel 4 HD (or the welsh channel for me). Quite limited I guess compared to satellite options. Not sure if more are planned but to be honest tge other channels are pants anyway.

I use it for F1, Top Gear and anything which we watch on normal channels covered by T2. Don't watch much really. I pipe it via hdmi from my pc. Don't have a htpc.

Tealc is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 22:37   #15
DragonQ
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,851
One more channel is planned in the next few years but they can't really fit more than 4 on a multiplex as it is. Presumably one of the other 5 multiplexes will convert to DVB-T2 at some point to provide extra HD channels (at the expense of SD ones).

Xeon X5650 @ 4.0 GHz, Noctua NH-U12P, Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Sapphire Radeon R9 270 (2 GB) @ 1000/1450 MHz
20 GB RAM @ 1600 MHz, NEC 24WGMX3 (1920x1200)
Dominator CM-690, Pioneer BDR-205, Crucial BX100 250 GB
DragonQ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 22:37   #16
alex24
Capodecina
 
alex24's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Wickford, UK
Posts: 10,650
Still covers most of the channels I watch, nice.

We're not allowed dishes where I live, so Freeview is really the only option for HD. There is Virgin Media as well, but I have other issues with them and the price is thoroughly uncompetitive as I'm unable to take their phone service.

alex24 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2011, 22:38   #17
alex24
Capodecina
 
alex24's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Wickford, UK
Posts: 10,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonQ View Post
One more channel is planned in the next few years but they can't really fit more than 4 on a multiplex as it is. Presumably one of the other 5 multiplexes will convert to DVB-T2 at some point to provide extra HD channels (at the expense of SD ones).
Yeah I realised this was always going to be a problem with DVB-T2. The satellite option does look better (and will probably win out in the end because of this) but it's by far the cheapest way to get HD. That said, there are a lot of useless channels on freeview, a bit of a cull might be a good thing!

alex24 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Mar 2011, 09:21   #18
Confused
Sgarrista
 
Confused's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 8,002
I just ordered one this morning.

The tuner in my TV is knackered, so I had to make do with iPlayer's live streaming of the F1 via my HTPC - the quality was shocking

So - hopefully by the next GP I should have a nice twin-HD tuner in my HTPC


| Mitsubishi Legnum VR-4 | Ford Anglia | i5-3570k, Z77, 16GB, 2x HD7950 |
Confused is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Apr 2011, 13:14   #19
jonneymendoza
Capodecina
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 10,375
ordering one now as well
jonneymendoza is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2011, 13:06   #20
beninfluence
Associate
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 29
Have the people who ordered these got any more thoughts on them yet?
I've not got any experience of TV cards, but was thinking of getting one and using it as my main TV upstairs (system as sig).
Would this work ok? Would this be ok as a main TV?

Please read the FAQ regarding signature sizes
beninfluence is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2011, 14:09   #21
olivier renault
Sgarrista
 
olivier renault's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,499
No software, driver install and update is manual and fiddly. No docs, all info required on the website and very straight forward.

Works great with Media Center, not much to say about picture quality, not a specialist but it looks great. Not really in a area to comment about HD. Love the Dual tuner.

Feels much higher quality and much less flaky than my previous USB TV Stick. Comes in a posh black and gold box. Was tricky to fit in the case, had to bend the backplate a bit.

No issues really. Does exactly what it says. Lightweight (no software junk), no CPU strain, great for the enthusiast. Not bad value considering it saved me buying a TV

Need to buy a Media Center remote though. It's OK as a TV, but not exactly a social experience

6700K@Stock - Z170 Pro Gaming - HyperX Fury 16GB - Dark Rock 3
980ti ACX2 - Sammy 850 500GB - Tosh 3TB - M4 128GB - R5 - P2/850W
DS213+ 2x3TB WD30EFRX - FM2015 - QuickFire TK - 2420TX - 2407WFP.
Last edited by olivier renault; 22nd May 2011 at 14:14.
olivier renault is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Aug 2011, 07:41   #22
ratemal
Associate
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Quote:
I can't comment on frview HD but I have a tv card in mediaportal and it workf flawlessley. The added benefit is that you need to set it up as a tv server. That means any other mediaportal client on networked computers can access it. So my htpc with tv card is in the living room but I can watch and control the tv stream from it on my bedroom pc if I also install mediaportal on it.
Mediaportal is cool
ratemal is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:19.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)