Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Graphics Cards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th Jan 2012, 15:13   #181
easyrider
Caporegime
 
easyrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Here there and everywhere
Posts: 30,663
So thrse will be 350 ?

easyrider is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2012, 15:50   #182
Monkeyspaz5000
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Scottish Borders - UK
Posts: 1,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by easyrider View Post
So thrse will be 350 ?
Ish

Monkeyspaz5000 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2012, 15:52   #183
Gibbo
Commissario
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 21,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhavv View Post
Where are the MSI TF3's at?

That stock fan looks like pure garbage, Sapphire are actually releasing a sweet custom design first this time.
Those sweet cards are in our pyramid. Look closely and you will see two different Sapphire cards, but you have to look hard at the pyramid pictures to spot the difference.

Gibbo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2012, 16:17   #184
Parge
Associate
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
This is just awesome! If I upgrade to a 30" panel, I'm going to need a lil more grunt. Defo going for the 3GB version.
Parge is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2012, 16:20   #185
Gibbo
Commissario
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 21,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parge View Post
This is just awesome! If I upgrade to a 30" panel, I'm going to need a lil more grunt. Defo going for the 3GB version.
EPIC 30" deals at OcUK on offer at the moment.

Gibbo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2012, 16:31   #186
insejn
Gangster
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 296
What a salesman Hat's off to you sir Gibbo.

i7 920 @ 3.20GHz w/ Noctua | 6GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
OCZ Vertex 2 120GB + WD 2TB | MSI 6950 TwinF III @ 895/1390 | BenQ 24"
insejn is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jan 2012, 11:53   #187
BaNksY IV
Hitman
 
BaNksY IV's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 768
FAO Gibbo

Is your 7950 still running ASUS 7970 bios ok?
No signs of any problems?
Is there a bios switch or do you just have to hope n pray it doesnt brick?

Ta muchly

BaNksY IV is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jan 2012, 00:50   #188
Jasonst888
Hitman
 
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 830
Also to add to the list of Q's from Banksy, did the bios flash work on only the one card or did you test it on any others? Just trying to get an early feel for success rates :P
Jasonst888 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jan 2012, 00:54   #189
Helios1234
Soldato
 
Helios1234's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: London/Camberley
Posts: 6,188
BIOS flashes are pretty safe if the two cards are based on the same GPU with the same memory clocks and timings. The only thing that BIOS flashing does to the HD7950 aside from increasing the clock speeds is to increase the PowerTune TDP limit and voltages to the HD7970s' level so it can overclock further. It won't unlock shaders.

Helios1234 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jan 2012, 07:31   #190
Scooby-DoobyDoo
Hitman
 
Scooby-DoobyDoo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 951
I've just put the figures in a little spreadsheet to make a quick comparison:


Scooby
Scooby-DoobyDoo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jan 2012, 13:36   #191
elrasho
Mobster
 
elrasho's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby-DoobyDoo View Post
I've just put the figures in a little spreadsheet to make a quick comparison:

Shows the 7950 is a great value card. Unfortunately for 350 it's out of my price range. My max budget is 250 and even then it has be something quite special. On the plus side there aren't any games I can't play with CF 5850s so I'm kinda good to go for another year I'd say, by that time 7950's will be cheaper and I'll buy two

elrasho is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jan 2012, 01:30   #192
FMTopfan
Wise Guy
 
FMTopfan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angst View Post
i'm limited to a 9.5" card in my case.
Even the full tower cases (such as the 800D) looks small-ish inside once you consider a couple of these or 7970 at 11" so I can understand the annoyance if your limited to mATX/ATX.

For example, the massive 5970 at 12.2" leaves 2" between the GPU and the 90* Sata cables (that's without the plastic 800D HDD cover on!). Without 90* cables I'd be looking at the cables coming within only 2cm of the exhaust fans.

OhMightyGibbo: Why doesn't OcUK state GPU sizes in the specifications?
OcUK should be stating the size of the GPU (moreso for non-referrence design / with aftermarket coolers once they start arriving). Saves confusion for those who don't keep up-to-date with GPU from having to Google them or finding out through this forum as we've seen to date. Your information on products is just about right and to the point without confusing people therefor adding a single line at the end won't spoil this. Other than that everythings fine


Quote:
Originally Posted by oweneades View Post
...

My HD7970 overclocked to 1125/6600 pulls 58.8FPS at 1080p Ultra settings with 4xAA (deferred) applied in game.


The HD6970 is utterly crippled by deferred AA in BF3. At this setting my HD7970 is around 60-80% faster than my old HD6970.
Bar the massive buffer memory, this would be why I'd upgrade cos I love plenty of AA. I even have a dollop of AA on my toast in the morning!

4930K@4.7GHz // RIVBE // 980Ti Gaming SLI (69% ASIC) // 2x2TB SSD's + 2x 4TB HDD's // 32GB DDR3 2400MHz // Asus Swift 27"
If it's important you'll find a way. If not you'll find an excuse.
FMTopfan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2012, 12:40   #193
wolvers
Soldato
 
wolvers's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: In........cognito
Posts: 5,145
So can you update the first post now with the clock speeds you achieved?

wolvers is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 1st Feb 2012, 00:13   #194
Scooby-DoobyDoo
Hitman
 
Scooby-DoobyDoo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gibbo View Post
All the 7950's have dual BIOS.

You can flash them to 7970 BIOS and you will get the jump in clock speeds and they all do it with ease.

BUT THE SHADERS DO NOT UNLOCK!
Can you reveal the clocks you were benching with?

Scooby
Scooby-DoobyDoo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 1st Feb 2012, 00:58   #195
dave_beast
Soldato
 
dave_beast's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: London
Posts: 5,233
Gibbo's original post

AMD 7950 Stock (810MHz Core / 5000MHz Memory) - 1680*1050




AMD 7950 Maxed on Overdrive (1025MHz Core / 6300MHz Memory)




AMD 7950 Maxed OC on Asus OC BIOS (1180MHz Core / 7200MHz Memory)


The card sampled reached 1180MHz on the core by flashing with an ASUS 7970 BIOS capable of greater voltage, and over 1000MHz with the stock 7950 BIOS. As with the 7970, this represents a huge overclock vs. the stock clock of 810MHz. Flashing the 7950 with a 7970 BIOS did not unlock any additional shaders.

Some odd Heaven results here:-

7950 @ 925MHz / 5500MHz = 1504 points
7950 on 7970 BIOS @ 925MHz / 5500MHz = 1545 points
7970 @ Stock (925/5500) = 1584 points

So even though according to GPU-Z the shaders are not unlocking, flashing to the Asus 7970 BIOS is definitely giving a performance boost, though its not quite at genuine 7970 performance levels, kind of like half way from the results.

So either some shaders are unlocking or the 7970 BIOS is making other improvements, maybe memory timings etc. which is giving the boost.

Still flashing the BIOS is so easy anyway and it would appear the 7970 BIOS is giving some performance enhancement even when clock speeds are identical.


AMD 7950 Maxed OC on Asus OC BIOS (1180MHz Core / 7200MHz Memory)




AMD 7970 Maxed OC on Asus OC BIOS (1225MHz Core / 7800MHz Memory)



NVIDIA GTX 580 3GB OC (902MHz Core / 4355MHz Memory)


Last edited by dave_beast; 2nd Feb 2012 at 11:49.
dave_beast is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2012, 03:04   #196
FMTopfan
Wise Guy
 
FMTopfan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,033
@dave_beast

Whoa, de ja vu - don't get why your posting duplicate mass-benchmark-info without credit from Gibbo's post on initial page here dated 23rd January 2012??

4930K@4.7GHz // RIVBE // 980Ti Gaming SLI (69% ASIC) // 2x2TB SSD's + 2x 4TB HDD's // 32GB DDR3 2400MHz // Asus Swift 27"
If it's important you'll find a way. If not you'll find an excuse.
FMTopfan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2012, 03:21   #197
cainer
Capodecina
 
cainer's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 10,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMTopfan View Post
@dave_beast

Whoa, de ja vu - don't get why your posting duplicate mass-benchmark-info without credit from Gibbo's post on initial page here dated 23rd January 2012??
yeah i got 1/2 way through and thought it looked familiar

regarding signature sizes.. Please read the FAQ
cainer is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2012, 07:08   #198
Scooby-DoobyDoo
Hitman
 
Scooby-DoobyDoo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 951
He has put the clock rates in.

Scooby
Scooby-DoobyDoo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2012, 11:48   #199
dave_beast
Soldato
 
dave_beast's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: London
Posts: 5,233
Derp, it was Gibbo original post that was stolen on Overclock.net by some Aussie guy, copied back here after NDA lifted.

dave_beast is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2012, 16:43   #200
FMTopfan
Wise Guy
 
FMTopfan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby-DoobyDoo View Post
He has put the clock rates in.
I thought it was quite a bit of work he put in Scooby. The point was dave_beast posted them without giving credit as anyone new to the later posts wouldn't be any wiser. Thanks for changing that now dave_beast and giving credit

Best to avoid duplication when/if Gibbo could have changed the expired NDA-clocks to their correct amounts - not sure how long it's going to stay like that on initial page.

Btw, I was well aware of the poster on that forum pinching Gibbo's post soon after and he was rightly told in the next post where it originated from by another member. Not accusing you of pinching it like that whatsoever, simply needed OP credit at the top to avoid any confusion - just clearing that up Back to topic...

4930K@4.7GHz // RIVBE // 980Ti Gaming SLI (69% ASIC) // 2x2TB SSD's + 2x 4TB HDD's // 32GB DDR3 2400MHz // Asus Swift 27"
If it's important you'll find a way. If not you'll find an excuse.
FMTopfan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2012, 16:54   #201
Orcvader
Capodecina
 
Orcvader's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 11,541
How easy can these reach 1ghz on core? Can't find out myself yet since I won't be back on my desktop till Sunday.

And I think I might have a Sapphire 7950 that's been opened, doesn't bother me that much, but was it used for the benchmarking?

Orcvader is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2012, 20:34   #202
Craig_81
Associate
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Bolton
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orcvader View Post
How easy can these reach 1ghz on core? Can't find out myself yet since I won't be back on my desktop till Sunday.

And I think I might have a Sapphire 7950 that's been opened, doesn't bother me that much, but was it used for the benchmarking?
Very easy, got mine today and I'm really happy so far
Max temp: 71 Degrees C @ stock voltage.




_____________________________________
Fractal design XL|i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz|P67A-GD65|G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB|Corsair TX 850W V2|Noctua NH-D14|Powercolor HD 7950 PCS+|
Last edited by Craig_81; 2nd Feb 2012 at 21:21.
Craig_81 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2012, 20:40   #203
mrbios
Capodecina
 
mrbios's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Engerland
Posts: 15,625
Just done some testing:

GTX580 1.5gb @ stock using the unigine benchmark thread settings

AMD 7950 @ stock using the unigine benchmark thread settings

AMD 7950 @ 1025/6300 using the unigine benchmark thread settings


Pretty pleased

Rest of the system:
i5 2500k @ currently at stock
Asus p8p67
8GB ram
Vertex 3

EDIT: how come CCC only allows you to go to 1025/6300 when 1200 core and 6400 mem are available? (ccc throws a complete hissy fit if you try setting it above that)

mrbios is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2012, 10:12   #204
soulrider4ever
Associate
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
can someone link me to the flashing tool that is used to try this bios on a 7950? I have a 7950 that is begging to get flashed, I just don't have the software.
soulrider4ever is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2012, 10:35   #205
wolvers
Soldato
 
wolvers's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: In........cognito
Posts: 5,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbios View Post
EDIT: how come CCC only allows you to go to 1025/6300 when 1200 core and 6400 mem are available? (ccc throws a complete hissy fit if you try setting it above that)
It's locked in the bios.............mrbios

wolvers is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2012, 11:24   #206
JamesM
Soldato
 
JamesM's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Sutton Coldfield
Posts: 6,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolvers View Post
It's locked in the bios.............mrbios
You'd think he'd know this wouldn't you

Get flashing it Bios!

i5 4690k ASUS M7 Ranger Asus 960 16GB G.Skill TridentX 2400 SuperFlower 1000W Plat
JamesM is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2012, 11:30   #207
mrbios
Capodecina
 
mrbios's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Engerland
Posts: 15,625


I shall flash it once i know that others with the same card have done

mrbios is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2012, 11:54   #208
Menty
Hitman
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Tipton
Posts: 543
It's a nice little boost just using CCC then
Menty is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2012, 03:17   #209
soulrider4ever
Associate
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
I want to flash my 7950, anyone care to share the bios used to get this perfomance?
soulrider4ever is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2012, 03:21   #210
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 22,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbios View Post


I shall flash it once i know that others with the same card have done
I have.
But I'm back on the stock PCS+ BIOS right now.
Martini1991 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:26.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)