Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Monitors

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th May 2012, 16:57   #1
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,133
Nvidia 3D Vision hack for 120HZ Active 3D Monitors

Here's a guide for using the 3D Vision hack with Nvidia GPU's on 120HZ Active monitors.

I've copied some bits from two guides, but most of it is written, fresh links provided etc.

Should be clear and concise compared to what I'd read.

I've copied and pasted bits from another guide in two parts as it's better than typing bits, but it'll work.

1.) Download and install the latest Nvidia drivers.

2.) You need to disable Windows from fetching drivers from windows update else it will download drivers you don't want and won't work (System > Advanced System Settings > Hardware > Device Installation Settings > Never install driver software from Windows Update)

3.) Download http://kostasoft.com/downloads/3Dvision.zip and install DSF-KitSetup make the .bat of init_x64 a .txt (Or open in notepad) and remove this line /i /s from it, do remember to make it a .bat afterwards.

4.) Run the init_x64.bat file

5.) run the enablestereo.bat ; You'll notice it tries to install a driver and fails so you then download nvidia drivers version 285.62, extract them to desktop and cancel the installation.

6.) Go into device manager and find NVIDIA steroscopic 3d usb controller, right click and update driver software > browse my computer for driver software > Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer > Have Disk... > Browse to "C:\nvidia\DisplayDriver\285.62\WinVista_Win7_ 64\E nglish\NV3DVisionUSB.Driver" (alter as appropiate if you selected to extract the driver files somewhere else). Let it install those drivers which it should do successfully.

7.) Download this inf http://3dvision-blog.com/forum/download/file.php?id=122 and install it in a similar fashion to the Nvidia 3D Vision USB Driver

8.) Restart your PC

9.) Run enablestereo.bat

10.) Go into Nvidia Control panel, you should see your monitor is 3D Vision enabled, to see the 3D effects you'll need to run your monitor in "Frame Sequential"

That's how I did it.

EDIT : There may be some issues when you're running 6XX GPU's while you're running the emulator so your results may vary, using my GTX680 with the above guide, I encountered an issue where Firefox would hang slightly when opening a fresh window (Not tab) and changing resolution in Rome Total War (But changing in Hard Reset and Mass Effect 3 didn't seem to have any issue)
Last edited by Martini1991; 20th Aug 2012 at 22:41.
Martini1991 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2012, 17:36   #2
old gamer
Mobster
 
old gamer's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: bristol
Posts: 3,143
Should be stickyed, now nvidia users need not miss out on samsung lovelyness
old gamer is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2012, 17:37   #3
McDaniel
Capodecina
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Southend-on-Sea / Romford
Posts: 19,680
How is the performance though?

Xbox Live: McDan1el
McDaniel is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2012, 17:42   #4
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by McDaniel View Post
How is the performance though?
In the limited time I used in the performance in 3D was fine.
The emulator is a little annoying, while I never had any crashes, while it was running firefox hung a little upon opening, but there's not much reason to have the emulator running while browsing anyway.

The performance drop with 3D Vision certainly seems to be less than that of the 3D With Tridef and my 7970, but I find Tridef to handle 2D objects quite alot better.
Martini1991 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2012, 17:45   #5
melmac
Mobster
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,637
Nice write up Martini Plain and simple to understand, should be easy enough for anyone to follow.

The only thing I would add is that if you have a 6xx series card from Nvidia, ie any kepler card, then this isn't worth doing because it just doesn't work right at all. It's very buggy. But it does seem to work well for previous generation Nvidia cards.
melmac is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2012, 17:50   #6
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by melmac View Post
Nice write up Martini Plain and simple to understand, should be easy enough for anyone to follow.

The only thing I would add is that if you have a 6xx series card from Nvidia, ie any kepler card, then this isn't worth doing because it just doesn't work right at all. It's very buggy. But it does seem to work well for previous generation Nvidia cards.
The actual 3D I didn't find buggy.
Some other stuff was buggy though, like Firefox hanging slightly and changing resolution on Rome took a while, didn't have any crashes though, even Mass Effect 3 worked. Hard Reset etc.

Might be something to do with the EDID used?
Martini1991 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jun 2012, 16:59   #7
CivilDrone
Wise Guy
 
CivilDrone's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Heathrow
Posts: 1,239
I was able to spoof emitter and get to the configuration images, but i can't get it to work. Both images are the same and when i click next it says hardware test failed. Any ideas?

::i5-4570::16GB HyperX::B85M-ITX::
::240GB HyperX 3k::GTX970 SSC ::
::CoolerMaster V650S::Cougar QBX::
CivilDrone is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jun 2012, 12:17   #8
CivilDrone
Wise Guy
 
CivilDrone's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Heathrow
Posts: 1,239
How do i install monitor inf file? Please help

::i5-4570::16GB HyperX::B85M-ITX::
::240GB HyperX 3k::GTX970 SSC ::
::CoolerMaster V650S::Cougar QBX::
CivilDrone is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2012, 15:57   #9
Turambar
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,164
Can't get this to work using the latest Nvidia Drivers. 3D Vision setup won't detect the spoofed emitter.
Turambar is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2012, 16:19   #10
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turambar View Post
Can't get this to work using the latest Nvidia Drivers. 3D Vision setup won't detect the spoofed emitter.
Restarted PC and you're using the other inf?

I've been able to do a few times without fail now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CivilDrone View Post
How do i install monitor inf file? Please help
Device manager, manually install it.

EDIT : With over 600 views and so little comments, I'm going to assume a fair amount of people have been able to get it to work following
Last edited by Martini1991; 23rd Jun 2012 at 16:30.
Martini1991 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2012, 16:42   #11
Turambar
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martini1991 View Post
Restarted PC and you're using the other inf?

I've been able to do a few times without fail now.
Yep, done those. This machine is in need of a Windows re-install so I'll give it another go after that.
Turambar is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jul 2012, 08:33   #12
Twirlywoos
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 9,667
will this work with the Benq XL2420T monitor?
Twirlywoos is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jul 2012, 23:46   #13
jellofund
Gangster
 
jellofund's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by majnu View Post
will this work with the Benq XL2420T monitor?
Hi majnu,


The purpose of the hack is to let owners of Nvidia cards play in 3D (using 3D Vision rather than Tridef etc.) on a non-3D Vision ready 120Hz monitor e.g. the Samsung SA Series. As the XL2420T supports 3D Vision out of the box the hack isn't required.

The hack can't be used with AMD cards unfortunately, which I'm guessing is what you were wondering?
Last edited by jellofund; 2nd Jul 2012 at 23:51.
jellofund is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jul 2012, 18:35   #14
mbkuk1
Associate
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Nice find Looking into getting a Samsung 27'' SA750D Hope this Works with my gtx 680
mbkuk1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jul 2012, 18:44   #15
Rusty0611
Capodecina
 
Rusty0611's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Peterborough
Posts: 14,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by majnu View Post
will this work with the Benq XL2420T monitor?
If you have a nVidia card you don't need to - it's native.

PS4 :/
Rusty0611 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jul 2012, 22:45   #16
jellofund
Gangster
 
jellofund's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty0611 View Post
If you have a nVidia card you don't need to - it's native.
Pretty sure majnu has a couple of 7850s so neither the hack nor this monitor would be much use to him from a 3D gaming p.o.v.

As you say there're no such headaches with Nvidia cards though.
jellofund is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:52.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)