Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Overclocking & Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th Aug 2013, 13:18   #31
85256638
Gangster
 
85256638's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 119
very tempting to get this CPU, comparing with I5 2500K? wichi one is better for gaming?

Intel Xeon L5639
EVGA X58 SR2
SAMSUNG 16GB 2133Mhz
Nvidia GTX480SLI
85256638 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Aug 2013, 13:25   #32
teppic
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Warks
Posts: 4,891
It depends entirely on the games you play. A lot of the time it makes no real difference and they both give great results, but there are some older games where the 2500K is much better (mainly WoW and RTS games, not really with FPS games).

i7 4770K | Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | Patriot Viper 16gb | Be Quiet Dark Rock Pro 2 | Asus GTX 780 OC | Seasonic X760 | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
teppic is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 16th Aug 2013, 18:32   #33
GavinG
Gangster
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: N Ireland
Posts: 119
Think i cracked it! Can you have a look and see if temps, voltage etc are within limits?

I saved the default settings on a profile just in case and then tucked my balls into my pockets and tweeked the power saving options etc to disable Cool and quiet, boost and a couple other things i cant quite remember, that i was afraid to touch. lol It's now at a steady 4.2 with no drops in speed or voltage.

I will keep an eye on it just in case, how long would you recommend i stress test for, i have been going for about 50mins so far?


Please read the FAQ regarding signatures
GavinG is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2013, 17:56   #34
X3T
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 271
Looks good to me. I would download CoreTemp to monitor temps, as I know this reports the correct core temperatures for AMD (rather than the socket temps.)

I only stress tested my overclock for about an hour, then I couldn't be bothered anymore Been using it for a couple of months and had no issues at all.

I'm of the opinion that an overclock can still be considered stable (enough) even if it fails a stress test like Prime95 after an hour or so, as this is an unrealistically high usage of the CPU for most people. Of course a successful stress test guarantees stability, so it's for your own peace of mind really.

FX 9590 // 290X // Ballistix Tracer 14900C9 8GB
(Soon) i7-5820K // Fury X Crossfire // Ballistix Elite 21300C16 16GB
X3T is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2013, 17:58   #35
teppic
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Warks
Posts: 4,891
4.2GHz is a very gentle overclock on the 8320, though I can't understand how you were throttling at stock, but not on an overclock?

i7 4770K | Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | Patriot Viper 16gb | Be Quiet Dark Rock Pro 2 | Asus GTX 780 OC | Seasonic X760 | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
teppic is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2013, 19:12   #36
X3T
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by teppic View Post
4.2GHz is a very gentle overclock on the 8320, though I can't understand how you were throttling at stock, but not on an overclock?
I think it was because he had CnQ enabled - it wasn't throttling but very quickly adjusting the frequency based on the load. I have the same thing when I enable CnQ; the frequency jumps all over the place.

FX 9590 // 290X // Ballistix Tracer 14900C9 8GB
(Soon) i7-5820K // Fury X Crossfire // Ballistix Elite 21300C16 16GB
X3T is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2013, 19:15   #37
teppic
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Warks
Posts: 4,891
Yeah I suggested he disable CnQ but I'm surprised it made a difference really. I prefer the idea of the system clocking down at idle.

i7 4770K | Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | Patriot Viper 16gb | Be Quiet Dark Rock Pro 2 | Asus GTX 780 OC | Seasonic X760 | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
teppic is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2013, 10:34   #38
GavinG
Gangster
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: N Ireland
Posts: 119
Question

Hey folks,
I have 2 things that hopefully you can help with.

1) Can you check these settings and see i have everything i need disabled etc that i need to overclock?



2) When i try to overclock to 4.4 i get blue screen crashes, i assume this is because i don't have enough voltage? However if i try and find CPU Voltage it's got weird numbers that range from +0.775 to -0.800, which i can go up or down in 0.025 bumps. I also have the option of Auto and Normal. Can anyone help with what this should be? Am i looking at the right option to change voltage?



Please read the FAQ regarding signatures
GavinG is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2013, 20:46   #39
GavinG
Gangster
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: N Ireland
Posts: 119
Any advice peeps?

Please read the FAQ regarding signatures
GavinG is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2013, 22:26   #40
teppic
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Warks
Posts: 4,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by GavinG View Post
Any advice peeps?
Does your BIOS show you what the vcore is set to? If it's say 1.30v then select +0.05v to set it to 1.35v, etc.

i7 4770K | Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | Patriot Viper 16gb | Be Quiet Dark Rock Pro 2 | Asus GTX 780 OC | Seasonic X760 | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
teppic is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2013, 15:12   #41
Avenged7Fold
Soldato
 
Avenged7Fold's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 6,244
Weird it was CnQ. I always thought under load it wouldn't bother clocking down as long as temps were reasonable.
Avenged7Fold is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2013, 15:15   #42
Avenged7Fold
Soldato
 
Avenged7Fold's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 6,244
Definitely set your Vcore, rather than having it on auto. To get higher multipliers stable, bump up the voltage a tad and try again whilst keeping an eye on temperatures.
Avenged7Fold is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2013, 19:16   #43
mnc fear
Gangster
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 398
I like the post above which says the 2500 and 8320 are good for some games and not great at others

I buy AMD and they get hammered in WOW

Ohh yes that's my most played game!
Figures...
mnc fear is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2013, 22:18   #44
GavinG
Gangster
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: N Ireland
Posts: 119
Hmmm i've tried loads of settings this evening I think my cooler isn't good enough, anything over 4.3 is getting too hot 62+, (it's not bios crashing but 62 is getting to hot?) i've tried taking down the volts on a higher multplier to keep temps below 62 but then the computer is freezing so do you think I have reached MAX speed on my current cooler?

Please read the FAQ regarding signatures
GavinG is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2013, 22:38   #45
teppic
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Warks
Posts: 4,891
What voltage are you using?

i7 4770K | Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | Patriot Viper 16gb | Be Quiet Dark Rock Pro 2 | Asus GTX 780 OC | Seasonic X760 | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
teppic is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Aug 2013, 06:14   #46
GavinG
Gangster
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: N Ireland
Posts: 119
Im at work now but from what I remember it's 1.320-1.395 depending on what I put in the cpu vcore adder

Please read the FAQ regarding signatures
GavinG is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Aug 2013, 10:22   #47
teppic
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Warks
Posts: 4,891
It may be your cooler, temps are quite high.

People can get 60C with higher clocks/voltages than that.

i7 4770K | Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | Patriot Viper 16gb | Be Quiet Dark Rock Pro 2 | Asus GTX 780 OC | Seasonic X760 | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
teppic is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2013, 07:27   #48
Swordfish125
Gangster
 
Swordfish125's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 351
Hi Gavin

Just to update you from my post, currently have 4.4ghz stable for an hour @ 1.344v, temps are creeping to a max 59, but generally around 55. Will try and get some screens for you with my settings.
Swordfish125 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2013, 09:26   #49
GavinG
Gangster
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: N Ireland
Posts: 119
That would be great swordfish

Please read the FAQ regarding signatures
GavinG is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:25.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)