Should I be concerned? Exchange 2010 config

Soldato
I think this is a rhetorical question... Am now overseeing the company IT instead of just being on the fringe. I've spent a few hours seeing what I have. I've fixed a large number of DNS and DHCP issues that date back to when the main servers were 2003 and were upgraded to 2008.

Had a bit of a look at exchange (of which I have zero experience):

173GB Mailbox database (See query below).
Circular logging enabled
Logs and database are on the same R5 array (in the same directory a well...)
Backup Exec only runs on the above directory monthly. Windows server backup is not configured and I can't see any other backup software.

We do have mailmarshall which copies all email except internal to internal mailbox and that is backed up daily.

Am I right in saying that with about 20 log files, none older than about 15 minutes on a quiet Saturday - we are in a VERY dangerous position?

The server exchange is running on has 8 bays, all filled, with a single R5 array, and about 250GB free. We have had issues a few years back with running very low on disk space which may be why circular logging has been enabled?

Could I have missed something - is there a built in backup for exchange that may be doing it's bit somewhere? Any suggestions where to look?

Assuming I've not missed something, what's the best plan of attack? I'm thinking:

Backup the database and logs (?) nightly as a separate job.
Switch off circular logging - how does exchange know that a backup has been taken to clear the logs or is that a manual task?
How much disk space should I allow for for the 173GB database?
Shout very loudly at the consultants who haven't mentioned this issue...

Caporegime
VSS-aware backup will handle telling Exchange that it's backed up, so you don't need to worry about that.