Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Case Central

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th Jul 2007, 07:29   #1
DeadMan
Wise Guy
 
DeadMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,459
Antec 900 Slimline DVD mod

Slimline DVD/RW mod:




DeadMan
DeadMan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jul 2007, 07:34   #2
wellibob
Mobster
 
wellibob's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Northamptonshire
Posts: 2,951
Effective, now can u put in another rom at the top ?
wellibob is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jul 2007, 07:45   #3
DeadMan
Wise Guy
 
DeadMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by wellibob
Effective, now can u put in another rom at the top ?
Heh, no chance
DeadMan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jul 2007, 07:47   #4
wellibob
Mobster
 
wellibob's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Northamptonshire
Posts: 2,951
Question what type of rom is it you got there chap, ive not seen a slot loader in ages ??? i assume its a notebook rom ?
wellibob is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jul 2007, 08:00   #5
DeadMan
Wise Guy
 
DeadMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by wellibob
Question what type of rom is it you got there chap, ive not seen a slot loader in ages ??? i assume its a notebook rom ?
NEC Optiarc AD-7630A

Spec sheet:
http://www.sonynec-optiarc.de/en/exh.../ad-7630a.html
DeadMan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jul 2007, 09:33   #6
andrewbell1984
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,685
very nice mod
andrewbell1984 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jul 2007, 09:54   #7
DeadMan
Wise Guy
 
DeadMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen62619
very nice mod
Thanks
DeadMan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jul 2007, 09:56   #8
waso_dude
Soldato
 
waso_dude's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,871
more pics please

i'm guessing you just cut a whole for it ??

PC: i7 3770k @ 4.6ghz - 970 GTX - 24GB DDR3
waso_dude is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jul 2007, 18:59   #9
dan1987
Gangster
 
dan1987's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 329
very nice mod!

do you have problems with the case getting too hot as I notice you have loads of fans! I only have the stock fans in my antec 900 and with them all on low it still seems to keep really cool.

Intel 3570K | Gigabyte Z77-D3H | Alpenföhn K2
8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport | Gigabyte 7850 OC
Windforce 2X 2Gb | Crucial M4 128GB | Fractal R3
CM Silent Pro 500W PSU | Dell E228WFP
dan1987 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jul 2007, 23:54   #10
C64
Capodecina
 
C64's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: London
Posts: 11,908
Do large heatsinks like the tuniq noctua thermalright fit in antec 900's?
C64 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2007, 05:34   #11
dan1987
Gangster
 
dan1987's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 329
I have the noctua in mine and it fits easily.

Intel 3570K | Gigabyte Z77-D3H | Alpenföhn K2
8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport | Gigabyte 7850 OC
Windforce 2X 2Gb | Crucial M4 128GB | Fractal R3
CM Silent Pro 500W PSU | Dell E228WFP
dan1987 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2007, 07:02   #12
DeadMan
Wise Guy
 
DeadMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan1987
very nice mod!

do you have problems with the case getting too hot as I notice you have loads of fans! I only have the stock fans in my antec 900 and with them all on low it still seems to keep really cool.
Thankyou

No, not really with just 2 fans on the front its extremely cool.

I only use one DVD/RW drive and thought it was annoying that if I used a single 5.25" slot I would also lose 2 other 5.25" bays so I decided to free them all up for future expansion or cooling in this case

Possibly a double or treble radiator for water cooling or 9 hdd's with 120mm fans, it just opens up more choices.

3 of these would dramatically change the looks of the 900 too.
http://www.silverstonetek.com/produc...cfp51&area=usa

DeadMan
DeadMan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2007, 07:09   #13
DeadMan
Wise Guy
 
DeadMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by C64
Do large heatsinks like the tuniq noctua thermalright fit in antec 900's?
I have seen the tuniq tower and the thermalright extreme fitted to this case on other forums so yes.

DeadMan
DeadMan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2007, 07:14   #14
DeadMan
Wise Guy
 
DeadMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by waso_dude
more pics please

i'm guessing you just cut a whole for it ??
Basically yes

Its a very easy mod, but requires some good dremel and sanding skills to cut the hole out on the front bezel to make it look good.

You need to remove a chassis plate from behind the bezel by drilling out the rivets.

What pictures would you like?

DeadMan
DeadMan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2007, 17:16   #15
alexakasloth
Soldato
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Brighton
Posts: 7,050
Nice Fits in very well with the rest of the case.

G3258 / 8gb Ballistic Sport / GTX 750 ti 2gb / Sandisk x100 128gb / ZTC Armor m.2 128gb / Kolink Satellite / NVIDIA Shield.
alexakasloth is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2007, 19:27   #16
bluntslide
Hitman
 
bluntslide's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: leicestershire
Posts: 720
praise the lord! someone with a slot loading drive!!
DeadMan, how much was the drive and i'm assuming its just a couple of screws at the side if it was sitting in a cage?
have you seen any sata ones though?
oh and sorry, one more thing, the second picture - is that the point where the disc is taken in, need to be sure with me wanting to counter sink one (so to speak).

bluntslide is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2007, 19:46   #17
ChoȚȚer
Mobster
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: UK, Lincolnshire, Lincoln
Posts: 4,510
is it just sata? or ide? because it looks very smart
ChoȚȚer is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2007, 19:49   #18
bluntslide
Hitman
 
bluntslide's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: leicestershire
Posts: 720
the spec in the link says ide, it would be great if they did sata but i doubt they do

bluntslide is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2007, 19:50   #19
ChoȚȚer
Mobster
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: UK, Lincolnshire, Lincoln
Posts: 4,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluntslide
the spec in the link says ide, it would be great if they did sata but i doubt they do
ah right.. it just be nicer for a sata due to smaller cable and easyer 2 hide
ChoȚȚer is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2007, 20:26   #20
PhillyDee
Capodecina
 
PhillyDee's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: South Shields
Posts: 14,166
Love it. That is excellent. Any how-to pictures?


3 Laser cutter upto 150W and a 3D CEL Robox
PhillyDee is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jul 2007, 11:34   #21
DeadMan
Wise Guy
 
DeadMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,459
1, Take Bezel off and bottom drive bay


2, Drill out rivets holding bottom plate and remove


3, Remove plastic bracing under from bezel and mark out hole to cut out with dvd drive


4, Fix foam padding to drive and connect any adapters required


Continued....
DeadMan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jul 2007, 11:35   #22
DeadMan
Wise Guy
 
DeadMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,459
5, Fit drive using a bit of double sided carpet tape to bottom of case


6, Assemble drive in case and make sure its level with front of case.


7, Fit front bezel back on and your done.


DeadMan
Last edited by DeadMan; 21st Jul 2007 at 13:55.
DeadMan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jul 2007, 14:21   #23
fobose
Mobster
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Haverhill, Suffolk.
Posts: 4,217
That is cool, possible pain the bum if you put your case on the floor though! I wish they would bring back slot loader DVDRW's for normal drives!

4690K / Z97X-SLI / 16GB 2400MHz
GTX 960 / EVO 500GB / G2 650W
P182 / 2x 2007WFP / Win 10 Pro
fobose is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jul 2007, 08:43   #24
Arcane
Mobster
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Ealing, London
Posts: 3,189
That looks really nice...may have to steal that idea...
Arcane is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2007, 12:27   #25
DeadMan
Wise Guy
 
DeadMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcane
That looks really nice...may have to steal that idea...
Thats what the guide is for

DeadMan
DeadMan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Sep 2007, 11:28   #26
Arcane
Mobster
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Ealing, London
Posts: 3,189
Bit of an old thread revival...Deadman, that optical drive you used, NEC Optiarc AD-7630A, is the connector normal desktop ide or is it the laptop style? I've found a nifty laptop ide to sata convertor that looks as though it'll fit the bill. A pic of the back would be mucho appreciated.
Arcane is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jun 2010, 23:54   #27
Oo Alias oO
Associate
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Woah that is sweet.

What DVD drive is it? I only have one where the plastic holder comes out so im guessing thats to big
Oo Alias oO is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2010, 01:56   #28
JCBeastie
Wise Guy
 
JCBeastie's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Deepest Cornwall
Posts: 1,779
Why did you choose the bottom and not the top? I suppose it depends where you keep your case the bottom may have been closer... or there something in the case that prevents it?
JCBeastie is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2010, 13:41   #29
Oo Alias oO
Associate
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Well the top has bits in the top which sink down so im assuming it couldnt work.

I may have to try this
Oo Alias oO is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2010, 14:41   #30
Gary*
Hitman
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees
Posts: 603
Wow, an old thread!

NEC Optiarc AD-7630A ... DeadMan said what drive it was a few posts up.
Gary* is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:11.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)