Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > CPUs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th Jan 2009, 13:32   #1
clocka
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,729
Wink ** The Official Phenom II 920/940 Review/Overclocking Thread **

Please use this thread for posting reviews in and posting your overclocks and settings used for them in here, will save us having alot of topics. I will update this first post with all the review links posted in here.

Reviews:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...l#xtor=RSS-182
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...oc.aspx?i=3492
http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/phenomii940/
http://hothardware.com/Articles/Ente...nom-II-X4-940/
http://www.amdzone.com/index.php/new...-940-be-review
http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Ha...amd_phenom_ii/
http://www.cluboc.net/reviews/cpu/am...40Black/p1.asp
http://icrontic.com/articles/amd-phenom-ii-review
http://www.bjorn3d.com/read.php?cID=1460
http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,6...eneb_reviewed/
http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/170...orm/index.html
http://techreport.com/articles.x/16147
http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/articl...50aHVzaWFzdA==
http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/...0_performance/
http://www.hitechlegion.com/reviews/...rs/123-p2940x4
http://www.elite[COLOR="Yellow"]*[/COLOR][COLOR="Yellow"]*[/COLOR][COLOR="Yellow"]*[/COLOR][COLOR="Yellow"]*[/COLOR][COLOR="Yellow"]*[/COLOR][COLOR="Yellow"]*[/COLOR][COLOR="Yellow"]*[/COLOR]s.com/cms/ind...=667&Itemid=27
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...phenom-ii.html
http://www.lostcircuits.com/mambo/in...d=51&Itemid=42
http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles...?cid=2&id=2778
http://www.legitreviews.com/article/860/1/
http://www.guru3d.com/article/amd-ph...-review-test/1
http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/200...d-920-review/1
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...2338338,00.asp
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...4_2.html#sect0
http://www.vikingreviews.dk/artikler...-black-edition
http://www.ocworkbench.com/2009/giga...-B-295-GTX.htm

120GB Sandisk Ultra II SSD
Last edited by clocka; 8th Jan 2009 at 13:46.
clocka is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 13:33   #2
EvilOne
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,590
Theres a nice list here.
EvilOne is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 13:40   #3
mattymaxx
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Gainsborough, Lincs, UK
Posts: 294
ordered mine today! a 940! :-)
mattymaxx is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 13:45   #4
NightmareXX
Hitman
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Team 10
Posts: 991
I'll be ordering mine today hopefully

AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 940 3.0GHz (Socket AM2+) - Retail
Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB GDDR5 TV-Out/Dual DVI/HDMI (PCI-Express) - Retail
DFI Lan Party DK 790FXB-M2RSH AMD 790FX (Socket AM2) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
OCZ 4GB (2x2GB) PC2-6400C5 800MHz SLI-Ready Edition Low Latency Dual Channel DDR2 (OCZ2N800SR4GK)
Thermalright Ultra-120A CPU Cooler (Socket AM2/LGA775)
Akasa AK-191-SM Smoke Ultra Quiet 120mm Fan - 3 pin
NightmareXX is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 13:48   #5
clocka
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,729
thanks evilone, i've updated the list with those.

nightmarex, your sig is too big, think 4 lines is the max allowed.

120GB Sandisk Ultra II SSD
clocka is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 13:53   #6
mattymaxx
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Gainsborough, Lincs, UK
Posts: 294
since they aint the black edition im guessing the multiplier isnt unlocked?
mattymaxx is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 13:56   #7
clocka
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,729
ocuk doesnt seem to have the Black Editioin, but they are on sale in america for sure, dunno about other uk stores, i guess we'll find out from Gibbo or someone later today about those.

120GB Sandisk Ultra II SSD
clocka is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 13:59   #8
NightmareXX
Hitman
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Team 10
Posts: 991
I think they are the Black Edition myself, after going by what I found in another topic.

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...4&postcount=45

Both from AMD, they say that the only 940 out is the BE. Might just be that OcUK haven't update the site to reflect that? Could always give the shop a ring.
NightmareXX is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:01   #9
gurusan
Capodecina
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 13,488
...so....it's approximately 10% faster than a Q6600 stovk for stock...yet it's clocked 25% faster and costs roughly twice as much.

whoopdy doo
gurusan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:07   #10
Bleek
Soldato
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Warm Loins
Posts: 5,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
...so....it's approximately 10% faster than a Q6600 stovk for stock...yet it's clocked 25% faster and costs roughly twice as much.

whoopdy doo
Not very constructive was it.

For reference this a constructive post from a current Intel Q6600 owner:

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilOne View Post
Read most the reviews now (well the conclusions ). Phenom2 seems to be slightly slower then 45nm intel quads clock for clock, but the diffrence is very minor and doesnt take into account overclocks. Not bad for a first release, competing against late revisions of core2quads.

With the extra 5-10% boost for AM3, it should easy pass the core2 clock for clock speeds. But till those are out its just a guess.

Overclocking seems good, altho some sites have made good atempts and others still cant seem overclock AMD well (as they are use to doing intel overclocks). These chips should keep up with even the more costly core2quad chips comparing max overclocks.

Cant wait to see what future releases can do, as this is just the start.

Bleek
Last edited by Bleek; 8th Jan 2009 at 14:10.
Bleek is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:12   #11
FoxEye
Capodecina
 
FoxEye's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 13,018
I thought the big deal about the new AMDs was going to be how competitively priced they were. Slightly worse performance than the Intel, but a lot cheaper.

I was looking forward to quad cores for < 100. Looks like I was dreaming
FoxEye is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:17   #12
NightmareXX
Hitman
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Team 10
Posts: 991
Just phoned the shop and the 940's they have aren't the black edition
NightmareXX is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:17   #13
EvilOne
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,590
They are compeating with high end core2quads, for mainstream prices. Im sure they will release some lower clocked versions later on for low end.
EvilOne is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:17   #14
Trunks9486
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
...so....it's approximately 10% faster than a Q6600 stovk for stock...yet it's clocked 25% faster and costs roughly twice as much.

whoopdy doo
Hey give them some credit now

Kentsfield itself was a remarkable chip for its time, and Yorkfield built upon that, which is why many of us do not see i7 as being a worthy upgrade yet...

Phenom II is slower clock for clock, they knew that, and we knew that as Phenom was slower as well. At least now it come highly clocked out of the box, with more headroom than ever, and from what i see, most review sites do not overclock anything else but the processor using the unlocked multiplier. Overclocking the Northbridge yielded increased performance for Phenom, enough to be competitve with Kentsfield at high clock anyway.

I am not saying it the best chip ever, but for AM2 or AM2+ owners its a great upgrade. Even for someone considering a new build and cannot afford the i7 its a viable choice.

In my opinion Intel's greatest advantage last round was the ease to overclock, which is why Q6600 was king. When overclocked they killed AMD in price performance, and the Halo effect affected AMD a lot.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600(G0) @3.4GHz @1.36v
Gigabyte P35-DQ6 @ 1700FSB, 4GB OCZ Reaper 850MHz CAS4@1.87V
Powercolor HD4870 1GB, Win 7 PRO x64, Antec 900
160GB Intel X25-M G2 SSD, OCZ 850w PSU, Intel Burntest Stable(20x)
Trunks9486 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:18   #15
EvilOne
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightmareXX View Post
Just phoned the shop and the 940's they have aren't the black edition
that sucks
EvilOne is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:22   #16
Emlyn_Dewar
Capodecina
 
Emlyn_Dewar's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 11,798
You'd be a bit mad to buy a 940 non BE, given that the BE flavour is usually about £5 more...

AMD A10 7850K : MSI A88XI AC V2 : 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz
256GB Crucial M500 : Corsair H90 / Noctua NF-P14S : Lian-Li TU200B
Emlyn_Dewar is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:24   #17
Bleek
Soldato
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Warm Loins
Posts: 5,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightmareXX View Post
Just phoned the shop and the 940's they have aren't the black edition
AMD don't currently make a locked 940, so what it's worth you can ONLY buy a Black Edition 940 (even though it might not be boxed/labelled as one)!

Bleek
Bleek is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:28   #18
FoxEye
Capodecina
 
FoxEye's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 13,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilOne View Post
They are compeating with high end core2quads, for mainstream prices. Im sure they will release some lower clocked versions later on for low end.
How so? The PhenomII is more expensive than the q6600.

How do they compare if you overclock them both?
FoxEye is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:28   #19
Bleek
Soldato
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Warm Loins
Posts: 5,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trunks9486 View Post
Phenom II is slower clock for clock, they knew that, and we knew that as Phenom was slower as well. At least now it come highly clocked out of the box, with more headroom than ever, and from what i see, most review sites do not overclock anything else but the processor using the unlocked multiplier. Overclocking the Northbridge yielded increased performance for Phenom, enough to be competitve with Kentsfield at high clock anyway.
There are users on the web with overclocked NBs beating the equivilent Kentsfield clock-for-clock, push the NB past the Intel speeds and the AMD PII pull ahead and yet as you say, 99% of review sites are just fudging with the multiplier!

Bleek
Bleek is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:30   #20
clocka
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,729
looks like they are probably all black for 940's, a competitor definately has black. The 3.0ghz overclocks to around 3.9ghz a q6600 will overclock from 2.4ghz to around 3.6ghz so its safe to say the amd will be alot worse than q6600 when you overclock them both.

120GB Sandisk Ultra II SSD
clocka is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:31   #21
EvilOne
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,590
I guess my crack about people not being able to overclock AMD chips correctly was dead on lol.
EvilOne is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:33   #22
mattymaxx
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Gainsborough, Lincs, UK
Posts: 294
as soon as i get mine tormoz mornign ill tell u if its black or not :-)

had some spare money so thought why not, if its rubbish ill flog it lol
mattymaxx is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:36   #23
FoxEye
Capodecina
 
FoxEye's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 13,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by clocka View Post
looks like they are probably all black for 940's, a competitor definately has black. The 3.0ghz overclocks to around 3.9ghz a q6600 will overclock from 2.4ghz to around 3.6ghz so its safe to say the amd will be alot worse than q6600 when you overclock them both.
So there's still almost no point in going AMD unless you have existing AM2 equipment.
FoxEye is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:39   #24
Happy
Soldato
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Tunbridge Wells
Posts: 7,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattymaxx View Post
as soon as i get mine tormoz mornign ill tell u if its black or not :-)

had some spare money so thought why not, if its rubbish ill flog it lol
Are you going to be getting a 750Sb Mobo to?
Happy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:53   #25
Bleek
Soldato
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Warm Loins
Posts: 5,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by clocka View Post
looks like they are probably all black for 940's, a competitor definately has black. The 3.0ghz overclocks to around 3.9ghz a q6600 will overclock from 2.4ghz to around 3.6ghz so its safe to say the amd will be alot worse than q6600 when you overclock them both.
Huh? When overclocked correctly the Phenom is faster than the Q6600 clock-for-clock.

In fact NB overclocks on the Intel don't yield any gains, on the Phenom they keep gaining and gaining.

Bleek
Bleek is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:54   #26
Emlyn_Dewar
Capodecina
 
Emlyn_Dewar's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 11,798
lol @ people's inability to clock AMD's...
Hai, I upped my multiplier and performance isn't as good as i wanteded. AMD sucks!!!

Rolleyes

AMD A10 7850K : MSI A88XI AC V2 : 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz
256GB Crucial M500 : Corsair H90 / Noctua NF-P14S : Lian-Li TU200B
Emlyn_Dewar is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:55   #27
Trunks9486
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emlyn_Dewar View Post
lol @ people's inability to clock AMD's...
Hai, I upped my multiplier and performance isn't as good as i wanteded. AMD sucks!!!

Rolleyes
Its funny, but it hurts AMD a lot. They should have given a manual to overclock it to all reviewers as it doesnt get publicity.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600(G0) @3.4GHz @1.36v
Gigabyte P35-DQ6 @ 1700FSB, 4GB OCZ Reaper 850MHz CAS4@1.87V
Powercolor HD4870 1GB, Win 7 PRO x64, Antec 900
160GB Intel X25-M G2 SSD, OCZ 850w PSU, Intel Burntest Stable(20x)
Trunks9486 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 14:55   #28
FoxEye
Capodecina
 
FoxEye's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 13,018
OK. That's cool.

When overclocked correctly then, which is better in terms of price/performance. The Ph2 or the Intel?
FoxEye is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 15:06   #29
clocka
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,729
foxeye, the q6600. But the q9400 is about same price as the AMD 920 so people should get those as they will be alot faster.

120GB Sandisk Ultra II SSD
clocka is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2009, 15:06   #30
steve258
Mobster
 
steve258's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,938
Impressive chip it's a no brainer upgrade for current AM2 users. However people with C2D setup is much better off just getting a 45nm yorky.


3770K 4.7G | Z77 Extreme 4 | Corsair 16Gb 1866 | R9 290 | OCZ Trion 240Gb
steve258 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:55.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)