Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Software > Windows & Other Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th Aug 2009, 14:04   #1
Explicit
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,186
Guide 2: How to create a combined Windows Server 2008 R2 and Windows 7 DVD

As requested by a couple of people, this guide will show you how to create a single DVD containing Windows 7 (all x86 and x64 editions) and Windows Server 2008 R2 (all editions). This one is slightly more difficult than the first guide I posted, but if you follow the instructions you’ll have no problems.

What you need to know (upgrade vs clean install):

It's important to appreciate the functionality of the DVD, particularly in relation to installation.

If you're doing a clean install, then this DVD will work fine.

But if you're doing an upgrade, you will probably recieve the following message when setup runs the compatibility check:

Quote:
The following issues are preventing Windows from upgrading.
  • You can’t upgrade 64-bit Windows to a 32-bit version of Windows. To upgrade, obtain a 64-bit version of the installation disc.
  • 32-bit Windows cannot be upgraded to a 64-bit version of Windows. To upgrade, obtain a 32-bit version of the Windows installation disc.
The reason for this is because we're going to use Windows 7 x86 as the base image and combine Windows 7 x64 and Server 2008 R2 x64 into this. For example, upgrading from Vista x86 to Windows 7 x86 should work fine using this DVD. But upgrading from Vista x64 to Windows 7 x64 will not work using this DVD because the base image is x86 (but a clean install of Windows 7 x64 from this DVD will work fine).

If upgrade functionality is important to you, then you should make 2 DVDs: DVD1 containing Windows 7 x86 and DVD2 containing Windows 7 x64 and Server 2008 R2 x64.

And lastly, the functionality of any operating system you install from this DVD will remain unaffected. Only installation methods are affected.

What you’ll need:
  • Windows 7 x86 ISO, Windows 7 x64 ISO, Windows Server 2008 R2 ISO
  • ImageX and Oscdimg. These are both part of the Windows Automated Installation Kit for Windows 7 (available from here). To save some bandwidth, you can download the ImageX tool directly from here or here.

    If you use the direct download, you will also need to install wimfltr.sys, download from here or here (right click on wimfltr.inf then click install).

Instructions:

1. Create three folders in any location of your choice (I used the D: drive). Name each of them ‘x64’, ‘x86’ and ‘Server’ respectively.

2. Extract (or copy and paste the contents of) the Windows 7 (x86) ISO to the ‘x86’ folder using 7zip or WinRAR. Now extract or copy and paste the contents of the Windows 7 (x64) ISO to ‘x64’ folder. Finally, extract or copy and paste the contents of the Windows Server 2008 R2 ISO to the 'Server' folder.

3. Run command prompt with administrator privileges.

4. We’re going to use Windows 7 x86 as the base and merge everything into this. So, what we’re going to do now is:
  • extract all the editions from the Windows 7 x64 install.wim file and merge these into the Windows 7 x86 install.wim file; and then
  • extract all the editions from the Windows Server 2008 R2 install.wim and merge these into the Windows 7 x86 install.wim file.

But before that, some quick background info to help you understand the process. Inside any .wim file, there are "Image Index" numbers which refer to different editions (i.e. Home Basic has its own image index number, Home Premium has its own image index number etc.)

Using the following command, you can look up the Image Index numbers inside the Windows 7 x64 install.wim file:

Quote:
"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /info D:\x64\sources\install.wim
(adjust path locations as necessary)
For Windows 7 x64:

Image Index 1 = Home Basic
Image Index 2 = Home Premium
Image Index 3 = Professional
Image Index 4 = Ultimate

Another example:

Quote:
"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /info D:\Server\sources\install.wim
(adjust path locations as necessary)
For Windows Server 2008 R2:

Image Index 1 = Standard (Full Installation)
Image Index 2 = Standard (Core Installation)
Image Index 3 = Enterprise (Full Installation)
Image Index 4 = Enterprise (Core Installation)
Image Index 5 = Datacenter (Full Installation)
Image Index 6 = Datacenter (Core Installation)
Image Index 7 = Web Server (Full Installation)
Image Index 8 = Web Server (Core Installation)

First we’ll start by merging the Windows 7 x64 install.wim file into the Windows 7 x86 install.wim file. We need ImageX to do this.

The command is as follows:

"imagex.exe" /export "[Source install.wim file]" [Index Image number] "[Destination install.wim file]" "[Name of this edition]"

So, here are the commands that I used (you may need to adjust file paths):

Quote:
"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /export "D:\x64\sources\install.wim" 1 "D:\x86\sources\install.wim" "Windows 7 HOMEBASIC x64"

"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /export "D:\x64\sources\install.wim" 2 "D:\x86\sources\install.wim" "Windows 7 HOMEPREMIUM x64"

"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /export "D:\x64\sources\install.wim" 3 "D:\x86\sources\install.wim" "Windows 7 PROFESSIONAL x64"

"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /export "D:\x64\sources\install.wim" 4 "D:\x86\sources\install.wim" "Windows 7 ULTIMATE x64"
Now we’re going to merge the Windows Server 2008 R2 install.wim file into the Windows 7 x86 install.wim file.

Here are the commands that I used (you may need to adjust file paths):

Quote:
"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /export "D:\Server\sources\install.wim" 1 "D:\x86\sources\install.wim" "Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERSTANDARD"

"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /export "D:\Server\sources\install.wim" 2 "D:\x86\sources\install.wim" "Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERSTANDARDCORE"

"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /export "D:\Server\sources\install.wim" 3 "D:\x86\sources\install.wim" "Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERENTERPRISE"

"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /export "D:\Server\sources\install.wim" 4 "D:\x86\sources\install.wim" "Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERENTERPRISECORE"

"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /export "D:\Server\sources\install.wim" 5 "D:\x86\sources\install.wim" "Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERDATACENTER"

"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /export "D:\Server\sources\install.wim" 6 "D:\x86\sources\install.wim" "Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERDATACENTERCORE"

"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /export "D:\Server\sources\install.wim" 7 "D:\x86\sources\install.wim" "Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERWEB"

"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /export "D:\Server\sources\install.wim" 8 "D:\x86\sources\install.wim" "Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERWEBCORE"
5A. This is where it gets slightly more technical, so read and digest this step carefully. The purpose of this step is to copy the EULA files from the Windows Server 2008 R2 boot.wim file and then paste them into the Windows 7 x86 boot.wim file. Without doing this, you will not be able to install any of the Server products even though they are listed on the installation page.

To carry out this copy and paste task, we’re going to “Mount” both of the boot.wim files, copy and paste, and then “Unmount” the files. As before, we’ll be using ImageX to do this.

Before we start: if you downloaded ImageX directly, you will need to right click on the wimmount.inf file inside the amd64 or x86 folder and then click install and restart. If you installed WAIK, you don’t need to do this.

Firstly, create two new folders called ‘Mount_7’ and ‘Mount_Server’ in any location of your choice (again, I used the D:\ drive).
Now we will mount both the Windows Server 2008 R2 ‘boot.wim’ file and the Windows 7 x86 ‘boot.wim’ file.

Here’s a quick explanation of the mount command:

" imagex.exe" /mountrw "[Location of .wim image]" [Image Index Number] "[Destination folder where you would like .wim image to be mounted]"

So, here are the commands that I used to mount both of the boot.wim files (you may need to adjust file paths):

Quote:
"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /mountrw "D:\Server\sources\boot.wim" 2 "D:\Mount_Server"
Quote:
"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /mountrw "D:\x86\sources\boot.wim" 2 "D:\Mount_7"
We can now use Windows Explorer to copy and paste the files. To do this:
  • Open the ‘D:\Mount_Server\sources’ folder
  • Right click and copy the ‘Licence’ folder
  • Open the ‘D:\Mount_7\sources’ folder
  • Now paste (and click yes when prompted to merge with existing Licence folder).

Now that we have edited the x86 boot.wim file, we need to save it. This is done by using the “Unmount” command in ImageX.

Run this command (if you still have the Mount_7 folder opened in Windows Explorer, close it first otherwise you will get an Unmount error):

Quote:
"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /unmount /commit "D:\Mount_7"
Now run this command:

Quote:
"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" /unmount "D:\Mount_Server"
That’s it for this step! If you done this step correctly, the D:\x86\sources\boot.wim file should now be 139MB.

5B. The previous step copied the EULA files required when installing by booting from the DVD (hence boot.wim). But if you choose to run the installation within Windows, you will receive an error about images not found. To solve this, we need to copy the other EULA files that are used when installing within Windows.
  • Open D:\Server\sources
  • Right click on ‘licence’ folder and copy
  • Open D:\x86\sources and paste
  • Press yes to merge with existing folder. You will receive two further prompts asking whether you wish to merge. Press yes for both. You will then receive four prompts regarding lipeula.rtf and lpeula.rtf (‘there is already a file with the same name in this location’). I selected ‘Copy but keep both files’.


6. Now open D:\Server\sources and copy these files:

install_Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERDATACENTER.clg
install_Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERDATACENTERCORE.clg
install_Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERENTERPRISE.clg
install_Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERENTERPRISECORE.clg
install_Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERSTANDARD.clg
install_Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERSTANDARDCORE.clg
install_Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERWEB.clg
install_Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERWEBCORE.clg

Paste them in the D:\x86\sources folder.

Also delete the ei.cfg file from the D:\x86\sources folder.


7. All that’s left to do now is to make a new bootable ISO. We’ll use Oscdimg to do this.

MS have a good explanation of the switches here.

Here's the command you need:

Quote:
"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\oscdimg.exe" -lGRMCULFRER_EN_DVD -m -u2 -o -h -bD:\x86\boot\etfsboot.com D:\x86\ D:\Windows7and2008R2AIO.iso
Basically translates as: oscdimg, [options], [Path to source], [Target file]

Using the above command, your new ISO will be saved to the D:\ drive with the name of Windows7and2008R2AIO.

8. Now you can test your ISO in VirtualBox/VMWare. If all goes well it should look like this:




9. Now for some housekeeping. If your ISO is working as expected, you can delete the following folders:

D:\x86
D:\x64
D:\Server
D:\Mount_7
D:\Mount_Server

The DVD should be 4.35GB if you merged all editions. You can now burn your ISO to DVD using, for example, ImgBurn. Alternatively, you can write the ISO to a USB drive by following any of the guides available through google.

Enjoy your new all-in-one DVD!

P.S. You can also merge Windows 7 Enterprise into the DVD by editing the ImageX commands as appropriate. File size will probably go above a single DVD though, unless you avoid merging Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 editions that you don’t need.
Last edited by Explicit; 28th Aug 2009 at 09:18.
Explicit is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2009, 14:06   #2
paradigm
Caporegime
 
paradigm's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Macclesfield, Cheshire
Posts: 31,837
Very nice, I'll be doing this as a matter of course, just so I can keep a copy of installation media at hand in a simple form.


| shinobi XL | i7 3820 @ 5.1 GHz | P9X79 PRO | 32GB DDR3 | GTX 970 SLI | 512GB SSD |
paradigm is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2009, 14:24   #3
Halfmad
Capodecina
 
Halfmad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 11,765
oooh very nice tip mate!! definately be doing this
Halfmad is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2009, 14:49   #4
Spooter
Hitman
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 949
Nice guide.

Main, E5200 @ 3.7GHz, 4Gb, GT240, 500Gb, GA-965P-DS3, HAF932
Serv, Atom 330, Giga, 2Gb, 1.5Tb HD, Lian Li PC-Q07B

HTPC, E6300 @ 1.8GHz, Zotac 9300 rev4, Sugo 5

My Blog
Spooter is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2009, 14:56   #5
deuse
Capodecina
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Solihull
Posts: 15,114
Very very nice guild

Have some stars..


Part of TeamLH
Last edited by deuse; 17th Aug 2009 at 19:39.
deuse is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2009, 15:18   #6
Explicit
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,186
Cheers guys

Yeh, it's always nicer (and "greener" ) to have everything on one DVD compared to three.
Explicit is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2009, 18:57   #7
rohandhruva
Associate
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Again a wonderful guide - thanks, Explicit!
rohandhruva is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Aug 2009, 01:36   #8
mark7649
Associate
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
ok everyone be nice. this is my first time here. And I joined after I came across this wonderful guide. But I got to the mounting process and I'm having a problem. When I try to mount the boot.wim file it gets to 100%, pauses for a while, then I get the following message:

Error mounting image
The request is not supported

Any help would be greatly appreciated
mark7649 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Aug 2009, 21:46   #9
Explicit
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,186
I'm presuming you didn't install WAIK.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...8WS.10%29.aspx

Quote:
To manipulate images on a computer that does not have the Windows OPK or the Windows AIK installed, you must copy ImageX.exe, Wimfltr.sys, and Wimfltr.inf to the new computer. You must then install the driver by right-clicking the Wimfltr.inf file and then clicking Install.
You will need to install wimfltr.sys, download from here or here.

Let me know if that fixes it.
Explicit is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Aug 2009, 23:49   #10
mark7649
Associate
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
I have WAIK installed. I installed wimfltr.inf and wimfltr.sys but that didn't help. I still get the same message.
mark7649 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Aug 2009, 08:20   #11
Explicit
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,186
Is the file attribute for boot.wim set to read only? Are running command prompt as administrator? Is the file stored on a network or local hard drive?

Try this:

Go to C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\wimmount.inf then right click and install. Restart the computer and try again. Let me know if this works.
Explicit is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Aug 2009, 15:03   #12
mark7649
Associate
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
File attribute for boot.wim isn't set to read only. I'm running command prompt as administrator. Boot.wim is located on local D: drive.

Installed wimmount.inf, rebooted, tried again, and got the same message.

Sorry to be such a pain.
mark7649 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Aug 2009, 15:53   #13
Explicit
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,186
Can't find anything else on google so don't know what the problem is. Never come across that before.

Try this

Delete the boot.wim files and copy them again. Delete the Mount_ folders and recreate them aswell (possibly with a different names and adjust commands as necessary)

Go to Start, All programs, Microsoft Windows AIK, Deployment Tools Command Prompt (run as admin).

Then try these commands (change folder names as necessary)

imagex /mountrw D:\Server\sources\boot.wim 2 D:\Mount_Server

imagex /mountrw D:\x86\sources\boot.wim 2 D:\Mount_7
Last edited by Explicit; 19th Aug 2009 at 15:59.
Explicit is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2009, 17:13   #14
mark7649
Associate
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
I deleted the boot.wim files and copied them again. I deleted the Mount_ folders and recreated them with different names. But I still get the same message. See attached image.



EDIT: I finally got it to work!
Last edited by mark7649; 23rd Aug 2009 at 01:25.
mark7649 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Aug 2009, 20:41   #15
Explicit
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark7649 View Post
I deleted the boot.wim files and copied them again. I deleted the Mount_ folders and recreated them with different names. But I still get the same message. See attached image.

[IMG]http://img41.imageshack.us/img41/6759/28957315.png[IMG]

EDIT: I finally got it to work!
Excellent, mind sharing how you fixed it?
Explicit is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2009, 07:11   #16
mark7649
Associate
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Explicit View Post
Excellent, mind sharing how you fixed it?
I did a clean install because I wanted to install Windows 7 Enterprise vs. Ultimate. After that it worked fine. Now I need to find out something else.

I created two AIOs. One that included Windows 7 Enterprise and one without. The one without worked fine. The one with Enterprise, when I tried to install Server 2008 R2, it said it couldn't find the image for installation or something similar to that.

So I don't know if theres something that needs to be done different or what?

Thanks for all your help Explicit, and any help you can provide on my current problem would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by mark7649; 27th Aug 2009 at 22:18.
mark7649 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2009, 08:33   #17
Django x2
Capodecina
 
Django x2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Britain
Posts: 10,665
Nice guide. So really this superceeds guide 1 if you want a DVD with 7x86/x64 and Server R2 on there?

Django x2 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2009, 13:58   #18
Django x2
Capodecina
 
Django x2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Britain
Posts: 10,665
Hi, how do you get 7zip to extract to the folder? I just end up with two files, a Boot folder and a readme file

Django x2 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2009, 16:34   #19
Explicit
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark7649 View Post
I did a clean install because I wanted to install Windows 7 Enterprise vs. Ultimate. After that it worked fine. Now I need to find out something else.

I created to AIOs. One that included Windows 7 Enterprise and one without. The one without worked fine. The one with Enterprise, when I tried to install Server 2008 R2, it said it couldn't find the image for installation or something similar to that.

So I don't know if theres something that needs to be done different or what?

Thanks for all your help Explicit, and any help you can provide on my current problem would be greatly appreciated.
No problem

I haven't integrated Enterprise so I'm not entirely sure what you did wrong.

Did you copy the Server R2 'Licence' folder into the Windows 7 x86 boot.wim file? You might need to copy the Enterprise 'Licence' folder too. That error normally occurs if you don't copy the appropriate 'Licence' folder into the Windows 7 x86 boot.wim file.

Also make sure you use the /commit command when unmounting "Mount_7" folder otherwise changes to the boot.wim file will not be saved.

Basically, double check step 5.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucero View Post
Nice guide. So really this superceeds guide 1 if you want a DVD with 7x86/x64 and Server R2 on there?
Doesn't really supersede it, just takes it one step further.

Guide 1 = Windows 7 (x86 + x64)
Guide 2 = Windows 7 (x86 + x64) & Windows Server 2008 R2 (all editions)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucero View Post
Hi, how do you get 7zip to extract to the folder? I just end up with two files, a Boot folder and a readme file
Right click on the ISO > 7zip > Extract files > Select folder > OK

Are you using the latest version? If that doesn't work, just mount the ISO (VirtualCloneDrive is what I use) then copy and paste.
Explicit is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2009, 18:10   #20
Django x2
Capodecina
 
Django x2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Britain
Posts: 10,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by Explicit View Post
No problem

Doesn't really supersede it, just takes it one step further.

Guide 1 = Windows 7 (x86 + x64)
Guide 2 = Windows 7 (x86 + x64) & Windows Server 2008 R2 (all editions)
Hmm, well it's a better combined method as you don't need UltraISO for anything

Django x2 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2009, 21:18   #21
Django x2
Capodecina
 
Django x2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Britain
Posts: 10,665
just one other thing. You can't use this for an inplace upgrade.

Say you had Server 2008 and installed this disc and wanted to upgrade to 2008 R2. It will moan that the required images are not present. By images, it actually means pictures.

I haven't tried the upgrade path from boot though.

Django x2 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Aug 2009, 08:33   #22
Explicit
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucero View Post
just one other thing. You can't use this for an inplace upgrade.

Say you had Server 2008 and installed this disc and wanted to upgrade to 2008 R2. It will moan that the required images are not present. By images, it actually means pictures.

I haven't tried the upgrade path from boot though.
Updated OP with two new sections to deal with this:

- What you need to know (upgrade vs clean install)
- Step 5B
Explicit is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Sep 2009, 13:07   #23
mark7649
Associate
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
I finally got it to work. No message about it couldn't find the image. DVD is 4.37 GB

Last edited by mark7649; 6th Sep 2009 at 03:13.
mark7649 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Oct 2009, 04:35   #24
keith williams
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Can Windows Vista and Windows 7 also be combined into one dvd?

x86 and x64 versions
keith williams is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2009, 11:29   #25
TechyBoy
Associate
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
how to club windows 7 and windows server?

HI
Is it possible to club Windows 7 Ultimate x64 and Windows Server 2008 R2 x64
in single DvD?
Is Upgradation posiible in this situation or i need to do clean installation?
if upgradation no possible then why not?

please give me the complete solution of clubbing?
what changes i have to do in your procedure?
TechyBoy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jan 2010, 00:03   #26
drakewolfe
Associate
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Win 7, Server 2008 R2, and other projects

Late a couple of nights ago, I wanted to attempt to make a AIO containing Win 7 and Server 2008 R2, I figured out how to do this on my own, and couldn't get it to work, then I stumbled on this site last night. I basically already did what this site says to do, I got the DVD to boot, I could choose the OS I wanted to install, I figured out the image thing, and Server 2008 R2 installed just fine, however upon reboot is where the issue began. It acted as if it were booting, but then an error happened , I got a black screen with the error code 0x000022 or something of that nature, I can't exactly remember, I figure the Win 7 boot loader can't boot Server 2008 R2.

Has anyone else had this problem and got it fixed, if so please explain how you did it.

I am also working another project, I am wanting another DVD / Blu-Ray containing XP SP3, Vista SP2 (All versions), Win 7 (All varsions), Win Server 2003 R2 (All Versions), Server 2008 (R1) SP2 (All Versions), Server 2008 R2 (All Versions), and I am trying to figure out how to create an automated software install, I am sure some of you know what I am talking about, you know, where after your Windows installs, you get a menu and you can choose what software you want to install, such as Anti-Virus, Nero, Photoshop, etc...

I am not worried about disk space on the HDD, but the largest ISO I can burn is 25 GB.

Any help would be great.

Thanks all

-D
drakewolfe is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jan 2010, 08:46   #27
Lanz
Soldato
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Romford
Posts: 6,782
Great, i'll try this later.

Is it easy to make this into a bootable USB?
Lanz is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jan 2010, 09:33   #28
Django x2
Capodecina
 
Django x2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Britain
Posts: 10,665
Lanz,

Yes, it doesn't need to be made bootable as such. You build the AIO ISO as above:

Next:
Load it up in a virtual drive first of all. Next you need to prep your USB. There are a few ways to do this but this method works best for me:

Open up a command prompt (Start > Run > cmd)
Then, type: (pressing enter after each line)

Diskpart
List disk (a list of disks will be shown with a number next to it. Remember the number of your USB drive, for this example, mine is 1)
select disk 1
clean
create partition primary
select partition 1
format fs=fat32 quick
active
assign
exit

Now, your USB is ready and will have a drive letter assigned to it (let's say its F: ). My virtual drive with my mounted ISO is E: for this example.

Now, Start>Run and type

xcopy E:\*.* /s/e/f F:\

and hit enter.

This will extract the iso to the USB drive and make it bootable. Then, you just need to boot from USB when you next fire up the PC

Django x2 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jan 2010, 09:44   #29
Django x2
Capodecina
 
Django x2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Britain
Posts: 10,665
How do we get Enterprise added to the list?

Django x2 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jan 2010, 14:22   #30
Saundie
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,862
Thank you for the guide, Explicit. I had attempted to do this myself and didn't realise that you need to merge the licenses folder on the boot.wim as well as in the sources folder, now that I am aware of this requirement everything works flawlessly.

The Americans will always do the right thing... after they have exhausted all the alternatives - Sir Winston Churchill
Core i7-3960x|Asus P9X79 Pro|32GB DDR3-1600|GTX 970|Corsair 500R|Hiper 780W Type-M|Windows 8.1 Enterprise
Saundie is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:21.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)