Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Life > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12th Oct 2009, 18:11   #1
teulk
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: jarrow
Posts: 2,417
Halifax minimum deposit for new account ?

My son is 18yrs old and already has an account with the Halifax (kids account from his younger days) and wanted to switch to one a different account with them. Now i dont have all the facts of what bank account he wanted to switch too but he told me that he cant switch unless he has 100 to open it with.
Now i think this is utter rubbish as the account he will be wanting with be one of thier basic accounts with a visa debit card (not the electron he has at the moment). I have looked at Halifax's site and i cant see anywhere that stipulates a minimum of 100 must be deposited into the account upon opening it.
Does anyone know if this true about having to have a minimum of 100 to open an account with. I know that some of their accounts stipulate a minimum amount to be credited every month.
teulk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2009, 18:15   #2
PhillyDee
Capodecina
 
PhillyDee's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: South Shields
Posts: 14,165
Ring them up. Guessing he wants 100 to go out on the lash with . . . .


3 Laser cutter upto 150W and a 3D CEL Robox
PhillyDee is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2009, 18:16   #3
xb8browney
Mobster
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 4,135
I opened a HSBC student account in 2005 and you needed 100....maybe that's it?

6600k || 16Gb DDR4 2400 ||Z170M-D3H
780GTX || 256Gb SSD ||
||E-mail
xb8browney is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2009, 18:18   #4
teulk
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: jarrow
Posts: 2,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by xb8browney View Post
I opened a HSBC student account in 2005 and you needed 100....maybe that's it?
Perhaps but from what i can see on the Halifax website it makes no mention of any opening fees for any of their accounts - even the student account.
teulk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2009, 18:21   #5
xb8browney
Mobster
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 4,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by teulk View Post
Perhaps but from what i can see on the Halifax website it makes no mention of any opening fees for any of their accounts - even the student account.
Nationwide do a current account for people who have a CCJ they open an account if you pay in 100.

6600k || 16Gb DDR4 2400 ||Z170M-D3H
780GTX || 256Gb SSD ||
||E-mail
xb8browney is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2009, 18:26   #6
teulk
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: jarrow
Posts: 2,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by xb8browney View Post
Nationwide do a current account for people who have a CCJ they open an account if you pay in 100.
He doesnt have any CCJ's
teulk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2009, 18:32   #7
dangerstat
Soldato
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: In the ether
Posts: 5,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by teulk View Post
He doesnt have any CCJ's
Yet

dangerstat is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2009, 18:42   #8
teulk
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: jarrow
Posts: 2,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by dangerstat View Post
Yet

teulk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2009, 18:48   #9
stinamoo
Gangster
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 447
*deleted*
Last edited by stinamoo; 10th May 2015 at 18:08.
stinamoo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2009, 18:52   #10
ZXSpectrum
Sgarrista
 
ZXSpectrum's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Derby
Posts: 7,878
Think a few banks/building societys are doing this now to counter money laundering.
ZXSpectrum is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2009, 18:56   #11
MadMossy
Mobster
 
MadMossy's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Sunny Torbaydos
Posts: 4,769
You need 100 to open an account, but only need a 1 in the account for it to remain open.

Intel i7 IvyBridge @ 4.6Ghz / 16Gb Samsung Green / AMD Radeon Fury X / Windows 10 x64
MadMossy is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2009, 18:57   #12
teulk
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: jarrow
Posts: 2,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by stinamoo View Post
I opened a student account with Halifax recently and needed to deposit 100 to activate it, even if it's not listed on the site. Might be worth asking at the local branch

edit: just found it - your account must have 100 in it before we send you your Visa debit card.
Brilliant, but does that mean you need 100 to open the account or you just need 100 in it before they send your card out and you can infact open the account for free ?????
teulk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2009, 18:59   #13
Burnsy2023
Don
 
Burnsy2023's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 34,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyline View Post
Think a few banks/building societys are doing this now to counter money laundering.
I've never had to do this...


Burnsy2023 [at] ocukdons [dot] co [dot] uk
Burnsy2023 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2009, 19:05   #14
teulk
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: jarrow
Posts: 2,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnsy2023 View Post
I've never had to do this...
I have to admit i havent either but then again ive always transfered money straight into any accounts ive opened or had my wages payed in within days of opening it.
teulk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2009, 19:06   #15
Van Hellseek
Capodecina
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 18,403
Don't do it! I have an account with them and I don't have their website listed as "Halifail" for nothing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pancakes
I don't even like pancakes.
Van Hellseek is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:42.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)