Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Life > Motors

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th Dec 2009, 21:10   #1
whitecrook
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Clydebank
Posts: 8,215
How to change gear box drive shaft seals

Anyone know how I get the old drive shaft seals out and the new ones in? I got a kit and it has 2 large seals which obviously go in each side and a 3rd smaller seal not sure where that would go?

Is it just a case of getting a screwdriver and levering it out and pushing a new seal in?

It's a F17 vectra gearbox

whitecrook is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Dec 2009, 21:14   #2
sigma
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 13,606
I'd prefer to use something made of hard plastic rather than metal, or i've got like a small pointy scraper that I dig into seals (obviously not all the way through) to pull 'em out.
sigma is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Dec 2009, 21:17   #3
Dave L
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Somerset
Posts: 2,043
There are special seal pullers - hooked jobbies but not sure on the access on this application.

Large screwdriver carefully placed will do the trick.

Dave L is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Dec 2009, 21:51   #4
Jonny69
Man of Honour
 
Jonny69's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Koronation Strasse
Posts: 17,571
I've always forced seals out with screwdrivers. Never failed me yet, but they can be a bitch to get out sometimes. Put a large socket over the new one to tap it in if you want to be extra delicate with it.


AMD K6-2 400 - 64Mb RAM - 8Mb GFX 6Gb HDD
Jonny69 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Dec 2009, 21:54   #5
Dave L
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Somerset
Posts: 2,043
Or even use the old seal to help drive the new one in.

All depends on access.

And if there are no depth stops, don't drive the seal in too deeply!
Dave L is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Dec 2009, 21:54   #6
whitecrook
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Clydebank
Posts: 8,215
Is it worth replacing the seals? Or should that be 'it's alwasy worth replacing the seals'

The gearbox is lying on my hal floor. Access shouldn't be a problem. Was trying with a screwdriver for 5 mins earlier... seems like a tight bugger. Hence I thought there may have been some kind of knack.

Should I be sticking the driver in the rubber bit, or between the box and the metal outer, or underneath to try and hook it somehow

whitecrook is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Dec 2009, 21:58   #7
Dave L
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Somerset
Posts: 2,043
No, under no circumstances should you drive the screwdriver inbetween the seal and casing!
Dave L is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Dec 2009, 22:00   #8
Thomas. PLease.
Mobster
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: London
Posts: 4,948
Underneath and try and hook it out is what I've done. Nice fat flat bladed driver, go all the way round the edge and it dhould come eventually

Thomas. PLease. is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Dec 2009, 22:08   #9
Dave L
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Somerset
Posts: 2,043
I'm no good at doing diagrams here, otherwise I'd draw you a pic and show you how to get it out without damage.
Dave L is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Dec 2009, 22:17   #10
Dave L
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Somerset
Posts: 2,043


Last edited by Dave L; 28th Dec 2009 at 22:19.
Dave L is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Dec 2009, 22:34   #11
whitecrook
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Clydebank
Posts: 8,215
Here's some pics of it. Nothing unusual other than the 3rd, smaller seal ... http://whitecrook.ath.cx/vec_gb/

Ahh I see the pics above. Will just give it another try, only this time I'll try to be more manly and out-alpha it.

whitecrook is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Dec 2009, 22:36   #12
Dave L
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Somerset
Posts: 2,043
Piece of cake job.

Use a suitably sized socket to knock the new seal into place nice and evenly.
Dave L is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Dec 2009, 03:25   #13
mattyprice4004
Soldato
 
mattyprice4004's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Infinite Sheldon
Posts: 6,951
Never heard of seals going on an F17 box, and it's not hard to do if they do need doing.

Rather you took than chance, than rodger the seal between the gearbox and seal itself with a screwdriver!

mattyprice4004 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Dec 2009, 11:03   #14
Berger
Sgarrista
 
Berger's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 9,209
Third seal might be input shaft seal or selector rod seal?
Berger is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:31.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)