Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Graphics Cards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 1st Sep 2010, 16:51   #1
Jeps
Hitman
 
Jeps's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 677
Anybody bought a PoV GTX465 recently?

Hi

I'm looking for some info on the point of view 465 in particular. What i want to know is how many memory chips are on the card?

The reason i ask is that after doing some research, it seems that 3 models of GTX465's were unlockable to the full GTX470. These were the PNY model with a black PCB, the limited addition MSI Golden Sample and the Point of View card.

All these cards originally shipped with 10 memory chips total, even though the 465 only uses 8. I know since then that the PNY model is now shipping with a blue PCB featuring 8 memory chips but i cant find any info at all on the PoV model and if it was updated or not.

If anybody has bought one recently from OcUk i'd appriciate it if you could have a look and let me know. Should look like this



You can clearly see the 10 black memory chips around the core.
Jeps is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 1st Sep 2010, 17:03   #2
Nerusy
Wise Guy
 
Nerusy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,231
Its always a gamble
Nerusy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 1st Sep 2010, 17:08   #3
RavenXXX2
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: North West
Posts: 13,944
Buy one and if it's not a 470 then send it back under DSR.
RavenXXX2 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2010, 17:23   #4
Jeps
Hitman
 
Jeps's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 677
Well i took the gamble and ordered one. Arrived earlier today and i have just striped it naked to reveal this.



Yep, thats 10 memory chips and a GF100-275 core. Identical to the 470! Going to reassemble it now and see if i can flash it. Fingers crossed
Jeps is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2010, 19:24   #5
franco_22
Mobster
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,531
good luck
franco_22 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2010, 21:27   #6
rolypolyman
Mobster
 
rolypolyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Ayr, Scotland
Posts: 3,331
Any joy?

Gbyte Z97X-Gaming 3\I5 4690K\16GB Hyper Fury X 1866Mhz \Inno3D Air Boss 980Ti\AOC U2868PQU 28"4K 60Hz \ Superflower 1000W Titanium\Win 10 Pro 64.
rolypolyman is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2010, 21:58   #7
ac1d1ty
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,471
Good luck.
ac1d1ty is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2010, 22:37   #8
Jeps
Hitman
 
Jeps's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 677
It worked perfectly Had an issue with the flashing but got it to work eventually.

Just ran 3Dmark Vantage on performance mode and my GPU score went from 8100 to 14901!

Well chuffed
Jeps is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2010, 22:51   #9
rolypolyman
Mobster
 
rolypolyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Ayr, Scotland
Posts: 3,331
Great stuff, well done, 225 card for 165.

Gbyte Z97X-Gaming 3\I5 4690K\16GB Hyper Fury X 1866Mhz \Inno3D Air Boss 980Ti\AOC U2868PQU 28"4K 60Hz \ Superflower 1000W Titanium\Win 10 Pro 64.
rolypolyman is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2010, 23:00   #10
thingemajib
Wise Guy
 
thingemajib's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Behind you
Posts: 2,353
Wow. So there is a reason to buy the 465s

nice work


thingemajib is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2010, 23:25   #11
chaotic_uk
Mobster
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: notts , uk
Posts: 3,028
i knew i should have got one of these instead of the 5830 lol
chaotic_uk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2010, 00:41   #12
coupe69
Mobster
 
coupe69's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Staffs, UK.
Posts: 3,859
Fair play, you took a gamble and it's paid off handsomely, good work

coupe69 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2010, 00:49   #13
Nerusy
Wise Guy
 
Nerusy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,231
Don't think its such as massive gamble seen as on PoV site it states that their gtx 465 is actually 470 under the hood.

You just proved that what oc uk got in stock are actually 470's.
Nerusy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2010, 01:00   #14
stulid
Don
 
stulid's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: weston-super-mare
Posts: 64,868
that's a bargain.
stulid is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2010, 01:28   #15
Mojo
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,011
nice! Wonder how well this works with PNY or MSI. Any people with disposable income about?

Pooing like a trooper since 1989...
Mojo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2010, 09:11   #16
oweneades
Soldato
 
oweneades's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,460
Well I just ordered one of these myself.

I needed a second card for my other machine, I wanted Mafia II and I fancy having a play with what could be a GTX470.

I was going to get Mafia II anyway so even if this doesn't flash I would still have got the card for ~ 145.

Wish me luck

Xbox Live: Xaser04 | PSN: OweO
Destiny - Warlock "Pigtails" | Hunter "Moody" (v3) | Titan "Bluey" |
Xenoblade Chronicles X - Level 26 Samurai Gunner - "Pigtails"
oweneades is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2010, 09:16   #17
Sayso
Mobster
 
Sayso's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Chelmsford
Posts: 3,026
what a result..

3770K@4.4/MSI 290/Fractal Arc Midi/WaterCooled
Sayso is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2010, 18:23   #18
oweneades
Soldato
 
oweneades's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeps View Post
It worked perfectly Had an issue with the flashing but got it to work eventually.

Just ran 3Dmark Vantage on performance mode and my GPU score went from 8100 to 14901!

Well chuffed
Hi mate,

Do you have a link to the BIOS you used.

Also did you follow the normal guide of using nv flash?

Xbox Live: Xaser04 | PSN: OweO
Destiny - Warlock "Pigtails" | Hunter "Moody" (v3) | Titan "Bluey" |
Xenoblade Chronicles X - Level 26 Samurai Gunner - "Pigtails"
oweneades is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2010, 22:23   #19
Drukk
Hitman
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerusy View Post
Don't think its such as massive gamble seen as on PoV site it states that their gtx 465 is actually 470 under the hood.

You just proved that what oc uk got in stock are actually 470's.

I could n't see it saying that anywhere on the POV site. Can you link it?

Tempted to take a gamble on this myself , did the same along time ago to unlock some pipes on a card, can't remember what it was now but its always a risk. If it does n't flash I really would n't want a 465.
Drukk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2010, 22:35   #20
Nerusy
Wise Guy
 
Nerusy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drukk View Post
I could n't see it saying that anywhere on the POV site. Can you link it?

Tempted to take a gamble on this myself , did the same along time ago to unlock some pipes on a card, can't remember what it was now but its always a risk. If it does n't flash I really would n't want a 465.
as was said before, if its not 470 just send it back under Distant selling regulation. By law if I remember correctly they must even refund the delivering costs too (they didn't when I used DSR but I didn't mind it).

http://www.pointofview-online.com/de...ail&news_id=91
Nerusy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2010, 22:43   #21
BigBruiserAl
Mobster
 
BigBruiserAl's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Co. Durham
Posts: 3,319
I was about to give one of these a go and found this over xs

"Of the 12 cards we have tested, 4 "unlocked", 3 recognized the BIOS but didn't "unlock" and 5 are now paper weights".

ill pay the 225

I7 4Ghz | Asus RE3 | G.Skill Tridents 12GB | Corsair RM 750W | Intel X25-M SSD | Silverstone FT02B | MSI R9 390 8GB | Asus Xonar DX |
Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic
BigBruiserAl is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2010, 22:51   #22
Nerusy
Wise Guy
 
Nerusy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBruiserAl View Post
I was about to give one of these a go and found this over xs

"Of the 12 cards we have tested, 4 "unlocked", 3 recognized the BIOS but didn't "unlock" and 5 are now paper weights".

ill pay the 225
actually, I'd have to agree with you, lets remember that flashing also voids warranty.
Nerusy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2010, 00:22   #23
ac1d1ty
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBruiserAl View Post
I was about to give one of these a go and found this over xs

"Of the 12 cards we have tested, 4 "unlocked", 3 recognized the BIOS but didn't "unlock" and 5 are now paper weights".

ill pay the 225
I bet the OP is ****ting himself with relief now
ac1d1ty is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2010, 08:30   #24
oweneades
Soldato
 
oweneades's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBruiserAl View Post
I was about to give one of these a go and found this over xs

"Of the 12 cards we have tested, 4 "unlocked", 3 recognized the BIOS but didn't "unlock" and 5 are now paper weights".

ill pay the 225
It should be noted that there is alot of confusion over the ability of the GTX465 to unlock. The cards xs used were simply retail samples that physically only had 8 memory chips (when they state unlock they really mean the card shows as a GTX470). Only cards with 10 physical memory chips will unlock properly (they literally are a GTX470 with a GTX 465 bios).

There is a thread over at overclock3d.net (IIRC) which has a list of retail GTX465's (examples) and shows whether they have the required amount of memory chips. Only 3 (types) of GTX465's will unlock properly in the retail channel:

PNY GTX 465 with a black PCB (now becoming rare, replaced with a blue PCB model with only 8 physical memory chips).

POV GTX465 - all appear to have the full ten memory chips.

MSI GTX 465 twin frozr Gold Edition (I couldn't see this listed in the UK).

If the card isn't one of hte above it will not unlock properly (or at all).

Hopefully this will clear up some confusion.

Xbox Live: Xaser04 | PSN: OweO
Destiny - Warlock "Pigtails" | Hunter "Moody" (v3) | Titan "Bluey" |
Xenoblade Chronicles X - Level 26 Samurai Gunner - "Pigtails"
oweneades is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2010, 10:13   #25
Jeps
Hitman
 
Jeps's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 677
Quote:
Originally Posted by oweneades View Post
Hi mate,

Do you have a link to the BIOS you used.

Also did you follow the normal guide of using nv flash?
I used the bios from the unlock pack in this thread

If anybody does want to try this, i strongly recomend that you make a backup of the cards original bios first. Heres how.

Download GPU-z and Nibitor

Open up GPU-z and click the little icon with the green arrow next to your bios version. Click save to file and call it GTX465. This will save it as a bin file but nvflash can only read rom files so open Nibitor and load the gtx465 bin file you just created. Then click save BIOS and make sure you save it as a rom file. Copy the gtx465.rom file over to your memory stick along with the 470 bios just in case.

Also make sure that the only card in your system is the card you want to flash. I made the mistake of leaving my physx card in and nvflash let me erase the EEPROM of the 465 but would not let me flash a new bios onto the card! If this happens to you don't panic. Restart your PC with only the 465 in. (you will have no display at this point as the card has no bios) Wait for your PC to boot to the memory stick and then type:

nvflash -4 -5 -6 -A -y gtx470.rom

Or if you went through the flashing process previously and you card did not unlock:

nvflash -4 -5 -6 -A -y gtx465.rom

This will tell nvflash to force flash the bios with no user input and then reboot. So just sit back and wait for your PC to reboot and you should have display again and either a nice 470 or your original 465 undamaged
Jeps is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2010, 10:16   #26
oweneades
Soldato
 
oweneades's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeps View Post
I used the bios from the unlock pack in this thread

If anybody does want to try this, i strongly recomend that you make a backup of the cards original bios first. Heres how.

Download GPU-z and Nibitor

Open up GPU-z and click the little icon with the green arrow next to your bios version. Click save to file and call it GTX465. This will save it as a bin file but nvflash can only read rom files so open Nibitor and load the gtx465 bin file you just created. Then click save BIOS and make sure you save it as a rom file. Copy the gtx465.rom file over to your memory stick along with the 470 bios just in case.

Also make sure that the only card in your system is the card you want to flash. I made the mistake of leaving my physx card in and nvflash let me erase the EEPROM of the 465 but would not let me flash a new bios onto the card! If this happens to you don't panic. Restart your PC with only the 465 in. (you will have no display at this point as the card has no bios) Wait for your PC to boot to the memory stick and then type:

nvflash -4 -5 -6 -A -y gtx470.rom

Or if you went through the flashing process previously and you card did not unlock:

nvflash -4 -5 -6 -A -y gtx465.rom

This will tell nvflash to force flash the bios with no user input and then reboot. So just sit back and wait for your PC to reboot and you should have display again and either a nice 470 or your original 465 undamaged
Excellent thanks mate. The guide you linked above is saved down in my favourites (on my second machine so I can follow it step by step). Thanks for the guide on how to save down the 465 bios as well. I was just about to research this.

Xbox Live: Xaser04 | PSN: OweO
Destiny - Warlock "Pigtails" | Hunter "Moody" (v3) | Titan "Bluey" |
Xenoblade Chronicles X - Level 26 Samurai Gunner - "Pigtails"
oweneades is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2010, 10:45   #27
Greebo
Capodecina
 
Greebo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Co Durham
Posts: 20,063
As Oweneadesb stated, nobody has yet bricked their PNY or POV so long as it has 10 memory chips and the gtx470 core.

The only hit and miss thing seems to be that some unlocked gtx465 require a bit more voltage than a gtx470 to be stable. I guess that's why they are binned 470 cores and been used in the first place.

Also note that so long as you back up the bios or have a copy and have a spare card you can always reflash the card with the old bios if it does happen to fail.

To me having a gtx470 for 165 is worth the gamble and I just added two to my basket.

And before anybody says I haven't got an SLI board, I am upgrading my system next week to i7 so grabbing two upgradable gtx465's while I can.

throw in two waterblocks at 58 each and for 446 I will hopefully have some nice overclocked gtx 470 in SLI which isn't bad and a hell of a lot of gpu power for the money and less than sone single gtx480's were at launch I beleive?

Also I should get about 270 for my current 5850 plus waterblock plus BFG 9800GTX+ plus waterblock so about 176 to upgrade.

5820K @ 4.6Ghz, Gigabyte SOC Force X99, 16Gb Hyperx 2667 C15, 2 x 290x, Custom Water Loop, Samsung 951 SSD, Samsung 930 SSD, 4 x 2 TB WD Ent in Raid 5, Benq 32" 4k
Last edited by Greebo; 5th Sep 2010 at 11:11.
Greebo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2010, 10:50   #28
darkwildchild79
Gangster
 
darkwildchild79's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 457
does anyone know the part numbers it would be a shame to spend that amount and find out that i have the 8 chip instead of 10
darkwildchild79 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2010, 11:15   #29
Greebo
Capodecina
 
Greebo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Co Durham
Posts: 20,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkwildchild79 View Post
does anyone know the part numbers it would be a shame to spend that amount and find out that i have the 8 chip instead of 10
You can always return under DSR. It seems current stock of ocuk POV are 10 chip with the gtx470 core. How long that will last is unsure.

And if you don't fancy taking it to bits to check (the only sure way) you can try the Asus supplied software which they give away with their gtx465 which unlocks the cores although not the memory. It's called gtx465 upgrade.

If it works then you are sure you have a gtx470 core. Chances are you will have 10 memory chips as well and then can double check by removing the cooler.

5820K @ 4.6Ghz, Gigabyte SOC Force X99, 16Gb Hyperx 2667 C15, 2 x 290x, Custom Water Loop, Samsung 951 SSD, Samsung 930 SSD, 4 x 2 TB WD Ent in Raid 5, Benq 32" 4k
Greebo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2010, 12:08   #30
rolypolyman
Mobster
 
rolypolyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Ayr, Scotland
Posts: 3,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drukk View Post
I could n't see it saying that anywhere on the POV site. Can you link it?

Tempted to take a gamble on this myself , did the same along time ago to unlock some pipes on a card, can't remember what it was now but its always a risk. If it does n't flash I really would n't want a 465.
If you look at the specs of the 465, here, it actually states the graphics chip is a 470.

Gbyte Z97X-Gaming 3\I5 4690K\16GB Hyper Fury X 1866Mhz \Inno3D Air Boss 980Ti\AOC U2868PQU 28"4K 60Hz \ Superflower 1000W Titanium\Win 10 Pro 64.
rolypolyman is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:39.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)