Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Storage Drives

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th Dec 2010, 19:26   #1
lay-z-boy
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Nantwich
Posts: 9,236
Exclamation Samsung F4EG Firmware Update *1.5/2TB*

For anyone using an F4EG to store data, you may be interested in this firmware update.

It stops the potential data corruption/errors if an identify command is send to the drive.

http://www.samsung.com/global/busine...bbs_msg_id=386

lay-z-boy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 03:46   #2
EdwardTeach
Mobster
 
EdwardTeach's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,007
Thanks for pointing this out. I am a bit stuck following the instructions from Samsung.

I have downloaded the f4EG program and put it on a usb - now what to I do?
How do i make the USB "bootable media"?

How do I ensure that this F4EG program does not do anything to my 3 other hard drives?
EdwardTeach is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 12:58   #3
Lord Alibaski
Hitman
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 980
Will all data thats on the drive already be ok when using this firmware update?
Lord Alibaski is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 15:07   #4
zpos
Wise Guy
 
zpos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,366
Ooh, I'm having the exact same issue trying to create a bootable CD containing the firmware update.
zpos is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 15:39   #5
EdwardTeach
Mobster
 
EdwardTeach's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,007
I think we need to create a bootable disk, and put the firmware update on it - i dont know how to make a bootable disk though!
EdwardTeach is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 15:41   #6
zpos
Wise Guy
 
zpos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,366
I've made several bootable discs using standard .iso available. However, what I'm struggling to do is get access to the F4EG.exe file to run the damn thing. I can't access the hard disk or usb drives on any of the bootable cd's I've burnt.

I've wasted 4 dsics already. Great fun this.
Last edited by zpos; 23rd Dec 2010 at 15:43. Reason: ..it's beginning to impact my spelling too ;)
zpos is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 15:47   #7
MikeHunt79
Capodecina
 
MikeHunt79's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: \_(ツ)_/
Posts: 20,838
How do I know if my drive if version F4EG?

I only know my drive is an HD204UI:


I seem to be running firmware 1AQ1, is this version newer?

EDIT: To make a bootable USB disk you need to install freeDOS first then copy across the .EXE file.


Everything in moderation. Including moderation itself.
MikeHunt79 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 15:56   #8
zpos
Wise Guy
 
zpos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,366
My firmware is 1AQ10001 but I think the updated version is 1AQ10003.

I used the ESTOOL available from the samsung site to get this info and had to change a setting as the drive was the wrong size. Samsung did provide a bootable version so it made life easy to boot into the tool.

Unfortunately, my PC won't boot into anything USB. I need a CD to get going. It's probably an old motherboard BIOS but hey, I need to get to DOS to upgrade that too.. oh the irony.
zpos is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 16:06   #9
MikeHunt79
Capodecina
 
MikeHunt79's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: \_(ツ)_/
Posts: 20,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by zpos View Post
My firmware is 1AQ10001 but I think the updated version is 1AQ10003.
Cheers, I'm gonna go for an update.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zpos View Post
Unfortunately, my PC won't boot into anything USB. I need a CD to get going. It's probably an old motherboard BIOS but hey, I need to get to DOS to upgrade that too.. oh the irony.
I have a 10 year computer that will boot from USB, what motherboard do you have? If you can't boot from USB then it may be worth hooking up and old floppy drive if only for a BIOS update!


Everything in moderation. Including moderation itself.
MikeHunt79 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 16:20   #10
zpos
Wise Guy
 
zpos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,366
My motherboard is Gigabyte GA P35C-DS3R. The bios gives me all the options to boot from usb-hdd,usb-floppy,usb-zip) but just doesn't do anything and sits there.

Maybe I've not prepared the memory sticks properly.
zpos is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 16:33   #11
EdwardTeach
Mobster
 
EdwardTeach's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeHunt79 View Post
How do I know if my drive if version F4EG?

I only know my drive is an HD204UI:


I seem to be running firmware 1AQ1, is this version newer?

EDIT: To make a bootable USB disk you need to install freeDOS first then copy across the .EXE file.
You mean install Freedos on a USB key/CD?
EdwardTeach is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 16:37   #12
rupert88
Associate
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Thumbs up

Every computer ive seen made since about 2002/03 can support usb boot. It shouldnt matter what boot option you pick USB HDD is what i always seem to go for.

Youll usually need to hold a hotkey during boot to get this menu on my motherboard its F12, but refer to your motherboards manual

You need this, to create a bootable usb drive:
http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=197

and you will also need to source MSDOS boot files. When you format your usb stick ensure FAT/FAT32 is selected and you have ticked "create a DOS startup disk".

[After copying the firmware upgrade program over]
It is just a case of typing "dir" and running the program with an .exe (Executable extension) possibly with certain arguments OR there may be an autoexec.bat which you can run (this should get invoked automatically however).

I usually look up the arguments that i have to type in and prefer to backup my ROM before flashing it but its up to you.

Hope this helps!
Last edited by rupert88; 23rd Dec 2010 at 16:40.
rupert88 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 17:00   #13
zpos
Wise Guy
 
zpos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,366
Just tried it again using the HP tool and the windows 98 files. No joy and it wont boot to DOS. Even plugged the usb stick into the rear motherboard usb ports.

I will try again with another stick just in case this one is playing funny buggers.
zpos is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 17:04   #14
MikeHunt79
Capodecina
 
MikeHunt79's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: \_(ツ)_/
Posts: 20,838
Firmware upgraded, you have to cycle the power once it's done otherwise your HD won't be detected...
Quote:
Originally Posted by EdwardTeach View Post
You mean install Freedos on a USB key/CD?
Yes, I have FreeDos installed on a USB stick, which allows you to read files from the USB stick in DOS. I've now upgraded my firmware and ran ESTOOL from my USB stick, works a treat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zpos View Post
My motherboard is Gigabyte GA P35C-DS3R. The bios gives me all the options to boot from usb-hdd,usb-floppy,usb-zip) but just doesn't do anything and sits there.

Maybe I've not prepared the memory sticks properly.
Lol, your using a newer board than me! I'm using a GA-P965-DS3...

Keep tapping F12 when you see the BIOS screen. When you the the boot choice menu, go to "Hard Disks". Your USB stick should be there. If not then something is wrong...


Everything in moderation. Including moderation itself.
MikeHunt79 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 17:52   #15
zpos
Wise Guy
 
zpos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,366
Ok, the killer statement is the bit where you said "Go to hard disks". I was foolishly going to usb-hdd. I have now managed to boot into DOS ok. Phew!

I ran the F4EG and it appeared to do it's business to both my 2TB hard disks. I got a bit carried away and also decided to do a bios update too.

Only thing is now the damn ESTOOLS won't work as it runs out of stack space. I even tried the version of that worked yesterday via a bootable cd. Dang, wonder if something in the bios has changed.

Anyway, just checked in windows and the firmware description still appears to be 1AQ10001 so I'm not sure what is going on.

Anyway, at least I have made some progress today.
zpos is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 18:13   #16
.:SAmSuNG:.
Mobster
 
.:SAmSuNG:.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,996
Does this erase everything on the drive when you do this?
.:SAmSuNG:. is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 18:16   #17
zpos
Wise Guy
 
zpos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,366
Device Manager
Disk Drives
Double click the 2TB (SAMSUNG HD204UI ATA Device)
Click Details Tab
Under the Property drop down, select Hardware Ids

This should present you with info in the Value field.

There should be no loss of data with running the update but don't come suing me if you lose your secret stash.
zpos is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 18:35   #18
.:SAmSuNG:.
Mobster
 
.:SAmSuNG:.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,996
Well thought it updated fine but still has same firmware. Owell may try again sometime.
.:SAmSuNG:. is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2010, 22:15   #19
EdwardTeach
Mobster
 
EdwardTeach's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,007
I still have no idea what I need to do here guys!

Can someone give me an idiots guide to creating a bootable usb key.

Do i need to format the USB key first? if so lets start there.
EdwardTeach is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Dec 2010, 08:03   #20
zpos
Wise Guy
 
zpos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,366
Ok, use the link that rupert88 provided above, i.e. http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=197

You need to download two lots of files. There are links for it on that page. One is:
HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool - v2.1.8 and equates to a file called SP27608.exe

The other are the MSDOS files which are needed to get the boot files. On that page, they are referred to as "Windows 98 System Files". This equates to a file called win98boot.zip

You need to extract all the files in win98boot.zip to a folder and remember that folder.

Next, you need to install the HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool using the SP27608.exe file you downloaded earlier.

Once you have installed it, run it and you will be presented with a screenshot shown in the link provided by rupert88.

Change Device: to your usb stick
Set File system to FAT32
tick Quick format
tick Create a DOS startup disk
and then click "using DOS system files located at:" and point it at the folder you extracted the windows 98 files.

Click start.

This will format your usb stick so it can boot into it.

You then need to copy the F4EG.exe file onto the stick.

You can now boot into the usb stick making sure you select switch the boot order accordingly.

Hope that helps?
zpos is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Dec 2010, 10:53   #21
slowrunner
Hitman
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: hull, East Yorkshire
Posts: 708
Just followed zpos's instructions and it worked for me, kinda.

Booted off the stick fine, loaded up fine, but won't detect my F4, or one of my F3's.

Ran estool and same thing. I'm thinking it's because the 2 drives neither program can find are on ports 4 and 5, after my dvd drive on port 3 (drives on ports 0,1 + 2 are detected fine), don't feel like dragging the box out again to move sata cables about after spending 3 hours reorganising it all yesterday though, so stuff it.

i5 2500k, NeroS, P8Z68-V PRO, 8GB Kingston Hyper-X, HD4670, Corsair Force 3 120GB SSD, Samsung HD322HJ, HD103SJ x2, HD204UI x2, Solar Eclipse clone.
slowrunner is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Dec 2010, 12:17   #22
zpos
Wise Guy
 
zpos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,366
Ok, it's not unusual that the firmware number does not change. However, I remain unconvinced that the firmware was actually applied tho!

More details here, http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1566067&page=6
zpos is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Dec 2010, 00:29   #23
slowrunner
Hitman
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: hull, East Yorkshire
Posts: 708
Gave in and sorted it, result was a clunking noise until I realised the drive was touching a fan. estool and windows still report firmware as 1AQ10001 for me too.

i5 2500k, NeroS, P8Z68-V PRO, 8GB Kingston Hyper-X, HD4670, Corsair Force 3 120GB SSD, Samsung HD322HJ, HD103SJ x2, HD204UI x2, Solar Eclipse clone.
slowrunner is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Dec 2010, 18:19   #24
marktime
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 1,192
Just updated my 2 new 2Tb F4s and thought I would post a quick addition to what people have been saying so far.

Formatted a usb drive using USB Boot with FAT32 sys files, then stuck the F4EG.EXE file on it.

Booted with this (using system in sig) and ran the exe, didn't detatch any other drive in my system. Seemed to run something and gave a list of addresses/ids etc. on the F4 drive, reported that the firmware was not available to the other 4 drives it found. There was NO message saying it was updating or that it had been sucessful hence I was sceptical it had acually applied anything.

Tried the same routine again only switched from AHCI to IDE, exactly the same result.

Ended up running it from a spare p31 board I had with only the F4 attached. This time it confirmed it was updating the firmware and I got a success message after about 5 secs.

under hardware ID in the drive properties, however, it still says

IDE\DiskSAMSUNG_HD204UI_________________________1A Q10001

which I'm pretty sure hasn't changed from before. Reading around the boards a lot of people are confirming this update doesn't change this value so I'm not too worried.

So, in conclusion, looks like you have to unplug all your other drives for this to take effect, or find another board if you don't want to have to do this.

Hope this helps.

i7-4790@4.6Ghz | H80 | Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H | Antec TruePower New 750W |16Gb Xtreem LV PC3-21300C11 | EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX 2.0 | AOC U3477PQU |
512Gb Crucial M550 | 150Gb VelociRaptor | 3Tb WD30EZRX | Logitech G700s | Corsair K95 RGB
marktime is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Dec 2010, 16:16   #25
EdwardTeach
Mobster
 
EdwardTeach's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by zpos View Post
Ok, use the link that rupert88 provided above, i.e. http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=197

You need to download two lots of files. There are links for it on that page. One is:
HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool - v2.1.8 and equates to a file called SP27608.exe

The other are the MSDOS files which are needed to get the boot files. On that page, they are referred to as "Windows 98 System Files". This equates to a file called win98boot.zip

You need to extract all the files in win98boot.zip to a folder and remember that folder.

Next, you need to install the HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool using the SP27608.exe file you downloaded earlier.

Once you have installed it, run it and you will be presented with a screenshot shown in the link provided by rupert88.

Change Device: to your usb stick
Set File system to FAT32
tick Quick format
tick Create a DOS startup disk
and then click "using DOS system files located at:" and point it at the folder you extracted the windows 98 files.

Click start.

This will format your usb stick so it can boot into it.

You then need to copy the F4EG.exe file onto the stick.

You can now boot into the usb stick making sure you select switch the boot order accordingly.

Hope that helps?
Thanks for the advice (and thanks to everyone who has posted above).

I am trying to use the HP tool. I get stuck at this point:


http://img41.imageshack.us/img41/5880/hpdevice.jpg

I select the HPUSBFW - i presume this is the for windows version.

Then I get to the screen you see - it is not possible to select any device from the drop down menu.

I click on "start" figuring it will detect any devices i have plugged it.

It basically stall at this point any nothing happens.

Any help or advice would be really appreciated. Is ther any alternative to using this HP tool?

note - i have tried downloading the tool twice and tried two different usb keys.
EdwardTeach is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Dec 2010, 19:17   #26
Lord Alibaski
Hitman
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 980
Use this tool to format the usb then just copy the exe file over.

http://www.intowindows.com/bootable-usb/
Lord Alibaski is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2010, 05:51   #27
zpos
Wise Guy
 
zpos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,366
EdwardTeach, you're running the correct exe so I'm not sure why it can't locate your usb keys. I take it the usb keys show ok in Explorer?

Try Lord Alibaski's technique.

Or, an alternative alternative method: http://hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=189
Last edited by zpos; 31st Dec 2010 at 06:18.
zpos is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 1st Jan 2011, 22:28   #28
Eiji
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 74
I've updated my drive many times because the FW version number doesn't change from 1AQ10001 to 1AQ10003. I've tried with HP USB Format Tool and FreeDOS along with F4EG.EXE.

I have no idea whether my HD204UI has been patched as I can patch it again and again and again. I have tried patching it on its on as SATA 1 drive and with other SATA and IDE drives connected and the result is the same, FW ver doesn't change and I can still patch.

I have been patching with ACHI off as motherboard is Asus P5N-D which doesn't support ACHI.
Last edited by Eiji; 1st Jan 2011 at 22:30.
Eiji is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jan 2011, 00:13   #29
MikeHunt79
Capodecina
 
MikeHunt79's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: \_(ツ)_/
Posts: 20,838
I use FreeDos myself on the USB stick.

My fw version still says 1AQ10001 however...

I see the update fixes this issue: "It stops the potential data corruption/errors if an identify command is send to the drive."

How likely am I do lose data if I'm still running the old firmware? What causes the identify command to be sent to the drive?


Everything in moderation. Including moderation itself.
MikeHunt79 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jan 2011, 14:33   #30
subbass
Hitman
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeHunt79 View Post
I use FreeDos myself on the USB stick.

My fw version still says 1AQ10001 however...

I see the update fixes this issue: "It stops the potential data corruption/errors if an identify command is send to the drive."

How likely am I do lose data if I'm still running the old firmware? What causes the identify command to be sent to the drive?
I'd like to know this too.
subbass is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:01.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)