Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Servers and Enterprise Solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd Feb 2011, 11:24   #1
MikeHunt79
Capodecina
 
MikeHunt79's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: \_(ツ)_/
Posts: 20,838
Question Where can I get a console (RJ-45 to DB-9) adaptor for an Alcatel Lucent OmniSwitch 6850?

Hi, does anyone know where I can get one of these cables? Preferably somewhere near Bristol...

If not does anyone know where I can find the wiring info so I can make my own cable? Thanks.


Everything in moderation. Including moderation itself.
MikeHunt79 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2011, 11:36   #2
MikeHiow
Banned
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Isle of Wight
Posts: 7,543
I have a shed load of Cisco ones here somewhere. More than happy to send one out if you want to try it.
MikeHiow is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2011, 12:13   #3
MikeHunt79
Capodecina
 
MikeHunt79's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: \_(ツ)_/
Posts: 20,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeHiow View Post
I have a shed load of Cisco ones here somewhere. More than happy to send one out if you want to try it.
Thanks for the offer. However, I've got someone going to get me a Cisco one right now, and I'm crossing my fingers and hoping that the wiring in the Alcatel Lucent switches matches the Cisco switches...

If it doesn't them I'm going to have to make my own cable... I'm looking thru the PDF's right now trying trying to find the pin-out of the switch.


Everything in moderation. Including moderation itself.
MikeHunt79 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2011, 14:42   #4
DRZ
Soldato
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: In the top 1%
Posts: 6,671
I used to manage a stack of 6850s here and although I've not plugged in a console cable into one in a while I seem to remember it being a type other than the Cisco cable, but dont quote me on that.

You will grow to hate these switches btw, they are utter ****.

| DRZ | BMW E89 Z4 sDrive35i DCT | Surface Pro 4 |
DRZ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2011, 15:17   #5
paradigm
Caporegime
 
paradigm's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Macclesfield, Cheshire
Posts: 31,837
They are indeed different.

Cisco Console Cable:

COM Port - RJ45

1 ---------- X
2 ---------- 3
3 ---------- 6
4 ---------- 7
5 ---------- 4
6 ---------- 2
7 ---------- 8
8 ---------- 1
9 ---------- X

The Alcatel cable has this pinout:

COM Port - RJ45

1 ---------- X
2 ---------- 6
3 ---------- 3
4 ---------- 2
5 ---------- 4
6 ---------- 7
7 ---------- 1
8 ---------- 8
9 ---------- X

Which can be seen on this diagram: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_Fduwa95b3A...el+console.jpg


| shinobi XL | i7 3820 @ 5.1 GHz | P9X79 PRO | 32GB DDR3 | GTX 970 SLI | 512GB SSD |
paradigm is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:00.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)