Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Life > Mobile Phones & Tablets

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th Jul 2011, 14:34   #1
pioneer2000
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 4,158
3 Sim only 600 & iPhone tethering

I've just switched to 3 with a sim only 600 contract and am trying to ascertain whether or not I can use the tethering feature that having a 3 sim enables?

3 seem to suggest I cannot, as it is only available on the ONE plan... but how would they know? I was hoping I could use tethering via iOS (with any usage coming our of my data allowance) as have been using MiWi previously without any additional charges obviously.

They're also saying that 3 charge 10p per MB over your data limit.... does that sound correct? Do they not provide a warning once your near your limit?

Last edited by pioneer2000; 18th Jul 2011 at 14:39.
pioneer2000 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jul 2011, 14:39   #2
Robbo
Underboss
 
Robbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 48,283
Three wont enable it on the iPhone, you have to Jailbreak in order to tether unless you're on The One Plan (or have all you can eat data).

Robbo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jul 2011, 15:02   #3
pioneer2000
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 4,158
Well the option is enabled and I can activate tethering... so a bit confused why it's enabled if it's only allowed on "The One Plan"?
pioneer2000 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jul 2011, 15:03   #4
Robbo
Underboss
 
Robbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 48,283
Ah, ok then. I imagine it will come out of your data plan as normal then.

You probably will get a warning when near the limit, but I'd check with them.

Robbo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jul 2011, 15:08   #5
pioneer2000
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 4,158
Well that's what's weird- i've asked 3 and they say it's only available on the one plan... Am wondering if I use it, will I be charged extra...

3 website clearly says: "Internet allowance is not for use as a modem. 10p/MB if allowance exceeded. Terms apply." hmmmmm
Last edited by pioneer2000; 18th Jul 2011 at 15:11.
pioneer2000 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2011, 12:21   #6
LPC-6
Associate
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 37
I think as long as you don't go over your allowance you're fine.I have a plan with 2gb of data, and use it with a internet stick occasionally, never been charged. I think tethering with a mobile device should be fine. Give it a try and check your balance online, if you get charged, then stop...
LPC-6 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:55.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)