Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Overclocking & Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th Nov 2011, 14:40   #1
Tekgun
Gangster
 
Tekgun's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 420
MSI GD65 Z68 (G3) Quick Auto Voltage OC Guide and Reference

Hi all, thought I would write a quick guide on my settings for the MSI Z68 GD65 (G3) and it's UEFI BIOS


Remember your mileage may vary...

Useful Links
Official MSI GD65 Z68 (G3) Downloads
MSI User Forums

Why would you want to overclock with the CPU voltage set to auto?
Well it seems that to get the power saving features to work properly you need to keep the CPU Core Voltage set to auto.
When the CPU voltage is set manually, the multiplier will drop but the volts remain at the manually set level. So if you would like to have the voltage at <1.0 on idle but still have a nice OC when you load the CPU then this could be a good route to take.

This method will use EIST (Enhanced Intel Speedstep Technology) and Intel Turbo Boost to overclock your CPU.

Load up the BIOS and navigate to the "Overclocking settings" tab on the left.

Here you should see the first page of the overclocking settings.



CPU Base Frequency [10kHz] 10000

Adjust CPU Ratio [34]
Note I have left this at 34 as we will be using the Intel Turbo Boost to get the overclock.

Adjust CPU ratio in OS [Disabled]

Internal PLL Overvoltage [Disabled]
Originally I had this set to enabled, however at my 24/7 OC @4.5 mine is stable when disabled. I have read when enabled it can cause problems when using Sleep.

EIST [Enabled]
We need this enabled to allow the Turbo Boost to work.

Intel Turbo Boost [Enabled]
The limit of the Turbo Boost will be set later on in the "CPU Features" section.

DRAM Frequency [DDR3-1600Mhz]
Set this to the required speed of your own RAM.

Extreme Memory Profile(XMP) [Disabled]
I have mine disabled but you can enable if you like just remember to manually set the DRAM Voltage.

DRAM Timing Mode [Link]
Using this option will allow you to set the Advanced DRAM Configuration.

Advanced DRAM Configuration
In here you can configure your memory timings, I have set the first five manually according to my RAM specifications from G Skill.



Spread Spectrum [Disabled]

VDroop Control [Low VDroop]
Set this to Low VDroop to help limit any fluctuation in voltage when the system is under load.

CPU Core Voltage [Auto]
Left on Auto to allow the power saving features to function.

CPU I/O Voltage [Auto]

DRAM Voltage [1.507 V]
Set manually as the motherboard tends to set the volts below the recommended for my RAM.

Onto the second page of the "Overclocking Settings"



GPU Voltage [Auto]

System Agent Voltage(SA) [Auto]

CPU PLL Voltage [1.800000 V]
Set manually just to prevent it from being set to high by the MB.

DDR_VREF_CA_A [Auto]
DDR_VREF_CA_B [Auto]
DDR_VREF_DA_A [Auto]
DDR_VREF_DA_B [Auto]
PCH 1.05 [Auto]

Next navigate into the "CPU Features" section.



Hyper-threading [Enabled]

Active Processor Cores [All]

Limit CPUID Maximum [Disabled]

Execute Disable Bit [Enabled]

Intel Virtualization Tech [Enabled]

Power technology [Custom]

C1E Support [Disabled]
Possibly better performance than using C-State (needs confirmation) can also be used in conjunction with C-States

OverSpeed Protection [Disabled]

Intel C-State [Enabled]
Lower vcore on idle than C1E

Intel C-State limit [C2]
Originally set to Auto, but changed to C2 to enhance performance.

Long duration power limit(W) 200

Long duration maintained(ms) 1000

Short duration power limit(W) 250

Primary plane turbo power limit(W) 0

Secondary plane turbo power limit(W) 0

Now comes the interesting bit... the following will give the Intel Turbo Boost the limits of the Overclock. You may need to start lower down, say from 42-45 and see if your PC will load into Windows and is stable.
I started from 45 and found out I can go to 48 which is obviously 4.8GHz.
At 48 I can load Windows, can do 10 passes of very high with IBT, and is Prime stable for 6 hours. That's as much stability testing as I have done so far.
At 49 I can load Windows but as soon as any real load goes on the CPU it will bluescreen.


1-Core ratio Limit 48
2-Core ratio Limit 48
3-Core ratio Limit 48
4-Core ratio Limit 48


Next onto the Power settings under the "Energy Saving" tab.



EUP 2013 [Disabled]
CPU Phase Control [Intel SVID Mode]
Motherboard LED Control [Auto]
C1E support [Disabled]
Intel C-state [Enabled]
Package C State limit [C2]

And that's it just go to the "Mainboard settings" Tab save settings and reboot.

Once you are in Windows the power saving features should be enabled, giving you lower clocks and volts when you don't need them,



And a nice OC when you do


Last edited by Tekgun; 23rd Dec 2011 at 09:21. Reason: Added more details.
Tekgun is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Nov 2011, 18:59   #2
MichaelM
Wise Guy
 
MichaelM's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 1,221
Good job, I don't think many people went with MSI z68 so didn't think it was worth discussing.

My 24/7 auto voltage overclock is slightly different in that I went with upping the multiplier to 47, disabled turbo and set the Intel C-State to C2.
So perhaps your way is better. I will fiddle with it more this weekend hopefully.

How did you get screenshots of the UEFI BIOS btw?

Last edited by MichaelM; 11th Nov 2011 at 19:13.
MichaelM is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Nov 2011, 19:29   #3
Tekgun
Gangster
 
Tekgun's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 420
Thanks, I haven't had the board long, so there might be better ways of doing thing's but it's a start.
To take screen shots in the BIOS which is a cool feature I think, just plug in a USB key and press F12 and they get saved on the key

47's quite good for a 2500k at least on auto, nice job.

Tekgun is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 04:56   #4
dalehitchy1
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 430
Newb when it comes to Overclocking so thought I'd ask you as I have the same board.

I've upped the multiplyer to 42.... And just that... It it works.. But I'm getting temps of 72 degrees on an anted 920 when running prime95. Is there anything else I should be Changing too?

Also...Anything above 42 gives me a bsod... Is there a reason why or setting I need to change.
dalehitchy1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 10:44   #5
dalehitchy1
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 430
:-P
dalehitchy1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 10:54   #6
Broken Hope
Soldato
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 7,264
Seems pretty hot for that cooler and clock speed, how much volts is being put through the CPU? With mine on auto at 4.4GHz I only get a max of 72c with a Gelid Tranquillo.

That's running Intel Burn Test with 6GB of RAM allocated for 50 runs. Prime 95 on blend mine only reaches around 60c.

Intel 2500K@4.4GHz|8GB DDR3|MSI Z68A GD65
Gigabyte GTX670 Windforce 3X|Asus Xonar D2X
Samsung Evo 250GB|Samsung 830 256GB|Lian Li PC-90
Broken Hope is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 11:29   #7
Tekgun
Gangster
 
Tekgun's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalehitchy1 View Post
Newb when it comes to Overclocking so thought I'd ask you as I have the same board.

I've upped the multiplyer to 42.... And just that... It it works.. But I'm getting temps of 72 degrees on an anted 920 when running prime95. Is there anything else I should be Changing too?

Also...Anything above 42 gives me a bsod... Is there a reason why or setting I need to change.
It does seem a bit too hot for 42, personally I would try reseating the cooler with a new application of TIM. Like Broken Hope said check how much voltage is being put through on load.
From what I've read most people seem to get between 44-47 with auto voltage, so unless you were really unlucky with the CPU maybe it's something else that's causing the bsod, what BIOS version are you running?

Tekgun is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 11:44   #8
nshire
Hitman
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Taunton
Posts: 678
Installed GD65 G3 myself yesterday only using stock cooler atm but will become handy when I do get silver arrow/noctua.

ASUS Maximus Ranger, Intel i7 4790k, MSI Gaming GTX 980
Teamgroup 16GB, Corsair AX860 Corsair 750D
nshire is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 11:48   #9
Tekgun
Gangster
 
Tekgun's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 420
Nice choice

Tekgun is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 13:29   #10
dalehitchy1
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 430
ill have another blast at it again later and get some thermal paste for my antec 920. i get around 45 degrees when idle.. but like i said around 72 with prime95 running.

what would anyone suggest for overclocking.. for 24 hour usage.. my computer is barely off.. so i wouldnt think going at 4.8Ghz anyway would be safe
dalehitchy1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 13:55   #11
Tekgun
Gangster
 
Tekgun's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 420
I guess it depends on how many volts are running on the core, and what you are comfortable with. At 4.8 on auto I get 1.392 in CPUz so in the BIOS its probably 1.4 and close to the maximum you should have. TBH I will probably run my 2600k at 4.5 24/7 which uses 1.352 when running prime95.
I can use less if I manually overclock, but then I lose the power saving features so it's just depends on your preference. Your CPU might need a bit more or less so make sure to check for your self.

Tekgun is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 14:54   #12
dalehitchy1
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 430
I've clocked it up to 4.4 just to be on the safe side..and the voltage has gone automatically to 1.376 ..

I get average idle temps around 41 - 49 degrees.. Does that still seem high?
dalehitchy1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 15:02   #13
MichaelM
Wise Guy
 
MichaelM's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 1,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekgun View Post
I guess it depends on how many volts are running on the core, and what you are comfortable with. At 4.8 on auto I get 1.392 in CPUz so in the BIOS its probably 1.4 and close to the maximum you should have. TBH I will probably run my 2600k at 4.5 24/7 which uses 1.352 when running prime95.
I can use less if I manually overclock, but then I lose the power saving features so it's just depends on your preference. Your CPU might need a bit more or less so make sure to check for your self.
From OcUK's product listing the 2600k's and 2700k's now have "1.425-1.450v" recommended limits.
From what i've seen it tends to be a voltage and a temperature limit when overclocking and you just stop at whichever one you reach first. So mine is at 1.384V (still 2500k's recommended limit) and my temperature in games hit at most 50C (Everyone says 80C max), add into that the C-State voltage/speed step and you should have no issues with longevity.
If you run your processor at 100% 24/7 it becomes more borderline at those recommendations.

That's my thinking anyway and I take that risk with my hardware, if anyone else has doubts then they should stick to what they are comfortable with. Not everyone has the same setup or environment, so its foolish to follow others blindly.

MichaelM is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 15:03   #14
Broken Hope
Soldato
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 7,264
That seems high for a 4.4GHz overclock with only touching the multi, mine is around 1.26, with 1.30 the highest I've seen it go

Intel 2500K@4.4GHz|8GB DDR3|MSI Z68A GD65
Gigabyte GTX670 Windforce 3X|Asus Xonar D2X
Samsung Evo 250GB|Samsung 830 256GB|Lian Li PC-90
Broken Hope is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 15:10   #15
dalehitchy1
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broken Hope View Post
That seems high for a 4.4GHz overclock with only touching the multi, mine is around 1.26, with 1.30 the highest I've seen it go
...so being a newb.....lol... Should I manually change the voltage down... Then expect to see lower temps?
dalehitchy1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 15:40   #16
Tekgun
Gangster
 
Tekgun's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 420
Lower volts should mean lower temps, it could just be that your CPU requires those volts for that speed as no chip is the same. try and find out what temps others are getting with the same cooler to give an idea of how yours is performing.
As Michael says 1.384 is the recommended limit for the 2500k so ideally stay under that, but the lower the better, and consider how much a couple of hundred MHz is really worth.

Tekgun is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 18:09   #17
dalehitchy1
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekgun View Post
Lower volts should mean lower temps, it could just be that your CPU requires those volts for that speed as no chip is the same. try and find out what temps others are getting with the same cooler to give an idea of how yours is performing.
As Michael says 1.384 is the recommended limit for the 2500k so ideally stay under that, but the lower the better, and consider how much a couple of hundred MHz is really worth.

so ive put my voltage down and got a BSOD more or less straight away... the minimum voltage i seem to be able to get it working on (though i havnt done a primes test yet) is 1.296...

my temps are a little lower around 38 - 44 ..... on a 4.4Ghz...still seems a little high to me... but better non the less... hope it stays stable
dalehitchy1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 18:15   #18
dalehitchy1
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 430
core 0.. is hitting 36 degrees which seems good (on idle.... good compared to what i was getting before)
can anyone tell me how accurate Core Temp is too?
Last edited by dalehitchy1; 12th Nov 2011 at 18:17.
dalehitchy1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2011, 18:46   #19
dalehitchy1
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 430
Cool

Wasnt stable
dalehitchy1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Nov 2011, 01:51   #20
dalehitchy1
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 430
think im gonna have to give up overclocking this... no matter what i do... i always get a BSOD about 2-3 hours in.

this is going from a 4.4 to 4.2Ghz multiplier and changing to various core voltages ranging from 1.25 all the way up to 1.35.. cannot figure out what im doing wrong.
dalehitchy1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Nov 2011, 02:22   #21
Tekgun
Gangster
 
Tekgun's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 420
That's a shame, maybe load "optimised defaults" from the save menu (this will reset hard drive config to IDE as well) and test for stability to see if you have a problem at stock settings. Then if all good start again going up slowly one multiplier at a time, testing each one.
Also it might be an idea to run memtest86 on your RAM.

Tekgun is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Nov 2011, 08:26   #22
Broken Hope
Soldato
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 7,264
I'm testing mine at 4.5GHz now, auto voltage, seems to stick around 1.24-1.26 with a peak of 1.30 in Hardware Monitor, max temp I've seen is 73c with Intel Burn Test using 6GB of RAM, need to finish testing but looks good so far.


Intel 2500K@4.4GHz|8GB DDR3|MSI Z68A GD65
Gigabyte GTX670 Windforce 3X|Asus Xonar D2X
Samsung Evo 250GB|Samsung 830 256GB|Lian Li PC-90
Broken Hope is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Nov 2011, 09:43   #23
Tekgun
Gangster
 
Tekgun's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 420
Nice voltage

Tekgun is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2011, 11:27   #24
MattHep
Hitman
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 707
Nice thread to find here. Just testing my i5 at 4.5ghz also.

Is there a reason my CPUZ reads a lower Core voltage than what I set it in the BIOS?

i52500k, MSI Z68 GD55, GTX580 3gb, 8GB DDR3, 2 x 256GB Crucial M4 SSD
MattHep is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2011, 14:29   #25
Tekgun
Gangster
 
Tekgun's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 420
I'm not sure of the reason, but it happens on all motherboards as far as I'm aware. If you want to play it safe choose the BIOS voltage as the limit, being the higher one. Or get hold of a multimeter and use the supplied voltage terminals to calibrate which reading is correct.

Tekgun is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2011, 14:54   #26
Tekgun
Gangster
 
Tekgun's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 420
Edited first post to add some more details.

Tekgun is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2011, 17:24   #27
Nelly
Soldato
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Grimsby Town, England
Posts: 6,410
Nice write up, I've been using this board since day release in July, I've used more or less the same settings since day 1, the exception being using the multi to overclock with auto cpu voltage - Turbo Boost Disabled.

With my current Week 4 2011 - 2500K:

4.6GHz = 1.336v load (prime95), 1.36v load (IBT 2.56), 1.00v to 1.05v idle.

4.5GHz = 1.328v load (prime95, 1.352v load (IBT 2.56), 1.00v to 1.04v idle.

Quite reasonable but I cannot clock past 4.6GHz at all fully stable with any voltages upto 1.5v, I've ordered a new 2500K today, will see if I get lucky with the newer batches available.

The MSI features seem quite basic I.E. not many options in the BIOS, no Load Line Calibration and no Offset Voltage options, in it's favour it's ideal for anyone to use no matter how experianced at overclocking.

I did get an email this morning from MSI saying their doing tests as we speak regarding the Spread Spectrum = [Disabled] still showing 99.8MHz instead of 100MHz bus speed.


2500K @ 4.9GHz MSI Z77 MPower EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB @ 1342/3506
Last edited by Nelly; 14th Nov 2011 at 17:38. Reason: additional information.
Nelly is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2011, 20:40   #28
Tekgun
Gangster
 
Tekgun's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 420
Thanks for adding your info, it's good to have
Yea the 99.8 bug is a little annoying, hopefully they will get this fixed. MSI have been releasing a quite few beta bios recently, which is nice to see the latest is n45 I think, but no fix yet.

Tekgun is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Nov 2011, 15:43   #29
Nelly
Soldato
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Grimsby Town, England
Posts: 6,410
My new 2500K, the strange thing about this CPU is it needs around 1.4v for even 4.6GHz, but it will do 4.9GHz at the same voltage.

I can easily get into Windows at 5GHz, but IBT stable the issue is heat, I bet if I was on water cooling it would be stable no problem.

2500K: Batch No: L104A429
4.6GHz = 1.336v load (prime95), 1.36v load (IBT 2.56), 1.00v to 1.05v idle. (Auto or Manual CPU Voltage) (Maximum Clock stable)
4.5GHz = 1.328v load (prime95, 1.352v load (IBT 2.56), 1.00v to 1.04v idle. (Auto or Manual CPU Voltage)

2500K: Batch No: 3138A838
4.9GHz = 1.4v load (prime95), 1.42v load (IBT 2.56), 1.01v to 1.06v idle. (Auto CPU Voltage)
4.6GHz = 1.384v load (prime95), 1.408v load (IBT 2.56) 1.01v to 1.06v idle. (Auto CPU Voltage)





2500K @ 4.9GHz MSI Z77 MPower EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB @ 1342/3506
Last edited by Nelly; 15th Nov 2011 at 17:19.
Nelly is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Nov 2011, 15:53   #30
holymonk
Suspended
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,203
1.4?

I thought we werent allowed to exceed 1.35? or it would melt the core and my PC would drop through the floor?

I would like to push my CPU, will 1.4 damage my CPU?

Quote:
Processor - Basically we recommend customers not to exceed 1.35v to play it safe, all our bundles are set at 1.3250v or lower, any competitors offering bundles above 4.6GHz you should be enquiring as to what voltage they are using as we believe anything over 1.38v will limit CPU lifespan and anything over 1.42v will likely kill the CPU or severely limit its lifespan.
holymonk is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:54.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)