Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd Dec 2011, 21:06   #1
pc_monkey
Hitman
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: East Anglia
Posts: 715
Corsair Vengeance Tall Heatsink Removed!!!

Just removed my Corsair vengeance tall heatsink. It's a lot easier than I thought. I used a plastic spatula to pry the heatsink off:







And my new bling bling !


i5 2500K (@4.6ghz) + ASUS P8Z68-V,,, i5 2500K (@4ghz) + ASUS P8Z68-V LX ,,, i3 2130 + ASUS P8H61 M Pro,,, G840 + ASUS P8H61 M LE/USB3
pc_monkey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Dec 2011, 21:16   #2
Plec
Soldato
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by k_poh View Post
Just removed my Corsair vengeance tall heatsink. It's a lot easier than I thought. I used a plastic spatula to pry the heatsink off:
They are easy to get off - sometimes too easy.

Nice sharp pics - personally i think your memory looks better with the new lower profile skin even with the bling look

Plec is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Dec 2011, 21:18   #3
NeoVo
Hitman
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 865
Very interesting idea .

I was concerned that I was going to encounter heat sink mounting issues with my the 4 sticks of vengeance ram being so high, but fortunately the corsair H50 doesn't require much clearance .

i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz - H105 // 16GB // GTX 980Ti // 850HX // Asus 27" ROG
NeoVo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2011, 16:23   #4
bhavv
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 13,645
Those tall vengeance heatspreaders are ridiculous considering that the vengeance ram is just bog cheap standard stuff that barely overclocks, yet its marketted as overclocking ram.

No more Corsair for me after these thats for sure. Pay more than other brands, get the same cheap stuff, ewwww!!!!
bhavv is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2011, 16:42   #5
setter
Don
 
setter's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: armoy, n. ireland
Posts: 28,157
I wonder if you could do this with a set of ocz reapers? An old pic below of them in my previous eclipse 62 with a TRUE.



I was thinking of purchasing a silver arrow cooler, but the reaper's heatpipe would be badly in the way.

setter is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2011, 17:10   #6
Surveyor
Capodecina
 
Surveyor's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Back in the saddle
Posts: 21,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by setter View Post
I wonder if you could do this with a set of ocz reapers?
It depends how they're stuck on.

The OP's were stuck on with what looks like thermal tape so were easy to remove.

Some are stuck to the chips with thermal adhesive and you can risk pulling the RAM chips off the PCB trying to remove the heat spreaders.
Surveyor is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2011, 18:23   #7
setter
Don
 
setter's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: armoy, n. ireland
Posts: 28,157
Iirc, there are some reaper kits where theyre stuck on with pads, (several different designs of reaper). I remember a few users on here reporting that the heatspreaders fell off them.

setter is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2012, 23:36   #8
abarth_1200
Gangster
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 166
I have a set of Reapers from April 2009 I tried taking the heatsink off, unscrewed the 2 black screws and started to pry open with a think piece of plastic, heard a crack noise then decided to abandon the idea, tested them with memtest86+ just incase I did pull a chip off the pcb, they are OK but if they are hard to remove do not continue
abarth_1200 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2012, 23:40   #9
setter
Don
 
setter's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: armoy, n. ireland
Posts: 28,157
Ive switched them out now for 12gb of low profile kingston hyper x in a 3x4gb configuration. Might use the reapers in my other machine along with 6gb of corsair xms 3.

setter is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2012, 16:50   #10
Plec
Soldato
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by setter View Post
Ive switched them out now for 12gb of low profile kingston hyper x in a 3x4gb configuration. Might use the reapers in my other machine along with 6gb of corsair xms 3.
I figured you would scratch that itch sooner or later

Have you noticed any benefits jumping from 6gb to 12gb setter - BF3 in particular?

Plec is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2012, 17:36   #11
setter
Don
 
setter's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: armoy, n. ireland
Posts: 28,157
Not much difference in bf3, as my ram use was around 2gb for the game. Windows feels a lot snappier though. Made the upgrade as the kingston was pretty cheap, and i see it has risen quite steeply in the last few weeks. The reapers were an excellent high end cas7 set, but due to their size they were a hindrance to the cpu cooler.

setter is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2012, 13:47   #12
littlepuppy
Mobster
 
littlepuppy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 3,970
what chips were on the vengeance out of interest, also is that a 260 or 280 above? loved those fuly encased cards, looked awesome.

Corsair 750D | 6950x @ 4.3ghz
MSI X99a Titanium Edition | EVGA SC Titan X SLI
64 GB Crucial Ballistix Elite @2666 mhz
2 x 240GB Intel 730k | 2 x 480GB Intel 730k
littlepuppy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2012, 13:51   #13
Rroff
Caporegime
 
Rroff's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 43,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by setter View Post
I was thinking of purchasing a silver arrow cooler, but the reaper's heatpipe would be badly in the way.
As mentioned above OCZ Reaper kits are a bit hit and miss when it comes to removing the heatpipes - I tried to take one of my kits apart after heating stories of the heatspreader coming loose in the case and they were v. secure :S

Samsung 700G7C, i7 3610QM, 16GB DDR3, GTX 675M.
i7 4820K, GB X79-UD3, KHX Beast 16GB DDR3, Palit GTX1070, 840 EVO 250GB, KHX 3K 240GB, Seasonic 860w Platinum.
Rroff is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2012, 14:09   #14
goodl
Hitman
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 732
nice photos

I liked VR before it was mainstream....
goodl is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2012, 15:49   #15
PapaLazaru
Capodecina
 
PapaLazaru's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Reading
Posts: 15,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodl View Post
nice photos
Indeed. What camera?

PapaLazaru is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2012, 18:09   #16
panyan
Soldato
 
panyan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Bada Bing
Posts: 7,459
was it only asthetics and clearance that you changed or was there another reason? overclocking perhaps?

personally, i think paying more for heatspreaders is a waste as ram only gets hot if your overclocking it alot

panyan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2012, 18:21   #17
pc_monkey
Hitman
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: East Anglia
Posts: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by PapaLazaru View Post
Indeed. What camera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodl View Post
nice photos
Don't know if you're asking me or the other chaps' pics, anyway thanks, and I used a Canon 7D.




Quote:
Originally Posted by panyan View Post
was it only asthetics and clearance that you changed or was there another reason? overclocking perhaps?

personally, i think paying more for heatspreaders is a waste as ram only gets hot if your overclocking it alot
It was just for clearance, because my Silver Arrow is such a monster.

i5 2500K (@4.6ghz) + ASUS P8Z68-V,,, i5 2500K (@4ghz) + ASUS P8Z68-V LX ,,, i3 2130 + ASUS P8H61 M Pro,,, G840 + ASUS P8H61 M LE/USB3
pc_monkey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2012, 18:24   #18
panyan
Soldato
 
panyan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Bada Bing
Posts: 7,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by pc_monkey View Post
It was just for clearance, because my Silver Arrow is such a monster.
yeah, thats the same issue with the d-14 - the price of awesome performance

panyan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jan 2012, 01:19   #19
setter
Don
 
setter's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: armoy, n. ireland
Posts: 28,157
Or go water cooled. Love to do it myself, but the cost is very prohibitive.

setter is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:51.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)