Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Small Form Factor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th Jan 2012, 20:53   #1
Bigsy
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Bristol
Posts: 4,307
New build: low wattage (<20w) idle, totally passive, gaming HTPC

Quite pleased with this setup, it plays games well enough, is totally silent (0 fans) and not a power hog... so thought I'd share.

This all runs stock volts, wireless, BT and LAN onboard and enabled, its totally passive, and idles at ~19.5w... also gives playable framerates in Battlefield 3. Not really tried to push the overclock, from reading reviews I'm not far of the max and I don't want to up any volts so I keep the power and temps down.

I honestly can't quite believe how low powered this idles, I can't get my ION system this low!

I have a couple more bits to add like a couple of 3.5" drives for a nas and a slim BD rom but idle watts shouldn't increase drastically.

* Streacom FC8 - Awesome case for the money (130 fanless case http://www.streacom.com/products/fc8-fanless-chassis/)

* 120w pico psu

* Asus F1A75-I, Fantastic board has some fancy power gubbings which really helps this setup idle at super low watts.

* Tri core Llano A6-3500 @ 3.65Ghz

* Geil 4gb (soon to be 8) running at 2100Mhz

* Crucial M4

Some pics:











This is taken with it idling on desktop. It tops out at about 110w full tilt.


Last edited by Bigsy; 7th Jan 2012 at 21:29.
Bigsy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jan 2012, 22:01   #2
Minstadave
Capodecina
 
Minstadave's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Rutland
Posts: 19,974
I'm amazed that 2 heatpipes is enough to shift the heat from the CPU/GPU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dis86 View Post
Women. They cray cray yo.
Minstadave is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jan 2012, 22:10   #3
Bigsy
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Bristol
Posts: 4,307
Yeah I know... not only that but the base of the cpu heatsink is anodized. But it does do a good job, I've ran it a full tilt with 3 threads of linx and furmark and it tends to top out around 80c, which is fine by me my 4ghz i7 core has run in the 90C since it came oot a year or 2 ago.

I did have to take the whole setup apart and apply mx-4 to everything the heatpipes touch, before I did that it was idling in the high 70C.
Bigsy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jan 2012, 22:14   #4
Minstadave
Capodecina
 
Minstadave's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Rutland
Posts: 19,974
Whats the card blocking you from installing the other heatpipes? Something to do with the pico PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dis86 View Post
Women. They cray cray yo.
Minstadave is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jan 2012, 22:18   #5
Bigsy
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Bristol
Posts: 4,307
The case only comes with with 2 heatpipes, the heatsink and case has room for more simply to aid fitting on different mobos.

As is the mobo heatsink would make it difficult to fit more, I think they would fit but it would be marginal. Still two is absolutely fine, surprisingly.
Bigsy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jan 2012, 22:55   #6
marms
Gangster
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 186
What's the power consumption and temps like after full load for a while?
Can't load the link for the case how many drive bays has it, looks like a very nice system.
marms is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jan 2012, 23:01   #7
Bigsy
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Bristol
Posts: 4,307
As said full load overclocked is about 110w, if you ran stock no more than 70w full load.

I see 80'ish Celsius overclocked I reckon if you ran stock it would be around the 70C mark max.

Case has 1x2.5" 1x5.25" and 1x 3.5" (with rubber mounts) but there is room for more if you want to get creative .
Bigsy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2012, 08:50   #8
~D~
Gangster
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 352
Do you know if you can buy that remote separately? I'd love it for the HTPC I'm planning to build.

I've tried searching but haven't had any luck

PC: Q6600 | 4Gb RAM | HD4870 | 400Gb + 1Tb HDD | Dell U2410
Laptop:13.3" MBP 2Ghz | 2Gb RAM
Camera: Nikon D60 | 18-55mm | 55-200mm | 35mm
~D~ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2012, 14:04   #9
CAT-THE-FIFTH
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 11,459
Thanks for posting details of the build - very nice indeed!
CAT-THE-FIFTH is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2012, 15:00   #10
Edward78
Mobster
 
Edward78's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,772
Oh wow, I like very much.

ASUS Intel H61(B3) Micro ATX DDR3 1333 LGA 1155 (P8H61-M LX) Intel Core i3-2100 3.1GHz 3 MB Cache 1333MHz 4 Gig DIMM-DRAM PNY NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 1GB GDDR5 2DVI/Mini-HDMI PCI-Express Video Card http://www.youtube.com/user/Hippieinthewoods
Last edited by Edward78; 8th Jan 2012 at 15:09.
Edward78 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2012, 23:56   #11
spenncerr
Hitman
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 518
This is impressive! I'm really tempted to build something like this myself.

Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.2GHz, MSI P67A-G45, HyperX 16GB, Radeon HD 6870 1GB, 120GB Force 3, Corsair A70 CPU Cooler, Zalman Z9 Plus.
spenncerr is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2012, 00:23   #12
sarge78
Mobster
 
sarge78's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,167
Nice build!

(surprised it didn't start throttling after a few mins of heavy 3D stuff )
sarge78 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2012, 04:35   #13
Archeum
Mobster
 
Archeum's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,135
Looks pretty good! How much did it cost total, if you don't mind me asking?

Also, what's that meter called that you're using to measure the Watts? (on the plug)
Archeum is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2012, 08:43   #14
Bigsy
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Bristol
Posts: 4,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarge78 View Post
Nice build!

(surprised it didn't start throttling after a few mins of heavy 3D stuff )
The cpu doesn't start throtting till it hits 100C and its got no where near that after an hour of furmark and linx.

As said I've ran my 4ghz I7 on high volts in the low 90C's since they first came out and its as stable as ever. That temp is (just) within spec so why bother having it lower? It only makes it more noisy and even if iit does shorten the life of a cpu its going to very outdated by the time that happens..
Bigsy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2012, 09:02   #15
Bigsy
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Bristol
Posts: 4,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by YarwoodUK View Post
Looks pretty good! How much did it cost total, if you don't mind me asking?

Also, what's that meter called that you're using to measure the Watts? (on the plug)
Pretty cheap in my book....

Case = 130
mobo = 95
CPU = 62
PicoPsu = 14 (ebay)
120w power brick = 11 (ebay)

I bought the ssd second hand for 60, already had the ram but I guess you can get 8gb for 30

That and a slim dvd rom would be around ~400 I guess.

The plug thing is just a power monitor thingy I bought of ebay for 9
Last edited by Bigsy; 9th Jan 2012 at 09:04.
Bigsy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2012, 14:17   #16
Engram
Hitman
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: England
Posts: 953
Nice one! That case is awesome.
Engram is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2012, 14:19   #17
Engram
Hitman
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: England
Posts: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigsy View Post
That temp is (just) within spec so why bother having it lower? It only makes it more noisy and even if it does shorten the life of a cpu its going to very outdated by the time that happens..
Agreed! I don't understand the people that try and keep their CPUs at 25C.
Engram is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2012, 21:45   #18
-Mike-
Capodecina
 
-Mike-'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Minehead
Posts: 10,162
Looks awesome mate Will the llano play bluray and other hd stuff without any problems? Tempted to get llano to make a htpc and stick a freesat hd card in there

4790k @ 4.7Ghz, 16gb, Samsung 830 250gb, z97x-ud5h bk, intel HD, Lots of mechanical storage slowness
-Mike- is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2012, 22:13   #19
Compound
Hitman
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 852
What is that remote control? Did it come with the motherboard or is it available separately?
Compound is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2012, 07:56   #20
Bigsy
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Bristol
Posts: 4,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Mike- View Post
Looks awesome mate Will the llano play bluray and other hd stuff without any problems? Tempted to get llano to make a htpc and stick a freesat hd card in there
It will play anything you can throw at it, its only limitation I think is that it can only decode one of the channels on the gpu for blueray 3d it off loads the other to the cpu but that only results in 5>10% cpu usage.

And yes the remote came with the motherboard.
Bigsy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2012, 12:39   #21
-Mike-
Capodecina
 
-Mike-'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Minehead
Posts: 10,162
Really want Your +12v is a little low but its still within spec afaik, I'm trying to find the tiniest mains psu that isn't made by some chinese restaurant.

4790k @ 4.7Ghz, 16gb, Samsung 830 250gb, z97x-ud5h bk, intel HD, Lots of mechanical storage slowness
-Mike- is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2012, 18:59   #22
Bossk128
Wise Guy
 
Bossk128's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Tayside
Posts: 1,344
Absolutely fab, I've been waiting to see a nice build with that case!

If it was 100 cheaper I'd be all over it! But what else do I want, the moon on a stick???

Q6600@3.2GHz | Noctua NH-U12F | Abit QuadGT | Radeon HD7970 3Gb | 4Gb Geil PC6400 ULL | Audigy2 ZS 7.1 | NEC 20WGX2
Black Tsunami Dream | 3 X 120mm Yate Loons | My Backloggery
Bossk128 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2012, 22:36   #23
saitrix
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 8,922
That's the exact setup I had been looking at going to but I hadn't been able to find any idle power usage info, so this thread is perfect for me! Unfortunately I won't be going for a passive case but instead I will go for a high end cpu cooler in a larger case (thinking Lian Li PC-Q07) as I want to be able to fit enough hard drives inside my htpc. Also amazingly you have got the identical picopsu to me, it really couldn't be any closer to the setup I was looking at getting.

How good is the remote with the Asus board? I am trying to weigh up whether it's worth going to over the AS Rock mini-itx board available for 75.

I don't suppose you have tried any 10 bit mkv's? They can't use the onboard gpu to play with so was wondering how the cpu stood up to it.


2009 FN2 Civic Type R
saitrix is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jan 2012, 00:59   #24
BoatyMcBoatface
Underboss
 
BoatyMcBoatface's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 43,074
Loving this

BoatyMcBoatface is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jan 2012, 07:25   #25
TigerUK
Hitman
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Engram View Post
Agreed! I don't understand the people that try and keep their CPUs at 25C.
hot cpu perform crap too

i5 2500K | 8GB DDR3 | 1.5TB | HD4870 | Corsair CX600 | Asus P8Z68-V GEN3 Intel Z68
TigerUK is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jan 2012, 17:02   #26
Bigsy
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Bristol
Posts: 4,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by saitrix View Post
That's the exact setup I had been looking at going to but I hadn't been able to find any idle power usage info, so this thread is perfect for me! Unfortunately I won't be going for a passive case but instead I will go for a high end cpu cooler in a larger case (thinking Lian Li PC-Q07) as I want to be able to fit enough hard drives inside my htpc. Also amazingly you have got the identical picopsu to me, it really couldn't be any closer to the setup I was looking at getting.

How good is the remote with the Asus board? I am trying to weigh up whether it's worth going to over the AS Rock mini-itx board available for 75.

I don't suppose you have tried any 10 bit mkv's? They can't use the onboard gpu to play with so was wondering how the cpu stood up to it.
What makes you say its not hardware accelerated? Got to admit I'm not really one for super HD rips etc so don't have any mkv files but I tried to test this for you using Elephants dream video from here: http://www.divx.com/en/electronics/s...-plus-hd/video (1080p H.264 MKV, AAC 5.1, and seems to be about 8 > 9k kb/s according to vlc)

While it was playing in XBMC eden (full screen 1080p) cpu usage hovered around 4%, the peaks (10%'ish) at the end were where I opened menus to stop it + alt tab etc... This is exalty the same cpu usage as my main machine (i7 core at 4ghz and 6870) so as you can see it is most definitely hardware accelerated on the llano gpu! I think this cpu could handle pretty much any media you care to throw at it.



EDIT: the asus remote aint bad actually, you can use a mouse curser with it etc so can navigate windows if you find yourself dumped out of xbmc. It can be tricky switching from side to side and you sometimes have to use a Fn button on one side in combination with a button on the other, but its rare.
Last edited by Bigsy; 13th Jan 2012 at 17:44.
Bigsy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jan 2012, 18:37   #27
saitrix
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 8,922
How do you find the remote for XBMC navigation as that would be my main use?

If you aren't that up with your mkv's then I guess you won't know about them. Normal mkv's (like you showed in your screenshot) are 8bit. Anime has started being encoded as 10bit which breaks the gpu offloading for playing the video. As I know the cpu side isn't the strongest I just haven't seen anyone say 100% whether it works with 10bit. To be honest they are a pain and I kind of wish they hadn't moved to 10 bit so quickly. Thanks for doing that though!


2009 FN2 Civic Type R
saitrix is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jan 2012, 18:45   #28
Subliminal Aura
Soldato
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: London
Posts: 6,808
Woah...
Like!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

| Bang per buck
| i7 2600+4 | 16gb | Z68 Xtreme4 with 12.6 O-ROM | VT-d
| 840pros RAID0 TRIM | non K Overclock | HTPC Build
Subliminal Aura is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jan 2012, 18:47   #29
Bigsy
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Bristol
Posts: 4,307
It's fine for xbmc navigation, although I do use logitech harmony anyway.

Give us a link (torrent, whatever) to a reasonably sized 10bit mkv (under 1gb if you can) and I'll be happy to test, email is in trust if you don't want to post it up here.
Bigsy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jan 2012, 19:19   #30
Bigsy
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Bristol
Posts: 4,307
I just found a small 10bit mkv here: http://www.mediafire.com/?w429656vqm89ez7

Cpu usage jumped between 11% > 21% using klite codec pack + classic media player.

Same file and player combo uses between 10% > 14 % on my main machine (i7 core at 4ghz), so the llano is more than fine with this.

Bare in mind mine is overclocked to 3.5ghz+, and still I am running undervolted by 0.15v now as well, 100% stable (loads of linx and furmark) its a great processor for the money.
Last edited by Bigsy; 13th Jan 2012 at 19:22.
Bigsy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:26.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)