Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Graphics Cards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 4th Jan 2013, 22:49   #2611
kevbiss1
Hitman
 
kevbiss1's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 574
those results are pretty good,ive now given up on my problems with afteburner,o/c with trixx for some reason iam able to o/c everything,but none of the other o/c software is any good,oh well,dont like giving up but i aint wastin anymoretime on this,anyway,had a spare hour today,seems my card goes to 11.80 on the core and not tried much mem,but got 2 passes of heaven done(sorry no pics,sat with laptop watchin tv)core wont go higher no matter what volts i apply,fairly happy though considering the wife bought it for xmas@125 !!

3570k
Giga z77 D3h
Msi GTX670 non oc
kevbiss1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2013, 14:17   #2612
An00bis
Associate
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Winston View Post
Think this is as high as I can go with my 7850

that's pretty good, but I'd lower the memory to about 1375mhz, this will let you get a bit of a higher OC on the gpu, while lowering heat and the chances of getting crashes in games (as far as I know no 7850 card has no memory cooling). High memory OCs are also unstable and besides making you crash in games they'll lower fps as well, experiment with that till you see what memory frequency is the best for your gpu.
An00bis is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2013, 14:19   #2613
An00bis
Associate
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevbiss1 View Post
those results are pretty good,ive now given up on my problems with afteburner,o/c with trixx for some reason iam able to o/c everything,but none of the other o/c software is any good,oh well,dont like giving up but i aint wastin anymoretime on this,anyway,had a spare hour today,seems my card goes to 11.80 on the core and not tried much mem,but got 2 passes of heaven done(sorry no pics,sat with laptop watchin tv)core wont go higher no matter what volts i apply,fairly happy though considering the wife bought it for xmas@125 !!
try raising "power limit" (or whatever it's called) to +20% (max) maybe that will let you OC more
An00bis is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2013, 14:21   #2614
Winston
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Chester - a.k.a Gh0sTf@cE
Posts: 1,911
I tried the core with stock memory and it topped out at 1250 anyway

Here's my best results, seems better with lower voltage

Winston is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jan 2013, 06:23   #2615
stephen whitson
Associate
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
VTX3D AMD Radeon 7850 HD 1GB PCI-Express 3.0 HDMI X-Edition

Hi everyone i was wondering if it would be possible to get the same overclocking results with this HD 7850, i have bought one and it broke within 5 hours and now i am waiting for a replacement. its a VTX3D AMD Radeon 7850 HD 1GB PCI-Express 3.0 HDMI X-Edition, i have no idea if the " X- Edition" makes it better or just sounds cool. I have looked the internet but, i am finding it hard to get much info on it. i think i might of broke it trying to overclock it, im not sure but it ended up just spinning full speed with no picture on the screen. thanks
stephen whitson is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2013, 12:42   #2616
555BUK
Mobster
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephen whitson View Post
Hi everyone i was wondering if it would be possible to get the same overclocking results with this HD 7850, i have bought one and it broke within 5 hours and now i am waiting for a replacement. its a VTX3D AMD Radeon 7850 HD 1GB PCI-Express 3.0 HDMI X-Edition, i have no idea if the " X- Edition" makes it better or just sounds cool. I have looked the internet but, i am finding it hard to get much info on it. i think i might of broke it trying to overclock it, im not sure but it ended up just spinning full speed with no picture on the screen. thanks
As far as I am aware, all VTX (Powercolor) 7850 PCB's are reference design. The X-Edition is likely to be exactly the same apart from wearing a different fan and running a BIOS with higher than reference clock speeds.

Overclocking rarely breaks a card. Too high overclocks are much more likely to result in screem artifacts during gaming or system crashes, which recover after restart.

Perhaps you can tell me which overclocking programs you were running when your card failed. You symptoms sound very similar to my first card which simply "blacked-out" when running GPUZ and Asus GPU Tweak, and making setting changes at the same time.
555BUK is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2013, 20:28   #2617
stephen whitson
Associate
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
thanks for the reply, well you are correct i was the GPUZ and Asus GPU Tweak i was using when this happened as i was trying to get the same results as you, so when i get my replacement should i try again or what should i do so it does not break again. i am a bit scared to overclock now.
stephen whitson is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2013, 12:30   #2618
555BUK
Mobster
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephen whitson View Post
thanks for the reply, well you are correct i was the GPUZ and Asus GPU Tweak i was using when this happened as i was trying to get the same results as you, so when i get my replacement should i try again or what should i do so it does not break again. i am a bit scared to overclock now.
I suggest using just one tool at a time when overclocking. I thought that a combination of CPUZ+GPU Tool+making OC changes may have baulked my card, but now that you have had a very similar issue it looks even more likely.

In the end that is why I moved away from GPU tweak and use Sapphire Trixx instead.
555BUK is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2013, 18:13   #2619
stephen whitson
Associate
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by 555BUK View Post
I suggest using just one tool at a time when overclocking. I thought that a combination of CPUZ+GPU Tool+making OC changes may have baulked my card, but now that you have had a very similar issue it looks even more likely.

In the end that is why I moved away from GPU tweak and use Sapphire Trixx instead.
thanks bud, i will give this software a try when my replacement card gets here.
stephen whitson is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2013, 16:22   #2620
Arzack
Associate
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
I'm having problems overclocking the vram of my sapphire + accelero II (that covers most of vrams)... GPU clock is stable at 1.185 with max power.
Arzack is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2013, 17:56   #2621
Awahwah
Hitman
 
Awahwah's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 967
Just picked up a HIS 7850 2gig card. Its a poor overclocker, the max I can clock it is 1gig before the card crashes completely = multiple lines on screen and hard reset required.

I've noticed that the default volts is 1.210, which seems very high. Anyone else had any problems with HIS cards?

i5 4690k 4.5Ghz | Maximus Ranger | 16Gig | 500G 850 EVO | MSi GTX 980Ti Gaming SLi | Corsair 750D | EVGA 850 G2
Awahwah is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2013, 22:43   #2622
Nickjf20
Gangster
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 224
Yes yes and yes

Mine's terrible (it's not the IceQ version)

It doesn't run 1100 anymore ... it started overheating at anything above stock 1.036 volts

i7 920, R9 290X @ 1100 - U2713HM
PowerMac G5 Case

Tripath TK2050 100W - KEF Reference 103.2
Nickjf20 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2013, 21:36   #2623
cupofjava
Associate
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 73
can anyone help? I've got mine clocked to 1150/5300 with 1085v which runs stable through a benchmark, and roughly for about an hour before crashing. I've tried upping the voltage to counter the crash, and so far i've been up as far as 1180v and its still the same. Is this normal? i can drop the overclock back on the same volts and there are no issues... does it seem strange that it will go so far with only a modest voltage increase, but then absolutely nowhere with a large increase once i reach the 'wall' with that voltage? should i just keep on going with the voltage until it goes stable? Temps are fine, running at a steady 65 degrees. Running the Sapphire 7850 2GB btw!

also, if im correct... my FPS in Heaven benchmark has gone from 48.2 (stock) to 60.5 on overclock.. an increase of around 25%. How does this compare to most people?

thanks
Last edited by cupofjava; 16th Jan 2013 at 21:45.
cupofjava is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jan 2013, 07:25   #2624
krabs
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
just increase the volts ... your OC is not stable
you will have to lower your OC later while keeping the max volts as benchmark are at least 30 to 50 mhz higher than true gaming stable in crysis or bf3
use an aggressive custom fan profile to compensate for the higher temps
krabs is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2013, 09:11   #2625
MixtaMike
Associate
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 43
When I had a 7850 sapphire 2gb. I ran it @1300mhz 1.29v 24/7
Temps never reached 70c, was a beast of a overclocker
MixtaMike is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2013, 15:15   #2626
Z6F
Associate
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Is my voltage locked?

I have a VTX3D AMD Radeon 7850 HD 1GB PCI-Express 3.0 HDMI X-Edition and on MSI afterburner, the core voltage is blank and I can't move the slider.

I've ticked the voltage control on the settings but still no avail

I've also tried with ASUS GPU Tweak and Sapphire TRIXX
Z6F is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2013, 18:20   #2627
wazza300
Caporegime
 
wazza300's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham
Posts: 26,773
click advanced and unlock cc overclock limits or something liek that,in gpu tweak

wazza300 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2013, 19:51   #2628
Z6F
Associate
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by wazza300 View Post
click advanced and unlock cc overclock limits or something liek that,in gpu tweak
I've done that but the voltage slider doesn't come up
Z6F is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2013, 02:09   #2629
Arzack
Associate
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by MixtaMike View Post
When I had a 7850 sapphire 2gb. I ran it @1300mhz 1.29v 24/7
Temps never reached 70c, was a beast of a overclocker
1.29? Isn't the limit 1.225? I have the same card, maybe it's a different version.
Arzack is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2013, 03:30   #2630
MORE SPEED
Wise Guy
 
MORE SPEED's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Bath
Posts: 2,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arzack View Post
1.29? Isn't the limit 1.225? I have the same card, maybe it's a different version.
Might've flashed the Asus TOP bios.

MORE SPEED is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2013, 03:06   #2631
Arzack
Associate
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
I think i'll return my sapphire 7850 to shop (it overclocks at 1040 with accelero II wtf, i hope they don't realize i mounted it lol) and buy the asus 7850.

What version should i look for to get the 1.3v unlocked one?
ASUS HD7850-DC-1GD5 <--- this?
Arzack is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2013, 09:02   #2632
Arzack
Associate
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arzack View Post
I think i'll return my sapphire 7850 to shop (it overclocks at 1040 with accelero II wtf, i hope they don't realize i mounted it lol) and buy the asus 7850.

What version should i look for to get the 1.3v unlocked one?
ASUS HD7850-DC-1GD5 <--- this?
The asus top card is very expensive, i just bought a very simple and cheap amd 7870 since i'll use the accelero II.
Arzack is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2013, 12:34   #2633
pandem0nium
Wise Guy
 
pandem0nium's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Solihull
Posts: 1,462
I've achieved the following overclock with mine:

1250 clock,
5600 memory,
1.28V

To achieve this, I bought the cheapest 2 gb 7850 - VTX at the time
bought a Gellid icy vision two custom cooler for 30 and slapped that on.
Then flashed the Bios with ati Winflash to the best asus card; I needed to do this mainly for the extra voltage.

Tested and stable after hours of heaven benchmark. Auto fan profile and temps never rose above 64 degrees. Happy clocking!
pandem0nium is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 1st Feb 2013, 15:54   #2634
Footyslayer
Wise Guy
 
Footyslayer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,525
Hi everyone,

recently I built a new system, the CPU, MOBO and Memory all came pre-overclocked so I don't want to touch the bios at all.

My question is can I overclock my graphics card and what sort of numbers should I be looking at? Details are in my sig

CPU - i7 5820K @ 4.2Ghz
Graphics -Zotac Amp Extreme 980TI
Motherboard - Asus X99-S
Memory - 16GB TeamGroup Elite DDR4 2400MHz
Footyslayer is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Feb 2013, 15:05   #2635
mrsmr2
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsmr2 View Post
Thanks the help.

Currently have mine at 1200/1450 @ 1.225. 1200 was not stable at 1.210 or 1.215.

Heaven currently at 57.6fps and 1450 score.

Will have a play with the mem speed now.
Ran Heaven again today with my usual clock speed, which is lower than above yet produced a better score:

1190/1450 @ 1.21mV getting 59.0 fps and 1486 score.

Must be down to an improvement in the drivers since October.
mrsmr2 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Feb 2013, 23:23   #2636
An00bis
Associate
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 36
anyone have results made with the new 3Dmark program?
An00bis is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Feb 2013, 10:04   #2637
IRLeetly
Mobster
 
IRLeetly's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Edge of Sanity
Posts: 2,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsmr2 View Post
Ran Heaven again today with my usual clock speed, which is lower than above yet produced a better score:

1190/1450 @ 1.21mV getting 59.0 fps and 1486 score.

Must be down to an improvement in the drivers since October.
Weird I could bench mine again yesterday at 1200/1380 @1.220V for the first time in months, then on the 4th and 5th runs started to get driver crashes and a lower score by ten points when it did finish.

But now running it daily at 1100/1376 on stock volts, not bad I think for over 20% increase on stock.

Edit: This is on the Beta 5 drivers.


"I Like METAL.................... and sea shantys"
Last edited by IRLeetly; 9th Feb 2013 at 10:05. Reason: not enough coffee
IRLeetly is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2013, 20:51   #2638
Lazdaa
Associate
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 50
Hey Guys!

I've recently tried to overclock my MSI 7850 PE above the 1050 Mhz. But whenever i apply the unofficial overclocking in MSI Afterburner i get screen tearing all over. Even if i choose to have lower settings than 1050Mhz, no matter what i change i get it.

So how do i solve this?
Lazdaa is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2013, 20:54   #2639
teenwolf
Mobster
 
teenwolf's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: poop... letterbox
Posts: 3,994
so which make of 7850 should i go for ?
with the gpu at say 1250mhz what card would that match ?
teenwolf is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Feb 2013, 22:27   #2640
555BUK
Mobster
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by bunnox View Post
so which make of 7850 should i go for ?
with the gpu at say 1250mhz what card would that match ?
Sadly there is no guarantee for whatever model you buy. No manufaturer has been proven to be better or worse than any other in terms of GPU overclocks. They all use whichever GPU AMD sends them (no cherry picking), so getting a good one is complete lucky dip. The only thing you achieve by picking one model over another is getting a better or worse cooler (noise/heat) or a longer warantee.

My best clocking 7850 was a bog standard reference card. My worst was the most expensive (an MSI TFIII). It is all pot luck.
555BUK is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:30.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)