Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Software > Windows & Other Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th Jul 2012, 09:31   #1
skipper847
Gangster
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 486
AMD folder ?.

On my C: drive which is my SSD drive i found AMD folders and in programe files x86 there is even a folder called AMD and in this folder another called OverDrive but nothing in side. I searched the SSD drive AMD and alot of folders and files with AMD should this be with the PC i have.

Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Sandisk Extreme 120GB
MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670

I dont think i have anything with AMD inside my computer has the computer shop installed wrong drivers?.
skipper847 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jul 2012, 09:53   #2
Name
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,075
Im guessing you got this system built to order? Did it come with an AMD processor? or are you on Intel...

If you are on AMD, the folders should be nothing to worry about. OverDrive is just a overclocking utility tool and since the folder is empty it can easily be removed or re-installed should you have an AMD processor.

If you are running an Intel processor then seems like to me, the SSD was previously used/tested on an AMD machine :S
Last edited by Name; 6th Jul 2012 at 09:59.
Name is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jul 2012, 10:05   #3
skipper847
Gangster
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 486
the CPU is intell I7 and yes it was made to build and everything installed by the shop.
Last edited by skipper847; 6th Jul 2012 at 10:21.
skipper847 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jul 2012, 10:22   #4
Name
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,075
are the folders affecting your SSD's performance at all? If your system is working and you are not too concerned then by all means leave them as they are. However,

Since you are using an Intel processor, there should be no reason for you to have any AMD folders on your disk. Back them up and delete them. If all is okay afterwards, delete the backup. If anything changes or goes wrong, simply put the folders back where you found them and consult your computer store.
Name is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jul 2012, 10:46   #5
Hostile-17
Hitman
 
Hostile-17's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Poole
Posts: 549
Was the SSD new? sounds like its been re-used or could just have been created accidentially when setting up the system.

Would question the supplier though


Jack Bauer: You're a very good liar. But I've seen better.
Hostile-17 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jul 2012, 10:46   #6
BoatyMcBoatface
Underboss
 
BoatyMcBoatface's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 43,329
Even if you have an AMD/ATI card, it's safe to delete the C:\AMD folder

Same goes for C:\Intel, C:\Nvidia

They're only used for the initial install of the drivers, I always delete them.


Where did you get the machine from? Maybe they have a basic image that contains the nvidia and amd folders in the C:\, ready for first setup?

BoatyMcBoatface is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jul 2012, 11:15   #7
skipper847
Gangster
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 486
Everything is running well and no problems in performance. The only problem im having is that the HDMI to HDMI to tc does not show picture but DVI to HDMI does. This is why i started looking in the SSD folders to see if i could find anything and noticed the AMD foldr.

Also when searched the SSD drive for AMD it comes up with folder in C:\Windows\winsxs most of them called. amd64_microsoft-windows-t.es-transprtdrivers_31bf3856ad34e35_6.1.7601.17779_n.. .

and loads more like this starting with amd64
Last edited by skipper847; 6th Jul 2012 at 11:39.
skipper847 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jul 2012, 12:36   #8
BoatyMcBoatface
Underboss
 
BoatyMcBoatface's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 43,329
That's normal, the amd64 files, says that on my 100% intel/nvidia install.

BoatyMcBoatface is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:00.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)