Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Software > Windows & Other Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th Oct 2013, 14:35   #1
lnoton
Wise Guy
 
lnoton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,590
How to obtain Windows 8.1 iso with Windows 8 OEM key.

It looks like owners of Windows 8 OEM are screwed.

We cannot obtain the install media for a clean install.

We have to always install Windows 8, go through the updates...then download Windows 8.1 from the App Store.

I've looked to use the generic key 334NH-RXG76-64THK-C7CKG-D3VPT to get the download by running the WindowsSetupBox.exe but just says it cannot connect.

Anyone with an idea?

Desktop :: i7 3820 @4.8 | R4F | 16GB TG 2133 | 500GB Evo SSD | 980Ti MSI Gaming | XL2410T | 1300w Superflower
Laptop :: M18x | i7 2720QM | 16GB | 128GB SSD | 6990 CFX
lnoton is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Oct 2013, 15:27   #2
Orionaut
Mobster
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,813
I want an ISO for the upgrade too! I have three machines at my Mums house on a 10gig/month bandwidth! and another machine at mine!

Dloading 3.5gigs of identical data four times over is insane!

It would also be nice to have everything available to do a clean install from time to time. Will the 8.1 upgrade be available from the app store indefinitely or might it be discontinued at some point making an 8.1 clean install impossible even though I am entitled?
Orionaut is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Oct 2013, 20:24   #3
medseven
Gangster
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 182
http://www.ghacks.net/2013/10/19/dow...8-1-iso-image/

You need a legit key, so only legit users can do it but it works..^

FX-6300 @ 4.85ghz, Crucial Ballistix Tactical @ 2200mhz, Radeon 7970 @ 1100, 1550 (6200)
medseven is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Oct 2013, 20:37   #4
loltim
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 14,012
what's wrong with running the 8.1 update from the Store?
Last edited by loltim; 19th Oct 2013 at 20:42.
loltim is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Oct 2013, 23:48   #5
evohicks
Hitman
 
evohicks's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Oswestry
Posts: 567
People generally regard a fresh install better than an upgrade, not that I have had problems with an upgrade disk in the past but a fresh install to me is the better route.

Sabertooth 990fx R2.0 | AMD FX 8350 | HIS 7970 IceQ X X-Fired |
| Coolermaster Haf 922 | Corsair AX860i PSU | Noctua NH-D14 Cooler |
| LG 24GM77 x 3 @144hz in Eyefinity |
| 8gb G-Skill Ripjaws | Logitech G27 G35 G520 G510 X-530 |
evohicks is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 08:44   #6
Deus Ex
Hitman
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: North East
Posts: 732
generic keys, you learn something new everyday. Thankyou very much.

No man is an island,
Entire of itself,
Every man is a piece of the continent,
A part of the main.
Deus Ex is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 09:08   #7
Orionaut
Mobster
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by loltim View Post
what's wrong with running the 8.1 update from the Store?

Because running it 4 times over to upgrade 4 machines is dumb! Especially if three of them are in a house with a 10Gig cap!

The alternative is for me to bring them all back to my place and do the job here which is a complete PITA and should not really be necessary!

Running from the store is fine for those for which it is fine. But as ever all I want is the choice and I can see no real reason why I should not be given it!
Orionaut is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 10:00   #8
lurkio
Wise Guy
 
lurkio's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: NI
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orionaut View Post
Because running it 4 times over to upgrade 4 machines is dumb! Especially if three of them are in a house with a 10Gig cap!

The alternative is for me to bring them all back to my place and do the job here which is a complete PITA and should not really be necessary!

Running from the store is fine for those for which it is fine. But as ever all I want is the choice and I can see no real reason why I should not be given it!
I wonder if it would be possible to download it to one machine , stop it actually installing the upgrade.
And then find / copy out the upgrade file(s) to another machine and ask it to upgrade ?

i5 2500K @4.5 *Asrock Z68 * 16G DDR3 1600 *Zotac GTX980TI AMP
800W Tagan * win7 64 * X55 * Trackir5 *Saitek pro pedals*

www.havoc-company.com <- tactical ArmA3 clan
lurkio is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 13:54   #9
lnoton
Wise Guy
 
lnoton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,590
This is very frustrating.
What should be a 10min job via usb drive is going to be well over 1.5hrs now for a fresh install.

Good job Microsoft. Good job.

Desktop :: i7 3820 @4.8 | R4F | 16GB TG 2133 | 500GB Evo SSD | 980Ti MSI Gaming | XL2410T | 1300w Superflower
Laptop :: M18x | i7 2720QM | 16GB | 128GB SSD | 6990 CFX
lnoton is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 14:07   #10
inogen
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,806
You can download a 8.1 .iso direct from Microsoft like so http://www.winbeta.org/news/how-down...s-8-retail-key

I've just done it.

Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H | i7 4770K | TRUE 120 | Noctua fans | Gigabyte Windforce 7850 OC | 16GB Corsair Dominator 2166Mhz C9@1.5v | Seasonic Platinum 760W | Intel 520 240GB | Lian Li A05NB
inogen is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 14:16   #11
Gazanimal
Wise Guy
 
Gazanimal's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,873
Not sure if you can use it to do a clean install with an OEM key, but I posted a method of doing a Clean 8.1 Install with a W8 key here;

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...postcount=1261

Twitch: Geekbyte (XSplit Stream Team Member) | Twitter: GeekbyteUK
Gazanimal is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 14:19   #12
Psypher5
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford
Posts: 9,734
is there two options when reg'ing your key? Existing and new?

Im sure i tried existing, didn't work, tried new with my win 8 key and it activated.


ITX Powerhouse,Uplay: psypherv1 | Steam: psypherv1
Psypher5 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 14:55   #13
lnoton
Wise Guy
 
lnoton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by inogen View Post
You can download a 8.1 .iso direct from Microsoft like so http://www.winbeta.org/news/how-down...s-8-retail-key

I've just done it.
That's if you have a retail key. I bought oem...doesn't like my key.

Desktop :: i7 3820 @4.8 | R4F | 16GB TG 2133 | 500GB Evo SSD | 980Ti MSI Gaming | XL2410T | 1300w Superflower
Laptop :: M18x | i7 2720QM | 16GB | 128GB SSD | 6990 CFX
lnoton is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 14:57   #14
inogen
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by lnoton View Post
That's if you have a retail key. I bought oem...doesn't like my key.
Let's me download the iso, but then my key won't activate it when I install...

Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H | i7 4770K | TRUE 120 | Noctua fans | Gigabyte Windforce 7850 OC | 16GB Corsair Dominator 2166Mhz C9@1.5v | Seasonic Platinum 760W | Intel 520 240GB | Lian Li A05NB
inogen is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 14:59   #15
lnoton
Wise Guy
 
lnoton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,590
I can only image this is to stop users doing fresh installs outside of computer builders guidelines which have to support these users.

Sucks.

Desktop :: i7 3820 @4.8 | R4F | 16GB TG 2133 | 500GB Evo SSD | 980Ti MSI Gaming | XL2410T | 1300w Superflower
Laptop :: M18x | i7 2720QM | 16GB | 128GB SSD | 6990 CFX
lnoton is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 15:00   #16
lnoton
Wise Guy
 
lnoton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by inogen View Post
Let's me download the iso, but then my key won't activate it when I install...
So you used 8 oem key to download iso?

But after install it won't activate?

Desktop :: i7 3820 @4.8 | R4F | 16GB TG 2133 | 500GB Evo SSD | 980Ti MSI Gaming | XL2410T | 1300w Superflower
Laptop :: M18x | i7 2720QM | 16GB | 128GB SSD | 6990 CFX
lnoton is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 15:10   #17
inogen
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by lnoton View Post
So you used 8 oem key to download iso?

But after install it won't activate?
Not sure if it's OEM or retail. It's a key MS sent me when I upgraded to Win 8 when they ran the introductory offer. But yeah, it lets me download the iso but not install it. Which is a little bonkers.

I had to use this placeholder key to install...

XHQ8N-C3MCJ-RQXB6-WCHYG-C9WK

Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H | i7 4770K | TRUE 120 | Noctua fans | Gigabyte Windforce 7850 OC | 16GB Corsair Dominator 2166Mhz C9@1.5v | Seasonic Platinum 760W | Intel 520 240GB | Lian Li A05NB
inogen is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 15:21   #18
lnoton
Wise Guy
 
lnoton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by inogen View Post
Not sure if it's OEM or retail. It's a key MS sent me when I upgraded to Win 8 when they ran the introductory offer. But yeah, it lets me download the iso but not install it. Which is a little bonkers.

I had to use this placeholder key to install...

XHQ8N-C3MCJ-RQXB6-WCHYG-C9WK
Think that would be a retail key from MS then.

Feel free to inbox me to let me download it ;-)

Desktop :: i7 3820 @4.8 | R4F | 16GB TG 2133 | 500GB Evo SSD | 980Ti MSI Gaming | XL2410T | 1300w Superflower
Laptop :: M18x | i7 2720QM | 16GB | 128GB SSD | 6990 CFX
lnoton is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 16:06   #19
lnoton
Wise Guy
 
lnoton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,590
I'm following this to help clean up my machine if ever needed rather than doing a reinstall that would require: 8 -> upgrades -> 8.1

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/w...recovery-drive

Desktop :: i7 3820 @4.8 | R4F | 16GB TG 2133 | 500GB Evo SSD | 980Ti MSI Gaming | XL2410T | 1300w Superflower
Laptop :: M18x | i7 2720QM | 16GB | 128GB SSD | 6990 CFX
lnoton is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2013, 11:41   #20
matthab
Mobster
 
matthab's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,760
I really dont know why people are moaning at this one. I did my 2 Windows 8 RT tablets and 2 Laptops in 2 hours. That was bang on launch day where the world and his wife have been downloading it.

Everytime I tried my iOS devices it would take all night to download. While its annoying this is the way every ones going.

matthab is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2013, 14:28   #21
lnoton
Wise Guy
 
lnoton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthab View Post
I really dont know why people are moaning at this one. I did my 2 Windows 8 RT tablets and 2 Laptops in 2 hours. That was bang on launch day where the world and his wife have been downloading it.

Everytime I tried my iOS devices it would take all night to download. While its annoying this is the way every ones going.
I see your point. Getting 8.1 was a good experience.

But those with 8 OEM have a real PITA ahead of them if they want to rebuild their machine. Which I might do regular twice a year, and as needed in case of an OS failure for whatever reason.

I am hoping that the Windows Refresh option is as good as doing reinstalls, as I have now created a image using recimg.exe. 6gb of space on my SSD but never mind.

Desktop :: i7 3820 @4.8 | R4F | 16GB TG 2133 | 500GB Evo SSD | 980Ti MSI Gaming | XL2410T | 1300w Superflower
Laptop :: M18x | i7 2720QM | 16GB | 128GB SSD | 6990 CFX
lnoton is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2013, 15:27   #22
vonex
Wise Guy
 
vonex's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,331
not sure if i can post these here, but heres both 32/64bit windows 8.1 pro iso

Windows 8.1 Professional - English - X86 (32bit)

http://bit.ly/1d8CObb

Windows 8.1 Professional - English - X64 (64bit)

http://bit.ly/18zMKXU

5820k @ 4.6ghz : X99-S ASUS : ZOTAC 980Ti AMP
16GB corLPX @ 2666mhz : superflower 1000w plat
NZXT switch 810 : D5/xspc raystorm/gcharger 360.2
corsair k70RGB : zowie EC1-a : Sennheiser HD 558
vonex is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2013, 17:34   #23
zoomee
Soldato
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Hudds, UK
Posts: 5,176
Was trying to get this working on my wifey's laptop that shipped with Win 8 as standard.

First - got the key by using belarc advisor - see here: http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials...ndows-8-a.html

Then got the ISO but it just will not accept the 'generic' key during install. The key someone has mentioned above is a PRO key - what we need is for it to accept a CORE key.

I gave up and just formated from a fresh then did a 8.1 upgrade the usual store way.

Anyways - found a way of bypassing the key altogether here: http://www.nextofwindows.com/how-to-...ing-windows-8/

I cba rebuilding the wife's laptop so someone could try the above (editing the ei.cfg file and using CORE as one of the parameters) - then stick their original windows 8 key back in. Please report back if you have success or not with this method as at some point I'll give it a go (time permitting)

i5/7950 PSN:Zoomeez
zoomee is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2013, 21:59   #24
inogen
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,806
Even though I've got an 8.1 iso, it won't activate with an 8 pro retail key.

How ridiculous.

Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H | i7 4770K | TRUE 120 | Noctua fans | Gigabyte Windforce 7850 OC | 16GB Corsair Dominator 2166Mhz C9@1.5v | Seasonic Platinum 760W | Intel 520 240GB | Lian Li A05NB
inogen is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Oct 2013, 08:50   #25
lnoton
Wise Guy
 
lnoton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by vonex View Post
not sure if i can post these here, but heres both 32/64bit windows 8.1 pro iso

Windows 8.1 Professional - English - X86 (32bit)

http://bit.ly/1d8CObb

Windows 8.1 Professional - English - X64 (64bit)

http://bit.ly/18zMKXU
What I am hoping is that I can edit the ei.cfg and then install without a key and then use my Windows 8 OEM key to activate.

Even when you are legally allowed to use their software they make it difficult. Are they trying to promote piracy?

Desktop :: i7 3820 @4.8 | R4F | 16GB TG 2133 | 500GB Evo SSD | 980Ti MSI Gaming | XL2410T | 1300w Superflower
Laptop :: M18x | i7 2720QM | 16GB | 128GB SSD | 6990 CFX
lnoton is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Oct 2013, 10:25   #26
rolypolyman
Mobster
 
rolypolyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Ayr, Scotland
Posts: 3,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by lnoton View Post
I'm following this to help clean up my machine if ever needed rather than doing a reinstall that would require: 8 -> upgrades -> 8.1

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/w...recovery-drive
Thanks a lot for this, followed it, was very easy, well pleased.

Gbyte Z97X-Gaming 3\I5 4690K\16GB Hyper Fury X 1866Mhz \Inno3D Air Boss 980Ti\AOC U2868PQU 28"4K 60Hz \ Superflower 1000W Titanium\Win 10 Pro 64.
rolypolyman is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Oct 2013, 10:52   #27
lnoton
Wise Guy
 
lnoton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolypolyman View Post
Thanks a lot for this, followed it, was very easy, well pleased.
Did it let you tick the box to copy over the image created by recimg? Mine didnt, but I don't have a RECOVERY partition anyway.

Doesnt really matter I guess.

Desktop :: i7 3820 @4.8 | R4F | 16GB TG 2133 | 500GB Evo SSD | 980Ti MSI Gaming | XL2410T | 1300w Superflower
Laptop :: M18x | i7 2720QM | 16GB | 128GB SSD | 6990 CFX
lnoton is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Oct 2013, 19:20   #28
rolypolyman
Mobster
 
rolypolyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Ayr, Scotland
Posts: 3,338
Hi, no the option was greyed out. But I kept my refresh image anyway.

Gbyte Z97X-Gaming 3\I5 4690K\16GB Hyper Fury X 1866Mhz \Inno3D Air Boss 980Ti\AOC U2868PQU 28"4K 60Hz \ Superflower 1000W Titanium\Win 10 Pro 64.
rolypolyman is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Oct 2013, 22:14   #29
lnoton
Wise Guy
 
lnoton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by lnoton View Post
What I am hoping is that I can edit the ei.cfg and then install without a key and then use my Windows 8 OEM key to activate.

Even when you are legally allowed to use their software they make it difficult. Are they trying to promote piracy?
This didn't work for me in the end. I tried the iso linked above and on boot it tells me the product key doesn't match the installation media.

I don't believe my uefi bios should have any key installed in it. As it is a home built machine.

guess Us oem folk will have to live with a long winded reinstall if ever needed.

Desktop :: i7 3820 @4.8 | R4F | 16GB TG 2133 | 500GB Evo SSD | 980Ti MSI Gaming | XL2410T | 1300w Superflower
Laptop :: M18x | i7 2720QM | 16GB | 128GB SSD | 6990 CFX
lnoton is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Oct 2013, 01:52   #30
smoove
Soldato
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,292
Christ how come MS have made such an upgrade such a pain the ass ffs?
smoove is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:58.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)