Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Graphics Cards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th Oct 2013, 17:08   #1
WalderX
Wise Guy
 
WalderX's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,087
Thumbs up *AMD R9 290X BIOS FLASHING GUIDE*

As many of you will know, the Asus bios for the 290X has unlocked voltage control so allows for much greater OC potential over all the other brand bioses. I see many people asking how to flash the card, across many forums, and I myself had no idea how to do it so have spent this afternoon gathering all the correct tools and bios files needed. I have written a complete step by step guide below, and can confirm I am now running the Asus bios and have a much higher overclock as a result

Following the techpowerup guide that others have given links to does work but it links to the wrong atiflash (older version), and the command to flash is missing the -f switch.
I have spent a bit of time today finding the correct atiflash and some bios files and have put them all together into a zip file you can grab here:

http://1drv.ms/NsJVAV

Unzip that and you will have all the correct bits needed. You will need an empty USB stick (the HP tool will format it).

1. Run HPUSBDisk as Admin
2. Select Device, Change Volume label if necessary.
3. Check "Create a DOS startup disk using system files located at:"
4. Point it to use the win98boot files included in my zip file.
5. Press "Start"

Now that is done you need to copy atiflash.exe & asus.rom to the same USB stick.

Before performing the flash I went into the AMD OverDrive control panel and set it back to defaults and unticked 'Enable Graphics OverDrive'. This meant I was back to stock and minimised risk of any problems when it booted back up with the new bios. I performed the flash in 'Uber Mode' (switch on card flicked towards the front of the computer case). You might be able to flash in 'Quiet Mode' too but I didn't see the point as I was going to be overclocking it, so uber mode made sense.

Reboot your PC, once booted into the USB stick with the files copied you can get flashing! Firstly I ran the following command:

atiflash -s 0 backup.rom

This gave me a copy of my sapphire bios incase I want to reflash in future, or any problem occurred with flashing the asus bios. I have included this bios image in the zip file above (sapphire.rom).

You are now ready to flash the Asus bios as follows:

atiflash -p -f 0 asus.rom

If you don't use the -f switch you will get an SSID check error and it won't go through with the flashing. If you have multiple cards you just need to run the command again, incrementing the number until all your cards are flashed.
Reboot, remove USB stick and you're done!

Now you will need to use Asus GPU Tweak software to do your overclocking, as far as I am aware MSI afterburner doesn't work properly with this card yet, but I haven't even tried it myself. You can get the latest GPU Tweak direct from Asus here:

http://support.asus.com/download.asp...pu+tweak&os=30

I've got mine running at 1150 core & 6000 mem @ 1.350v. Make sure you always have the power target slider set at the max of 150%, to ensure that the card can draw the power it needs when required.

Hope this guide helps! The Asus bios rom is from Gibbo so many thanks to him for getting hold of it for us

i7 4790K@4.7GHz | Gigabyte G1 Z97X Gaming 7 | Gigabyte G1 GTX 970@1500/8000 | 8GB G.Skill DDR3 2400MHz@9.11.11.31 | 240GB Kingston SSD RAID0 | NZXT Phantom | H100 paired with 2x Scythe GT's
Last edited by WalderX; 4th Mar 2014 at 20:47.
WalderX is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Oct 2013, 17:17   #2
Gibbo
Commissario
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 21,633
No problem on supplying the BIOS.

I'll try to get an Asus none X BIOS as well for the regular 290.

Though you can flash the X bios to the regular 290 it causes some motherboard in-compatibility issues particular with none Asus main boards.

Gibbo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Oct 2013, 17:19   #3
weldon855
Hitman
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: Ireland
Posts: 509
Nice guide it took me ages to find the updated atiflash lol

|i7-920@4.2gHz|h100i|
|Gigabyte-x58 mobo|
|12GB 1600MHz Mushkin CL7|
|Sapphire 290x |BF4 Edition Cardboard Box|
weldon855 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Oct 2013, 17:20   #4
VincentHanna
Soldato
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 5,082
Is it stable 'under volting' it and could it do long term damage? Could do with trying to get it a bit cooler.
VincentHanna is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Oct 2013, 18:30   #5
humbug
Capodecina
 
humbug's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 18,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by VincentHanna View Post
Is it stable 'under volting' it and could it do long term damage? Could do with trying to get it a bit cooler.
I don't know for a fact but i don't see anything wrong with undervolting.

I have been running my GPU at 1.19v for 6 Months, down from stock volts of 1.256v, and 150Mhz, or 225Mhz @ 1.21v overclocks, its been running beautifully, with nice low temps.

Last edited by humbug; 27th Oct 2013 at 18:33.
humbug is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Oct 2013, 18:33   #6
RedvGreen
Mobster
 
RedvGreen's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Midlands
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbug View Post
I don't know for a fact but i don't see anything wrong with undervolting.

I have been running mine at 1.19v for 6 Months, down from stock volts of 1.256v, and 150Mhz to 225Mhz @ 1.21v overclocks, its been running beautifully, with nice low temps.
Wow, running it for over 6 months... and the card hasn't even been out a week yet!
RedvGreen is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Oct 2013, 18:35   #7
humbug
Capodecina
 
humbug's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 18,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedvGreen View Post
Wow, running it for over 6 months... and the card hasn't even been out a week yet!
Sorry, i ninja edited my post, it now says "My GPU" its a 7870XT for those who must know

humbug is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Oct 2013, 18:42   #8
sieze2
Hitman
 
sieze2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 601
Good thread, and thanks for taking the time to share.
sieze2 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Oct 2013, 18:47   #9
Dirkscooby
Hitman
 
Dirkscooby's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 515
Many thanks for this. Just did mine, and now I have voltage control. Yayyyy
Dirkscooby is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Oct 2013, 19:58   #10
DarkBahamut
Gangster
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by VincentHanna View Post
Is it stable 'under volting' it and could it do long term damage? Could do with trying to get it a bit cooler.
I'm quite interested to see how well these do undervolted.

Sticking to the standard 95c/40% default profile, if you have some reasonable wriggle room on the voltage it may be possible to get some extra performance while undervolting, since performance in 'quiet' mode is limited by thermals.
DarkBahamut is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Oct 2013, 22:15   #11
WalderX
Wise Guy
 
WalderX's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by sieze2 View Post
Good thread, and thanks for taking the time to share.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirkscooby View Post
Many thanks for this. Just did mine, and now I have voltage control. Yayyyy
No problem, glad to hear you guys got it flashed OK! I figured there will be hundreds of people wanting to do this so thought it worth having a full guide on the forums here.

I actually got some gaming in today, played BF3 and was getting around 120fps on ultra - what an upgrade this is from my 580! Crysis 3 runs as smooth as butter maxed out too, didn't check the fps though.

Deffo sold my 580 at the right time, got £160 for it on eBay - I doubt I would have got anywhere near that price in a month or two's time...

i7 4790K@4.7GHz | Gigabyte G1 Z97X Gaming 7 | Gigabyte G1 GTX 970@1500/8000 | 8GB G.Skill DDR3 2400MHz@9.11.11.31 | 240GB Kingston SSD RAID0 | NZXT Phantom | H100 paired with 2x Scythe GT's
WalderX is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2013, 00:05   #12
Donpaolo
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 62
Just wanted to say thanks for posting that worked great. Gone from a sapphire to the asus bios getting 1100/6000 easy @1.3v like you said going to keep playing with it think there might currently be a driver issues or monitoring issue with gpu tweak as the gpu core seems to be up and down same as the load going from 100% to 0% then back up but temps are ok humm will keep messing about
Donpaolo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2013, 09:35   #13
WalderX
Wise Guy
 
WalderX's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donpaolo View Post
Just wanted to say thanks for posting that worked great. Gone from a sapphire to the asus bios getting 1100/6000 easy @1.3v like you said going to keep playing with it think there might currently be a driver issues or monitoring issue with gpu tweak as the gpu core seems to be up and down same as the load going from 100% to 0% then back up but temps are ok humm will keep messing about
Make sure the 'Power Target' is at the max of 150%, this doesn't actually increase the voltage however it just allows the GPU to draw as much power as it needs, based on the max voltage you set. Also I set my fan to manual 60% when gaming, a bit loud but I game with the speakers turned up or headphones so no problem for me!

To test this I enabled logging in GPU Tweak (under the settings tab of the monitoring panel), and with the fans set to auto I only saw my gpu clock hit it's max of 1150 for less than 20 seconds during a 5 minute BF3 session. It was usually hovering around 1000 or less due to the temp being at 94 degrees. Tried again with fan set at 60% and it was hitting 1150 much more often, or close to that, all the time which must have been due to the temp never going above 80 degrees, so the card wasn't throttling it's speeds as dramatically.

So in short, try with power target at max and fans at at least 55% or more and test again.

Going to get a custom cooler for mine on payday =D most likely this one:

Prolimatech Black Series MK-26 Multi-VGA Cooler
https://www.overclockers.co.uk/showp...odid=HS-028-PL

Once that is installed it should allow the same/higher overclock with much quieter fan speeds

And yes the general consensus is the current driver is buggy, however this is pretty standard for us release-day adopters and to be fair to AMD it is listed as a Beta driver so they acknowledge it has issues too.

i7 4790K@4.7GHz | Gigabyte G1 Z97X Gaming 7 | Gigabyte G1 GTX 970@1500/8000 | 8GB G.Skill DDR3 2400MHz@9.11.11.31 | 240GB Kingston SSD RAID0 | NZXT Phantom | H100 paired with 2x Scythe GT's
Last edited by WalderX; 28th Oct 2013 at 09:53.
WalderX is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Oct 2013, 14:19   #14
BaDBoY_uK
Mobster
 
BaDBoY_uK's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,754
Used this to flash to the latest MSI 280x drivers. Huge thanks!

4960X @ 4.4 | Rampage IV Black | Full watercooling
2x EVGA Classified 980Ti | EVGA 780Ti Kingpin for PhysX
32GB Doms | 2x RAID0 500GB SSDs | 2x 3TB HDDs
1500W Corsair PSU | Predator X34 | ASUS PB278Q
BaDBoY_uK is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Oct 2013, 15:59   #15
Donpaolo
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by WalderX View Post
Going to get a custom cooler for mine on payday =D most likely this one:

Prolimatech Black Series MK-26 Multi-VGA Cooler
https://www.overclockers.co.uk/showp...odid=HS-028-PL

Once that is installed it should allow the same/higher overclock with much quieter fan speeds
I think i am going to get one as well let me know how it goes dude i have seen online that the temps can drop about 30c but that seems very high can it really be that good lol time will tell
Donpaolo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Oct 2013, 19:21   #16
bru
Soldato
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: kent
Posts: 5,266
I am quite surprised that there is this many people willing to invalidate their warranties on cards this new and this expensive.

Quote:
NVIDIA's CEO Jen-Hsun Huang "How much faster can you render the blue screen of death?"
bru is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Nov 2013, 13:34   #17
Rangerjr1
Mobster
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,587
I did this, and ive had nothing but problems

4820k @4.8GHz - 4x4gb @2133 - R9 290 @1220/1500
Rampage IV Formula - EK blocks - MCP35x pump - Phobya 1080 Nova Radiator
Rangerjr1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Nov 2013, 23:38   #18
Styaz
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Tank you for this guide, but the download's Link for the bios is dead, can you ré up please?
Styaz is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Nov 2013, 23:41   #19
thewanted
Mobster
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Styaz View Post
Tank you for this guide, but the download's Link for the bios is dead, can you ré up please?
You can get the files from HERE, but do not use the BIOS in that .zip file to flash your 290X. It's for a 290 card. I'm not sure where you can get the ASUS 290X BIOS from, sorry. Try the forums at overclock.net.

The .zip file I linked to contains the MS-DOS files, USB bootdisk utility and ATIFlash v4.17.
Last edited by thewanted; 30th Nov 2013 at 23:43.
thewanted is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 1st Dec 2013, 00:35   #20
Orangey
Sgarrista
 
Orangey's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 7,756
Asus 290X stock BIOSes @ TPU archive: http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/i...Type=&memSize=

Extreme BIOSes: http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=739529

Orangey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 1st Dec 2013, 08:51   #21
newhit
Gangster
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: oop north
Posts: 257
Sorry about this but, the zipfile no longer exists at the link.

Once again, sorry if I've got mixed up.
newhit is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 1st Dec 2013, 16:21   #22
Styaz
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Perfect ! Thank you.

I wanted this for flash my R9 290 to R9 290x, I have a Hawai XT inside, I checked this by the number of series.

(Sorry if I make mistakes, I'm French)

This card have 2 vbios no? If I flash with the bios 290x, it breaks the warranty ?
Even if I do a backup in case of problems, I've saved the original bios.
Styaz is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2013, 20:36   #23
jvc9000
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 17
Can someone link a voltage unlocked 290 (NON X) bios?
jvc9000 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2013, 20:40   #24
Orangey
Sgarrista
 
Orangey's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 7,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvc9000 View Post
Can someone link a voltage unlocked 290 (NON X) bios?
They don't need unlocking, you can use Afterburner.

But you can find BIOSes on TPU archive: http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/1...96-130930.html

Orangey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Dec 2013, 23:23   #25
littlepuppy
Mobster
 
littlepuppy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 3,946
Just flashed my VTX, all good

Corsair 750D | 5960x @ 4ghz
MSI X99 'Krait' Edition | Gigabyte Titan X
32 GB Crucial Ballistix Elite @2666 mhz
2 x 240GB Intel 730k | 2 x 480GB Intel 730k
littlepuppy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Dec 2013, 23:36   #26
Mathematics
Gangster
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: Kent
Posts: 289
Awesome! Will give this a go soon
Mathematics is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Dec 2013, 19:42   #27
Craterloads
Soldato
 
Craterloads's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: North
Posts: 7,415
Which is the correct version of ATIflash?

The Zip files you uploaded are no longer available.

Craterloads is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jan 2014, 20:53   #28
tijgert
Registered
 
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
So I'm wanting to try this (I saved the files already just in case so I got the 'original' ones) but I find that the included Asus bios (Asus.R9290X.4096.131014 015.039.000.006.003515.rom) is an older version than the latest on Techpowerup (Asus.R9290X.4096.131003 015.039.000.007.003525.rom).
What's even more confusing is that on Techpowerup there are Asus bioses with newer compilation dates but lower version numbers (Asus.R9290X.4096.131014_2 015.039.000.006.003518.rom being one of them).

So I'm confused. Should I use the one from here, or use the newer one by version or by compilation date?
tijgert is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2014, 20:27   #29
Hunt0r
Associate
 
Hunt0r's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Newark Nottinghamshire
Posts: 8
right I'm prepping my downloads for my newly ordered MSI 290X but like the previous post, I am a bit confused which vBIOS to download to unlock the voltage with the latest vBIOS anyone care to clarify

3820k 4.8Ghz | ROG Extreme x79
16Gb Samsung Green 2133Mhz | MSI R290X
Benq XL2720T 120Hz | Win 8.1 MCE x64
2x 512 Samsung PRO RAID 0 | 4Tb WD Black
BeQuiet 850w | 7.1 Tiamat | ROG Phoebus
Hunt0r is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jan 2014, 21:02   #30
Scythe
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,992
How do you use the -f command?

When typing 'atiflash -p -f 0 newbios.rom', I get the reply 'Format: ATIFLASH -p <adaptor num> <filename>

It's as if the -f option isn't recognised, despite being present in the help file?

Edit:atiflash -f -p 0 newbios.rom worked!
Last edited by Scythe; 22nd Jan 2014 at 21:12.
Scythe is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:44.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)