Linux (web server) - suggested distro & hardware

Associate
Hi All,

I have been working with Unix based servers for the last 15 years. These have all been comercial Unix versions. However I am now looking at implemented a web solution for one our customers which requires me to sort a Linux distro and also some kit. 1 for me to dev the stuff on and 2 to eventually host the web server & application.

Obviously kit wise I cant really suggest an old P3 machine etc as they expect nice shiny kit with warranty / h/w maintenance. So I've spent the last 3 or 4 days trawling through various web sites and basically see worrying posts about sata etc.. It looks like I'm better off getting some Intel box with SCSI as the h/w side.

A friend already runs loads of stuff under Debian and is suggesting I go this way. I have seen a lot of people suggesting Ubuntu (as its debian based).

I am not interested in 3d or anything like that as this is purely for web / admin / development.

I might repartition my laptop and stick ubuntu on to give it a go....

Any ideas are welcome.

Associate
debian on the server is a pretty safe choice. ubuntu isn't as popular and is less sever-orientated but i believe they are making pretty decent inroads into the server field. i don't see any reason to choose it over debian at the minute though.

Man of Honour
To be honest most of the proper distributions these days will have support for most business-orientated hardware, it's in their interests to isn't it. The worst I've had to do is compile and install nic and sata drivers but that is small fry.

Don't discount a decent looking server just because it has sata - are you looking rackmount or tower? It's not clear if this is going in a datacentre..