Modding: Tips, Guides and Tutorials

Associate
well, ive been asked a couple of times for this, most recenetly i saw someone ask for a guide today, so thought id make a quick one!

Be gentle with me, im not a professional photographer, and i dont write guides for a living either, but if i miss anything, or you need clarification on anything just ask.

What you will need:

a craft knife or a VERY fine screwdriver if you dont have a knife available.

i have one of these, only a couple of quid and work like a charm.

JUprpj6l.jpg

a pair of SHARP scissors ( i use singer ones, i find them to make really nice cuts)

and of course an akasa proslim sata cable!.

9aWADRrl.jpg

Grab the cable out of the bag; you can see why they are called pro slims!

the only bit you need to worry about, is this bit.... the end.

n9xspFql.jpg

Either end will work, it doesnt matter which one you want to work on.

Turn the cable onto its side like so.....

XcAECqul.jpg

as you can see, there is a small join in the connector here... (ive pulled this one apart a little so you can see it easier)

V4ImdYVl.jpg

put the craft knife into this little join, and GENTLY pry it apart. its only a little bit that comes out, and you will need to do both sides.

Once you have done both sides, you will have something like this,

7vv13X5l.jpg

once you get it to this stage, DONT just pull back on the cable. you will break the teath that puncture the cable and it will ruin it.

what you need to do is lift it towards the metal clip on the sata connector, so your going straight up.

once its off, it will look like this:

l71hHrQl.jpg

Turn it over (i turn both the clip and the cable over so that i know which way around the cable goes back in after i cut it)

vDZfjFNl.jpg

You can see where the connnector punctures the cable, its a pretty clever idea!!