Quick question, trying to cut down CV quickly

Soldato
As title I need to cut down my CV quickly to send over a role I'm interested in. Not looking as such but it's a similar role at a 'rival' company so well worth looking at. Or at least chatting to them as they are clearly expanding.

I havent updated my CV for a couple of years but I still have the details of my A/AS levels and GCSEs taking up a few lines.. and also have a few lines dedicated to 'personal interests and leisure' (the latter is only a few bullets of which some are related to my field -- given I work in film.

Which would you cut out? I have 16 years experience in my career if that helps judge.. middle management level is probably the best way to describe it, although I do not have any direct reports.

Thanks.

Caporegime
I wouldn't bother putting school grades, just which high school you went to, but even then if you went to uni then just put you undergrad (and grad) .

Personal interests are usually pointless IMO, unless you can show something special. E.g. if your hobby is doing something at kind of semi-pro level shows commitment. Saying you like watching movies and going to the Pub wont help. If you help at a charity or something then you get some brownie points

You really want the main content on top half of fist page. So be careful not to add meaningless waffle about jobs but explain results, outcomes, responsibilities above the expectation

Man of Honour
Are your GCSE results any good (i.e. averaging above an A)? If not I'd remove it. Put all your results on a single line i.e. all A/AS on one line, all GCSE on one line etc. Basically you want to show yourself in a good light. I had a crap degree classification relative to my A-levels and GCSEs so I left my grades on to demonstrate that I wasn't an idiot until I did my Masters.

Then strip all the personal interests except the ones related to your field.