SM951 256GB M.2 PCI-e 3.0 x 4 NVMe

Soldato
Hi all,

i picked up the SM951 256GB M.2 PCI-e 3.0 x 4 NVMe and have just built a pc up, flashed the latest mobo bios

i am getting these speeds which look correct ?

FcPH1A5.jpg.png

any drivers i should be using with this ssd ? or just the windows/mobo ones?

Soldato
OP
Im a bit of a newb when it comes to m2 drives.

So how do they work? atm I have 2 regular ssd sata input.

I dont think my mb can use m2 drives. So do I need a mb that can use these? And do they work just the same as regular ssd drives easy to install and set up windows etc?

oh if a new mb is requred what would be the best skylakes compatible mb for one of these?

i am not an expert, but you need a slot on your mobo, its not really new new tech, so you may well have a slot, but to make use of the speeds you may well need a newish mobo. they slot or screw in like a stick of ram and are picked up in the bios and during a windows 10 install, with windows 7 you would prob need the driver on a usb stick to detect.

Soldato
OP
Not quite sure where you have read that! Because it's wrong. The only Samsung nvme driver available for the sm951, is the one for the 950 pro and that installs just fine for the sm951 (certainly works fine for me... See a previous earlier post in this thread by me). Just don't expect a life changing experience. These test programs life CDM etc. that folks love to run, only give you the bare numbers for performance and don't really give much of an idea of how the drives will work in a real world environment. You only need to look at any of the reputable test sites (eg. Tom's hardware etc.) To see how much effort they have to put in to "really" test an ssd.

Bottom line is... If you are already running a half decent sata based ssd... You are not going to have a wow moment upgrading to one of these. Only really buy if you have the money to spare and just fancy the best out there.