Using a Raspberry Pi (or similar) on a non smart tv?

Soldato
I have a Samsung TV that will connect to my network and play some video files that are stored on my main pc but the Samsung Allshare software is dreadful and it won't play back some video files.
Would a Pi, or similar, be able to access and playback video files from my pc? Is it easy enough to do (needs to have a simple interface) and it would be a bonus if it could do Iplayer as well? I assume a wireless mouse and keyboard can connect to them? I guess they also have hdmi outputs etc?
As you can tell I'm a total noob on this subject- thanks for any pointers :)

Soldato
In short - yes the Pi makes a good media playback machine, lots of people use a software setup called Kodi to stream network files, internet stuff, radio and more. Not sure about iPlayer :)

Any Pi with video has HDMI outputs and USB ports for wired or wireless peripherals too. You may need an adapter for micro HDMI.

Unfortunately the top end Raspberry Pi (Pi 4) are really expensive now due to demand :( A used Pi 3 may do you well.

Soldato
Plex is a good starting point for what you want to do. However instead of a RPi, I’d suggest an Amazon Fire Stick. It’s far simpler to use and set up

Soldato
OP
Thanks for the replies!
The TV only has the AllShare option, there's no other Smart features available unfortunately. It is an old tv. So the Pi idea will work, but a Firestick will also do what I'd like? Playback media files stored on a PC and do iPlayer? I assume it'll also do other streaming services as well?
Many thanks :)
EDIT: Hmm I've just been reminded we have an old ChromeCast thingy sitting about - would that work I wonder? I seem to recall it was a pita to use so it got unplugged :o Whatever solution, it must be controllable from the TV room, don't want to have to start playback on the PC first or anything like that, want a seperate solution if that makes sense? Smartphone control would be "OK" I guess.

Last edited:
Soldato